“No More Sunsets”

If you read here much you will know that I believe that drug usage leads to the destruction of families and can contribute to violence in relationships. And that is besides what it does to the persons who take them.

Shawn Bridges knew the cost. Who is Shawn Bridges? He was a father, a truck driver, a man with a message, and an addict. He admitted that he had made unwise choices in his life, and he determined to go public with that in the hopes that the ones who came after him would listen.

Shawn Bridges set out to document the damage his drug addiction had cost him. You see…..Shawn Bridges was dying.

His film resulted in a 29 minute documentary about his addiction to meth last year called “No More Sunsets.” He died on Monday March 26, 2007. He was 35. But he died with the knowlege that he had accomplished something in his life, and he died with the hope that others would learn from him.

Thank you for speaking out Shawn Bridges, thank you for your honesty and your effort. Rest in Peace Shawn Bridges, your job is done now.

forbes.com   onelocalnews.com   

abcnews.go.com (picture of Shawn Bridges at link) 

Rossetti Productions produced the film. For a sample of the film

Partnership for a Drug-Free America

A My Space for Shawn Bridges operated by his brother

Now it is up to the rest of us.

41 Comments

  1. Jeri said,

    April 4, 2007 at 3:44 pm

    How do I watch this 29 min documentary “No more sunsets” by shawn bridges ?

  2. heather said,

    April 4, 2007 at 4:42 pm

    where do i find the documentary

  3. shelly said,

    April 4, 2007 at 5:04 pm

    Where is this documentary?

  4. Laura said,

    April 4, 2007 at 7:12 pm

    I’m a psychology instructor and would love to share Shawn’s story with my students. How can I get a copy of his documentary?

  5. Joe said,

    April 4, 2007 at 7:18 pm

    Please forward infomation on how to purchase the documentary.

  6. Stephanie said,

    April 4, 2007 at 7:30 pm

    I also came on the website to gain info on how to acquire this documentary. please send me info at my email address. I would greatly appreciate it.

  7. Peach said,

    April 4, 2007 at 7:41 pm

    A quick search of google will turn up a couple ways to order it. One is through the production company.

  8. Anna Iris Tprres said,

    April 5, 2007 at 3:29 pm

    To purchase the DVD, copy and paste the link below in your address bar:

    http://michaeljasonenterprises.com/index.html

  9. Jonathan Bridges said,

    April 7, 2007 at 3:37 am

    http://michaeljasonenterprises.com Is the fastest way to get my brothers video he also has a myspace page if you like to leave a comment on it.

  10. yazmilda said,

    April 7, 2007 at 4:18 am

    Is it possible to view it online?

  11. April 7, 2007 at 8:16 am

    Jonathon Bridges, thank you so much for the information about the video. My condolonces on the loss of your brother. He sounds like a great guy and he did a great thing. Hopefully what he struggled to do will benefit many.

  12. tac said,

    April 9, 2007 at 10:20 pm

    If the documentary was made to “help” people why are you selling it for money? like a meth user is going to pay money for a 29 min video? Make it available free if you really want to educate and help people.

  13. Sarah Lantrip said,

    April 10, 2007 at 10:56 pm

    I am a drug and alcohol counselor in Missouri. I see on a daily basis the devestation Meth and other drugs have done to the poeple of our country. Please provide information to purchase the video. I am so sorry for the loss of your brother but know his legacy will help others.

  14. justin said,

    April 16, 2007 at 7:02 pm

    wow! i guess i was lucky when the lord spoke to me to get out! how much more clear can it be shown what this horrific drug does to human lives. wake up people i was there and can tell you its not worth it OBVIOUSLY! take control of your lives no matter how down and out you may think you are to where it makes you feel as if you need this in your body only with hope you can make it through alive! listen!

  15. April 25, 2007 at 3:11 pm

    […] Shawn Bridgeswanted the world to see whatMeth does to a person. […]

  16. Jennifer said,

    May 23, 2007 at 2:56 am

    I was wondering how to get this documentary. Is there anyway to watch it online??

  17. May 23, 2007 at 3:51 am

    Jennifer, Shawn Bridges’ brother Jonathon left message number 9 with the website where the video can be purchased.

  18. Josh said,

    June 21, 2007 at 3:07 am

    Hello everyone. I just thought I’d let everyone on here know that there is a new site being developed for this documentary.

    http://www.nomoresunsets.net

    Please Visit it. You can purchase the DVD there. It is still under construction but most things are up and in order.

  19. Will said,

    September 2, 2007 at 12:37 am

    I am so sorry for your loss but know that your brothers courage to speak out about his meth use has helped many and will help many more. I personally used meth extensively and many other drugs for about 4 yrs and thanks to documentaries like these, I am deterred from using drugs in the future. Addiction is a everyday struggle but with information and others courage u can take it one day at a time clean and sober been clean for 1 year.

  20. September 2, 2007 at 12:53 am

    Will, congratulations on your first year- that is an important milestone. Thank you for telling your story and for the encouragement you offer others.

  21. KELLY TANCHEK said,

    October 21, 2007 at 3:58 am

    I WAS WONDERING IF I COULD GET A FREE COPY OF THIS VIDEO SENT TO ME. MY HUSBAND AND I HAVE HAD A HORRIBLE METH PROBLEM. AMONGEST OTHER THINGS. AND WE HAVE 30 DAYS CLEAN. WE ARE TRING SO HARD AND JUST NEED THE INSPIRATION IN OUR LIFES. I KNEW SHAWN PERSONALLY FROM AROUND THE TRUCKSTOP. I WORK IN THE BACK AT K-WAY. AND WOULD REALLY LIKE TO OBTAIN A COPY. WE TALKED ABOUT IT TODAY IN AA AND I WOULD LOVE TO SEE THE FILM AND THEN DONATE IT TO THE AA PROGRAM BECAUSE ALOT! OF PEOPLE IN THE PROGRAM ALSO USE DRUGS AND ALCOHOL JUST IS THE ROOT OF THEIR PROBLEMS. PLEASE IF YOU WOULD SEND ME A COPY AND I WILL MAKE SURE TO GET HIS MESSAGE SPREAD AROUND TO AS MANY PEOPLE AS I CAN. I SAW HIM MANY TIMES AROUND THE TRUCKSTOP AND EVEN IN THE OFFICE A FEW TIMES AND IT BREAKS MY HEART TO SEE HOW HE ENDED UP. GOD BLESS HIM AND HIS FAMILY.

  22. October 21, 2007 at 6:26 am

    Kelly, there are a couple of websites listed in the post (the myspace page for Shawn) and in the comments (Michael Jason Enterprises.) Your request should probably be directed to one of those.

  23. MArgie Lewis said,

    October 29, 2007 at 4:30 pm

    Where do I get a copy of No More Sunsets. I need it for my daughter.l

    Thank you

  24. Amber said,

    December 27, 2007 at 10:00 pm

    How do I watch this? I would like to share it with family (other addicts).

  25. Francis said,

    May 22, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    This movie is obviously just for sale, so stop asking for free copys. Save your last bucks for some more dope wtf. Take a camera and film yourself junking to the end and you get the picture. What did you expect??? Theres no free advice in this world, so keep on going full throttel.

  26. Joe said,

    November 26, 2008 at 4:30 am

    Its obvious they are trying to make money off the death of the brother, its not about helping anyone but themselves.

  27. November 27, 2008 at 7:22 am

    You know Joe, that is pretty harsh considering that it was Shawn’s idea to make the movie and distribute it. Yes they have to charge for it. It takes time and money to have copies made, to store them, to have people to handle them and prepare them for shipping, and to actually pay for shipping.

    Yes, most people would like to get them for free. But I am afraid that most people don’t have those kind of resources to give them out for free. Perhaps if you have the money to do that you could establish a scholarship for those who need the movie but don’t have the funds to pay for it.

    What you might want to do to try to see it for free is contact your local library and see if they would be willing to order a copy for the library. Or check with your local mental health agency to see if they have a drug treatment program and see if they have the movie.

  28. David said,

    August 11, 2009 at 2:56 am

    Although written some what cold hearted I have to agree with Tac. I am a meth user and I want to stop. I would love to see this but I am sure that Just as Tac said In comment 12 I cannot afford it. For your brother to do something like this shows that he was a strong person, I can only hope to fallow in messege before it is to late.

  29. David said,

    August 11, 2009 at 3:04 am

    Is there a way to get a free copy?

  30. David said,

    August 11, 2009 at 3:07 am

    Refure to the reply I left to comment 12

  31. Codi Bridges said,

    January 13, 2010 at 7:44 pm

    you can go to the no more sunsets website (nomoresunsets.com). let me no if u cant get it to watch it and ill help.

    Thanks,
    Shawn’s daughter

  32. Codi Bridges said,

    January 13, 2010 at 7:45 pm

    yes on youtube but it just a preview but not sure if it all on there

  33. Codi Bridges said,

    January 13, 2010 at 7:48 pm

    rehab centers have it for people to watch im sorry u cant afford it really am i just try get my dads word out

  34. Codi Bridges said,

    January 13, 2010 at 7:49 pm

    no more sunset website (nomoresunsets.com)

  35. Cora said,

    February 19, 2010 at 3:39 pm

    I just found out from Jonathan bout Shawn. I meet Shawn on Broadway. He was a great friend to me.

  36. lex said,

    April 22, 2010 at 11:55 pm

    I see both sides of the argument, but believe this is something that should be free. It would have been easier for you guys to post the documentary on its own website. The money spent on storing, shipping, and creating the videos could have been put into a marketing campaign for the website and would have been better for the enviroment.

  37. Dawn said,

    June 28, 2010 at 5:30 am

    Please really consider changing the free aspect. I was watching “living in recovery” and this video was the feature story. I was moved by how someone would feel his life strory would and could change lives. As if he finally knew what God’s plan for his life is. I wanted to show my teenagers but, could not because it has to be ordered. I lost their interest to watch it, I pray that the Faces of Meth videos make sense to them. God bless and please help us gain what this man wanted us to know. amen

  38. guest said,

    June 28, 2010 at 7:25 pm

    I posted a comment on this site in 2007, my name is Kelly Tanchek, and i was wondering if it coud be removed, it comes up when u google my name and i didnt have any idea my comment would be that public. PLEASE remove it!

  39. Tomas said,

    August 6, 2010 at 5:18 am

    WARNING!!! DO NOT SEND ANY MONEY TO ANYONE AT THESE FALSE AND FRAUDELANT WEB SITES SELLING THE NO MORE SUNSETS DOCUMENTARY. THESE WEBSITES ARE A FRAUD AND YOU WILL NEVER RECIEVE ANY VIDEO ABOUT ANYTHING. I WOULDN’T BE SURPRISED IF HE WAS BUYING THE METH FROM THE MAKER OF THIS WESITE AND NOW HIS FAMILY ARE ALL SMOKING METH WITH THE MONEY PEOPLE SEND IN FOR THIS VIDEO. SHAWNS FAMILY ARE A BUNCH OF PIECES OF SHIT.

  40. August 6, 2010 at 6:29 am

    WARNING!!! THIS WEBSITE AND IT’S CREATORS ARE UNDER INVESTIGATION FOR WIRE FRAUD. DO NOT SEND ANY MONEY TO THIS WEBSITE OR ANY LINKED TO THE NO MORE SUNSETS DOCUMENTARY.

  41. Pal Kulcsar said,

    October 1, 2010 at 3:34 pm

    I am a substance abuse counselor and I was also unfortunate to send money in order to see the documentary…nothing, no answers, etc. Be aware!


