Smoking

I am a smoker. There I said it, I have admitted to it. I have tried to quit, but never successfully. So I know how difficult it is. When I have been trying to quit, there were certain times and certain situations that would make it more difficult (pretty much impossible) for me. One of those is going to a bar.

Meg Lundeen was also a smoker. And she was quitting. But on Fri. she and her husband Randy P. Aaser had gone out to a couple of bars with some co-workers to celebrate her thirteth birthday. While there she spoke with a co-worker and said she wanted to buy cigarettes, but her husband would be mad at her.

About 2:00 am and before they arrived home Meg Lundeen called a co-worker and asked to come over. She told the co-worker that she and her husband had been arguing. But she never arrived.

A neighbor heard their door slam sometime between 2:30 and 2:45 am. Then heard moaning sounds. Out in the yard the neighbor found Meg Lundeen.

Police were called and Meg Lundeen was taken to the hospital. Doctors there say her tongue was severed near the back and her windpipe was also cut. Surgeons were able to reattach the tongue and repair the windpipe.
But they say she may or may not be able to talk or taste again. And it will take months of speech therapy. She is reported to be in critical condition.

Police say that if the neighbor hadn’t found Meg Lundeen she likely would have bled to death. It just so happened that the neighbor who found her, used to be an EMT. Police found the knife that was possibly used in the kitchen.

About 3 am Aaser called a friend. He allegedly told the friend he was in a neighbors yard. And that Meg Lundeen had pulled a knife on him during the argument. He said he managed to take the knife away from her and he cut her neck. Police have been unable to interview Meg Lundeen because she is unable to speak.

Police arrested Aaser about 3:20 am. According to police, at the police station Aaser cried and said he didn’t mean to hurt his wife over something as stupid as an argument over cigarettes.

Aaser has been charged with 2 nd degree attempted murder.

The police spokesman has said

“People need to be aware that domestic assault is an issue that affects our community. It affects every community,”

I have to say that I agree with the police spokesman.

startribune.com      wkbt.com     kare11.com     wctrib.com

I am not proud of being a smoker. And I am not proud that I have been unable to quit. Smoking is a dirty, distasteful addiction. I agree that it is a hazard to your health. My advice to everyone is to not start, because once you start it is extremely difficult to quit.

But as hazardous as smoking might be, it is not nearly as hazardous as a knife.

4 Comments

  1. Becky J said,

    June 20, 2007 at 5:31 am

    She pulled the knife on him and he took it away from her AND CUT HER THROAT???????? What the hell is that??? I cant even believe he said those words, pretty sure if she was trying to stab him and he got the knife he would’ve taken off??? Abusers say the most absurd things.

  2. lisavc said,

    July 25, 2007 at 6:37 am

    Jesus. I used to be a full time smoker and now I only smoke on weekends, when I visit my sister. If my partner tried to stop me from having a cig when I really needed or wanted one – and alcohol is definitely one of those times – I’d be very pissed about it. We might even have an argument. But he’d never do that. Never, never, never.

  3. exsmoker said,

    September 26, 2007 at 11:23 am

    Hello All,

    I was reading around some of the posts here and I found interesting things that you guys talk about, I just made a blog about quitting smoking resources and ideas that you might want to check out.
    If someone is interested in this topic just go to; http://endthehabitnow.blogspot.com and let me know what you think.
    Thanks in advance.

  4. Wendy said,

    October 10, 2007 at 1:18 am

    I smoke too. Outside, infrequently– I hate it. Hate it. It’s hard to quit, but easy enough to slow down, so that’s what I did.

    I don’t buy his story about her coming at him with a knife. How stupid is that? I might get a little testy when I want a cig but I’ve never actually considered physical violence.

    I agree with Becky J. abusers come up with idiot stories. It must go hand in hand with justifying the horrible things they do to others.


