She missed her daughter’s birthday

Kiva Gazaway, 38, lives with her two daughters and her boyfriend Harvey “Shawn” Johnson.

About 12:30 pm onApril 14 Kiva Gazaway called 911 and reported her car had been stolen by her boyfriend. But when Johnson returned later with the car, she declined to pursue a complaint. At least one article says she did ask police if Johnson had any history of violence.

Her two daughters were away from the home and about 3 pm that day, Kiva Gazaway called the 16 year old and asked her about what she wanted as a birthday present for her approaching birthday.

Johnson and Kiva Gazaway reportedly went shopping for the daughter’s birthday present and the gift was found in the home later.

On either the 15 or the 17th of April, Johnson the boyfriend went to police. He allegedly told them that on April 15th, he and Kiva Gazaway had had an argument and he left the home to take a walk. He allegedly told them when he returned, the home was locked so he slept in his car.

He allegedly said the next morning he entered the home and Kiva Gazaway and her car were gone. Kiva Gazaway allegedly was to pick her children up that day.

Police talked with Johnson on the 17th. And they reportedly found some inconsistencies in Johnson’s statement and were going to meet with Johnson on April 19th. However, by that time Johnson had left the state.

One report says that he did call his parole officer and told the officer that he was on his way to Fla. to visit his mother because she had had a heart attack. Johnson reportedly has a criminal history in 4 states.

However, police were changing the investigation of the case from a missing person to a possible homicide. And they said that Johnson was a person of interest. Police say the focus of the investigation had changed because it was believed that the mother of two would not have left the home voluntarily without letting her family know.

On April 23, federal marshall’s picked up Johnson in Florida. He was arrested on a parole violation and a gun was found in his vehicle.

Kiva Gazaway’s vehicle was found in the parking lot of an apartment complex, one that neither Johnson nor Gazaway resided in.

Kiva Gazaway is still missing. Police and family are fearing the worst. Her vehicle has been searched and police say there is no sign of foul play. Johnson has not been arrested for any crimes related to her. But one report has said that his car will also be searched.

Police are asking for anyone who saw Gazaway and/or Johnson  after April 13 to come forward either to police or to crime stoppers.

news.cincinnati.com    news.enquirer.com   wlwt.com

middletownjournal.com    wcpo.com    oxfordpress.com

Let me emphasize that Johnson has not been arrested for any crimes related to Kiva Gazaway’s disappearance. But there does seem to be concern there.

What caught my attention was the statement that Kiva Gazaway allegedly asked police about any previous history of violence. Had something happened to her to cause a sudden interest? There was also the call to 911 reporting that he had stolen her car. He must have had access to another vehicle as he drove a different car to Florida. Her car was found in Ohio.

You have to trust your instincts. If you feel fear, that is a self protective instinct. It is an indication that some part of you is questioning your safety. It is easy to drown out that instinct by explaining or excusing it to yourself. But it is not in your best interest to do so.

It isn’t uncommon for a spouse or partner to take a vehicle or the keys, disable or in some other way to make a vehicle inaccessible during a violent episode.  Controlling the transportation is another way of exerting control over you.

If you are in an unsafe situation, make extra copies of your keys. Put the extras in a secret safe place known only to you, or leave them with a trusted neighbor- or both. Set up a code word with a close friend or relative so that if you call or if they call you, that all you have to do is say that word and they will get help to you.

Probably the best way would be to set up a meeting place nearby but away from the residence, and if you don’t show they are to call police and send them to the home. Or you could set up two code words. One that means to meet, one that means to immediately call police.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Harvey Johnson Jr has given police officers information that led police to the body of a woman he says is Kiva Gazaway. The remains were found in a ravine of an industrial park. No additional charges have been filed yet as the remains must be positively identified by the coroner and they are trying to establish the cause of death.

fox19.com                   wcpo.com                enquirer.com

news-journal.com                                         local12.com

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Harvey Johnson appeared in court today to answer to a contempt charge on a 2003 driving case. The murder case in with the Grand Jury. Even though the Grand Jury is not done with that case, Johnson is allegedly in more trouble already. Authorities say that while in court, Johnson attempted to grab a court bailiff’s gun. Two other deputies and an attorney were able to restrain him. He has been charged with aggravated robbery and escape.

local12.com

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This case is currently in court. A sherrif’s detective tells about the confession that Johnson gave the court. Allegedly about 3 hours of terror led up to Kiva Gazaways death. Let’s just say it isn’t pretty. The sherrif’s detective tells about Johnson’s attempts to get a plea deal. The confession was taped and the jury was permitted to hear the tape. According to trial info the couple had argued about finances and Kiva Gazaway had attempted to break it off with Johnson. It was during and for 3 hours after that argument that prosecutor’s say Kiva was raped, threatened with a gun, then asphixiated. According to the defendant’s confession, when he threatened to shoot her, she begged him not to shoot her and she asked that he strangle her instead.

Prosecution is finished with their case, and the defense will soon be presenting their case.

news.enquirer.com     oxfordpress.com    wlwt.com      local12.com

15 Comments

  1. Connie Valot said,

    April 27, 2007 at 11:30 am

    I know Kiva & Harvey because they purchased the 91 Toyota Corolla from my fiance’s car lot in Hamilton, ohio. She was so sweet and he was really quiet. I remember telling my fiance that he made me nervous. Kiva would come by and she and I would chat. But, Harvey would just sit in the chair and not say a word. I have recently moved from Hamilton. But, as soon as my fiance called and said she was missing…I knew in my heart that she would not have left her two daughters voluntarily. I was a battered woman 20 years ago and I thank God every day for showing me the signs to make me get out. My prayers are with Kiva’s girls and the rest of her family.

  2. KatK said,

    April 27, 2007 at 10:03 pm

    This doesn’t look good at all. I hope maybe she will be found alive, in a hospital in whatever state he abandoned her in. That is better than being missing, then found, but not alive. My prayers are going out to her, her family and friends.

  3. Tonya said,

    April 27, 2007 at 10:03 pm

    This is my prayer, that God would takes care of Kiva, whereever she is, and have mercy and covering over Arienne and Jazimine her two daughters.
    What a terrible thing to have happen to such a wonderful lady. Kiva and I spent alot of time together, shopping, fighting and enjoying life; she loved hard and would give her last to you. I will continue to pray that one day we will meet again. This should be a lesson learned to everyone, live every moment as if it were your last.
    Kiva, Arriene and Jazmine we love you!

  4. Caitlyn said,

    May 1, 2007 at 10:27 pm

    Arriene is one of my friends and I just want to say i hope that they do find her mother, and i’ve heard from many people that she was so nice and just the best person, though i never had the chance to meet her. I pray that Arriene and her family makes it through this tough time.

  5. diane adleta said,

    May 2, 2007 at 9:18 pm

    Arianne is a good friend of my grandaughter. They played basketball on the same team and Kiva would be at every game. They have been good friends now for at least 7 years. When I first met Kiva, I was so impressed by her great smile (I have never seen her in a bad mood). She is the nicest, friendliest person and so caring for both her daughters. My thoughts and prayers go out to the family and I cannot stop thinking about Kiva. I am praying daily that she will come home safely to her family.

  6. Susan Goode said,

    May 5, 2007 at 5:36 pm

    I am from Dayton Ohio and I remember Kiva and Ateelah when they wer little kids. I know that her father was my Pastor from Upshaw AME Church. They all were very nice people. I can only hope that she is ok.

  7. J Bradley said,

    May 7, 2007 at 1:48 am

    I grew up with Kiva and we went to school together a big part of our lives, she is a very sweet person, and I pray everyday that she is found and that she is safe. I pray for her family that they find peace in the mist of a terrible storm.

  8. Luuve said,

    May 13, 2007 at 11:12 pm

    I found this blog today after going on the news website here in ohio, they said a body had been found but needed to indentify it. This is a very sad story. From day one, I thought the boyfriend had something to do with the disappearance. To leave two daughters behind, you always know something bad happened. The Gazaway family are in my prayers. This mothers day will be hard for them all.Hopefully Mother’s days to come will be healing days. God Bless!

  9. Lauren Williams said,

    May 14, 2007 at 4:03 am

    God Bless You Kiva. May your soul rest. Ladies Please heed this as a message and warning. Abuse can end our lives. The abuser does not care about our loved ones left behind. All of the “Im Sorries” in the world will never compensate the loss this family will endure for the rest of their lives. May God console you in your time of sorrrow.

  10. Tilly said,

    May 16, 2007 at 2:10 am

    I did not have a chance to formally introduce myself to Kiva, in fact I never even knew her name until now. Only her face, coming to Aynie’s Deli to have her morning caffine. When I first heard of her disapperance the first thing that I stated was ” Is her boyfriend abusive “. My heart and prayers goes out to her family espically her childern who has been left alone without a mother. To her brother, God has speical plans for Kiva, she may be gone in body but her soul is still here on living inside all of you. Anytime you feel that life has let you down always remember that God does NOT put more on you then you can bare. God Bless your family and take care of the girls.

  11. Tilly said,

    May 16, 2007 at 2:12 am

    I did not have a chance to formally introduce myself to Kiva, in fact I never even knew her name until now. Only her face, coming to Aynie’s Deli to have her morning caffine. When I first heard of her disapperance the first thing that I stated was ” Is her boyfriend abusive “. My heart and prayers goes out to her family espically her childern who has been left alone without a mother. To her brother, God has speical plans for Kiva, she may be gone in body but her soul still livies inside all of you. Anytime you feel that life has let you down always remember that God does NOT put more on you then you can bare. God Bless your family and take care of the girls.

  12. apryl p said,

    June 9, 2007 at 4:04 am

    I met Kiva several years ago at GE Card services in Mason, Oh. Kiva and I got close and would talk on the phone for hours about Harvey and my boyfriend..you know the usual girl talk! The moment I heard that Kiva was missing I knew Harvey was the cause of her disappearance. I still cant believe Kiva is gone. She was a beautiful person, inside and out and didn’t deserve what happened to her. I pray for her children and brother daily, Kiva loved her family and talked about them constantly. I hadn’t talked to Kiva in about a month before she disappeared which has taught me a lesson which is to keep in touch more with your loved ones because you never know when the last time you talked to them will truly be the last time. RIP Kiva, I love you.

  13. May 1, 2008 at 6:38 am

    Post updated.

  14. dayday said,

    September 12, 2009 at 12:35 am

    i no kiva her daugher ariean is my cuzin on her dad side i miss kiva so much that i wouldent stop crying iam love you for ever i just love you i just was on phone wit kiva to say goodnight befor i went to school the next day iam only 10 years old prayers to you and family

  15. November 25, 2010 at 12:13 am

    when i was a kid, i love to receive an assortment of birthday presents like teddy bears and mechanical toys ”-


