Confessions of a Crime Blogger

I’m stuck. Yes, I am stuck on one case. I have been following the case of the disappearance of Stacy Peterson very closely since I first wrote the entry on her.

I have been following criminal cases online for a number of years, and in the past have followed them at least up until the time of arrest, sometimes through the trial. The types of crimes I have studied have included all types of crimes, but especially missing persons. And sometimes they can get pretty in depth, with new info being publicized every few days. But with the Stacy Peterson case it seems that some new info or new quote from the suspect Drew Peterson is breaking daily (sometimes several times daily.) So I find myself stuck on one case.

If you recall Stacy Peterson met Drew Peterson when she was 17 years old and he was 47. The two were married in 2003, 8 days after Drew’s divorce from his 3rd wife was final. Drew Peterson was a police officer. It was Stacy’s first marriage, Drew Peterson’s 4 th marriage. Stacy had two children during the marriage and they joined the 2 adult children belonging to Drew from his first marriage and the two teen children Drew Peterson had with his 3 rd wife Kathleen Savio.

Soon after Drew and Stacy’s marriage, Kathleen Savio died in her home and was found by Drew Peterson in her bathtub. At the time, her death was ruled an accident. But since Stacy’s disappearance, Kathleen’s death is being reinvestigated. Her remains have been exhumed for examination both by public examiners and by a private examiner. The official results of the 2nd autopsy have not been made public, but the private autopsy done by Dr. Baden concludes that Kathleen Savio’s death is the result of a homicide.

The search for Stacy Peterson is still ongoing, even though the weather in Illinois has turned to winter. This week efforts were being made to search an area canal. She has not been found, no arrests have been made in her disappearance, and no suspects have been named in Kathleen Savio’s death.

One thing I have tried to do here on the blog is to make sure that each post I have written received the same attention from me, irregardless of the amount of media coverage. Whether it was a high profile crime, or a crime only covered by local media, I try to make sure that I give fair coverage to all. The same as relates to race, financial status or community position.

But now I am stuck. I find myself watching this one very closely. Some statements have been made in the past that “media” only covers the cases “young, white and pretty.” In my case however, that isn’t what has grabbed my attention. For all my attempts to concentrate on the victim, in this I find myself watching the suspect. In most cases a suspect doesn’t talk with the media, or at least not more than once or twice. The suspect is usually instructed by their attorney not to talk to media. However, in this case Drew Peterson has not only been talking, he has been talking very candidly to media. He has offered up to media the usual cliches I have come to expect from domestic violence cases. But he has also added up his own twists to those cliches, as well as adding some that are entirely new to me. Imagine, a chance to see what a suspect is thinking and doing after he is suspected of killing not one, but two of his wives. Believe me, his reactions are not what you might think.

No, I have’t been blogging it. Not because it isn’t worthy, but because there is so much information coming out so regularly that you could do an entire blog just on this case alone. So for a time, I will be following this case. But while I was searching out new info about this case, I did run across something I wanted to make sure got posted.

Dr. Phil has done a show on the Stacy Peterson case, and I wanted to leave the link for a couple of reasons. Not only does he cover the Stacy Peterson case, he also covered another domestic violence couple and asks the question “The Next Headline?” Certainly a question that any person in a domestic violence relationship should be asking themselves… how far can this go? At the bottom of the article, Dr. Phil also talks about domestic violence and abusive relationships and provides some thought provoking insights.

The Dr. Phil Show

I will be returning, sometime after I can tear myself away.

7 Comments

  1. Ann said,

    December 7, 2007 at 8:03 pm

    Stacy was 17 and Drew was 47 when they married.

  2. December 7, 2007 at 11:45 pm

    Thank you Ann, you are correct and I have corrected the post.

  3. Soobs said,

    December 11, 2007 at 7:01 pm

    There is so much wrong with Drew Peterson, the child molestation notwithstanding. The fact that he’s arrogant enough to continue to talk to the media, to seek them out, IMO, is just one indication of his anti-social personality. They WILL find Stacy. They WILL arrest him for her murder. And he WILL go to jail.

  4. Peach said,

    December 11, 2007 at 9:29 pm

    And now… he has set up a “defense” fund. First for legal defense, then to find her. Seems as though he should first find her (if in fact she ran away), and then he would not need defending. http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,316469,00.html “For the cost of a few cups of your morning coffee, you can help to ensure that Drew can afford to support his ongoing legal defense, find his missing wife and divert any remaining funds into a trust for his children,” the Web site says.

  5. Susan (TGIRecovered) said,

    December 21, 2007 at 5:32 pm

    I’m hooked right along with you. This arrogant abuser needs to be revealed to the world as the liar and a murderer that he has chosen to be. His children need all the time they can salvage of their childhood to seperate themselves from such evil. May God protect them until then.

    TGIRecovered

  6. Jane Ford said,

    February 16, 2008 at 8:49 pm

    It’s something that just keeps coming back up. His comment that “she is where she wants to be”. And I wonder if she ever told anyone that she had a dream destination or she wanted to go some place special. Some place other than “I wish I was dead?” I was an abused wife and so many people just couldn’t believe it. And what ever happened to the blue barrel and the relative who said he helped Drew carry it away? Could it be in the place “she wanted to be?” Or, at least, her remains?

  7. February 17, 2008 at 12:00 am

    I have thought of that also Jane Ford. Perhaps somewhere she liked to hike, somewhere she liked to visit, near a friend or relative’s home, near the place she intended to move to, or near someplace she had been to and enjoyed- perhaps some place that Stacy and Peterson had been to together and HE especially enjoyed or they were especially close.


