Enduring Love

Valentine’s Day always brings out the stories of love that has endured. And today I am going to take advantage of that by chronicling some of those stories.

In 1932, 11 year old Jackie Rossman was excited when a new neighbor moved into the neighborhood. Curious about the new neighbors, he watched as they moved in. Probably his mother thought it was cute, but improbable when he came to her after he spied the pretty little neighbor girl. He told her

“I am going to marry that pretty girl who moved in across the street.”

The pretty little girl was 10 years old and her name was Sylvia. The two became close friends and when Jackie was 20, he asked Sylvia to marry him. She said yes.

They are now older of course. Jackie is now 85 years old. The two have been married for 64 years. Jackie explains their successful marriage like this:

“If we ever have a difference of opinion, we discuss it, we really discuss it from every angle. And then finally,” “I do whatever she wants.”

And he said that with a smile.

Sylvia says the explanation is simple:

“He makes me laugh,” “I like being with him.”

Sylvia is now battling cancer. But they are still together.

1010wins.com

3 Comments

  1. D.P. said,

    February 16, 2007 at 1:35 am

    I like stories such as this one. I came across this one today and it made me smile.
    http://snipurl.com/1adoo

    The part about the parachute is especially touching.

  2. February 16, 2007 at 4:50 am

    Thank you for posting that D.P. I loved that story and especially the parachute! I considered writing that one after you posted it, but by now I am tired. But I am glad you posted it, as I am never too tired to read.

  3. February 19, 2007 at 3:16 am

    Both stories are sweet. I love to read this kind of ethernal love, specially because I am divorced, unfortunally. Those stories makes me feel hopeful =)


