Goals, Dreams and Aspirations

Her family says that Lena Murphy Phillips,  23, wanted to go to college after high school, but finding out she was pregnant she held off on her dream. That child is now 7 years old and she also has 3 others with the youngest child 2 years old.

She had been seeing a man named Martwain Phillips for the last 4 years, and was very happy when they married in June. She was a loving mother, and attended her stepfather’s church where she was the choir director. And family says she had begun making college plans again. They say she wanted a better life for herself and her four children and she also wanted to help people. Because she loved children, she wanted to become a pediatric nurse. Family says

“She had goals, and she had dreams, and she had aspirations.”

She also had plans to leave her husband. Family says that was part of the plan to make life better for herself and her children.

Tuesday a dispute developed between Martwain Phillips and Lena Phillips. It became bad enough that the oldest child called a family member and told them what was happening. The family member called 911.

But when police arrived in response to the report of a woman being beaten, they found Lena Phillips dead from stab wounds and Martwain Phillips had left the home.

U.S. Marshalls found Martwain Phillips at his brother’s residence in another state on Thursday. He has been arrested and is awaiting extradition. Because of the holiday he will not appear in court until later this week for an extradition hearing.

The children were not physically harmed in the incident. Family says they have talked about their mother’s death.

pantagraph.com           hoinews.com               wrex.com

grandhaventribune.com                        pantagraph.com

                               usmarshalls.gov

Four more children who witnessed at least a part of their mother’s death. Another child who had to take the role of an adult and try to get help for her mother. Four more kids left without a mother, and with memories of the violence that took their mother’s life. As two of those children were children of both Martwain and Lena Phillips- at least two will be without a father also if he is convicted of the murder. He left them with a nightmare of a memory, and no parents available to hold them, to explain to them, to help them through this.

But Lena Phillips was more than a mother. She had plans to become a pediatric nurse. Plans to care for other children. Plans to save lives. Those children have a void in their lives with the loss of their mother. And so does the rest of the world.

4 Comments

  1. DebbieR said,

    March 5, 2007 at 5:08 am

    The woman murdered in this story is part of my family. he tragic events that caused the death of a mother, the loss of a father, and 4 children to be without parents is devastating to say the least.

    Of all the pain and hurt about what has happened, I am most saddened by the fact that a woman died and it could have been prevented. Many victims of domestic violance are reluctant to tell others and silence can be fatal.

    Also abuse in relationships often escalate from verbal to physical abuse.. Look for the signs. Get out as soon as you can.

    I hope and pray that other who read this story will make every effort to reach out to someone, family, friend, agency, etc. in order to get out of an abusive relationship.

  2. March 5, 2007 at 6:41 am

    Debbie, thank you for adding your voice. I am so very sorry for your loss.

  3. Marjonia said,

    March 6, 2007 at 11:52 pm

    I didnt really know her all that much but what i did know of her she was a very sweet and nice person and will be deeply missed.

  4. vicki said,

    June 29, 2008 at 7:33 am

    Hi I was in one with there daddy we have three kids together and 7 years off and on he had drug problems andf cheated I have never done drugs and do not drink. He has charges on him right now he never showed up in court over it. He is with someone for the past few months first 3 months he lied to me he was living with his mom telling me he wanted to be with me he said he just needed some were to stay and that he realy loves me. I am trying not to take him back. But it is hard I still love him. Now I think this girl that is over half his age is pregnent. I am trying not to take him back. I am having a lot of problems over this I was told that I am depressed I am having a hard time. Am talking to someone this week. Why do I miss someone that was so mean to me? Why do I still love him? Im try to call him all the time. I am doing this to keep from calling him. Why am I calling him all the time? I miss him and should not 7 years are hard to get over. Why does he seem to be good to her? Why could he not be good to me. Why?


