A Domestic Dispute

Three weeks ago Rachelle Peterson, 28, went looking for a place to live. The new landlord said he was told “She came to me and said she needed a place to live and she was just in a situation she needed to get out of.” He describes her as desperate and says her children appeared to be her first priority. “She had two kids that lived with her and fortunately they weren’t there at the time that it happened.” Sunday those children were spending time with their extended family.

Police say that on Sunday they were called to the new address for a domestic dispute. There they found Rachelle Peterson stabbed to death. Though they are not giving many details of the crime, they do describe it as extremely brutal and vicious. And they say they do believe it was a domestic dispute.

Police took her husband Cedric Peterson, 38, into custody at his home on Sunday. He was later charged with 1 st degree murder and aggravated burglary.

49abcnews.com wibw.com 49abcnews.com kansas.com

I hate it when they call it a domestic “dispute.” It is probably just me, but when I hear “dispute” I think of two people arguing. And this sounds like much more than an argument.  

87 Comments

  1. Unknown said,

    January 11, 2007 at 11:35 am

    I knew Rachelle, I know her children. She isn’t the type to fight back. This is a HUGE tragedy. Her children will now grow up without their mother but will have the love of friends and family around them. Cedric should be put in jail for a VERY long time for this crime.

  2. April Banfield said,

    January 12, 2007 at 2:20 am

    Rachelle was my friend. I’ve known her since we were in high school. She was my maid of honor and I was hers. She was the sweetest and most wonderful person I have ever known in my life. She didn’t deserve this and neither did her children. I never liked Cedric from the moment I met him and she was finally getting away from him… and then this. Jail….OH NO..jail is too good for this PSYCHOPATH. He should be put to DEATH!

  3. January 12, 2007 at 6:08 am

    …… I am very sorry for what you and your family are going through. This is not easy on you and your family either.
    You are right in that no one knows what happened there except the ones who were there. Police will have some information through witness statements and the evidence in the home and some more will come out if there is a trial. In the meantime this hurts and is confusing for you and your family.

  4. January 15, 2007 at 7:58 pm

    Contrary to opinion, I don’t take any pleasure for anyone being arrested for any murder, including DV murders. I think DV crimes are the most hurtful of all. And I am aware of the pain and hurt they leave behind. And yes, I am very aware of the families they leave behind and the pain they go through. Both the families of the victims and the families of the suspects.
    And yes, I am quite aware that many of the persons (suspects and victims) are not monsters- they have always been nice people, good parents, responsible people. But through one moment, one action- a life is lost and many people are hurting, confused, and needing a way to express that.
    Also there are many people who are still in dangerous situations. Many people who do not believe the spouse or partner “will go that far”. Yet there is evidence every day that it can and does often “go that far”.
    I am sorry your daughter was hurt through the accusations against her father. If your daughter is a minor, I am willing to pull her comment. But allowing the ‘secret’ of domestic violence crimes needs to stop.

  5. Ken Watkins said,

    January 15, 2007 at 8:41 pm

    I am Rachelle Peterson’s father and I have just returned from her memorial service in Michigan where we as a family did the best we could to honor our daughter’s life and hopefully move on with ours. I have to defend this website as a source for information to help put an end to domestic violence. I understand the comments made by both Cedric’s ex-wife and his daughter, but I am her to tell you both that Cedric was a very violent man and tormented my daughter both mentally and physically for a very long time culminating in what is the most unforgiveable action anyone can take against another human being. Actions such as Cedric’s need to be plastered on as many mediums as possible to help educate others so that hopefully it can help save lifes in the future. I plan to dedicate my life to educating unfortunate people caught in very violent family situations such as my daughters and maybe just maybe we can save the lives of some. I saw Cedic’s family at the memorial service we had this past weekend and indeed they are as upset as anyone, and no one faults them…..but I will do whatever I must to make sure the Cedric never is able to harm another person as long as he lives.

  6. evan king-macskasy said,

    January 15, 2007 at 10:31 pm

    I am speaking as a health care professional who works with perpetrators and survivors of domestic violence on a daily basis. Secrecy is the ally of the abuser. It is essential that domestic violence is brought out into the open. Unless awareness of such abuse is raised in the community, it will continue – behind closed doors. Having said that, it is equally important to not continue to perpetrate abuse against survivors of domestic violence. This, in essence, means not imposing your will on people who have being subjected to power and control from their abuser for an extended period of time.

    By continuing to post the names of survivors of abuse on here after they have requested that you remove them, you are in fact also perpetrating. if you wish to help to the best of your ability – then by all means continue to publish on this blog – but by respecting the wishes of persons involved – respecting their right to privacy – you will be helping the survivors of abuse instead of further victimising them. Why not use pseudonyms as a matter of course unless you have permission from the parties involved to use their true names?

    please consider before replying.

  7. January 15, 2007 at 11:24 pm

    To the contrary, I have not used the names of any survivors. If you will note in the post- there is the name of the victim, and the name of the suspect. The only survivors names used, were by the survivors themselves…and they have always had the ability to use a pseudonym, it is a frequent occurance.

  8. Iowa_gal said,

    January 16, 2007 at 1:41 am

    Home Sweet Home,
    Your site has been very helpful to many, including myself. I have become very well informed about DV and its horrors here. Keep up the good work. I appreciate your site.

  9. January 16, 2007 at 4:01 am

    Mr. Watkins, I apoligize for the delay in posting your comment. It somehow got caught in some software on the blog and I just found it. I do thank you for the comment and the support. I never expected it as I know this is a very traumatic time for you and your family, and that makes it especially meaningful for me.

  10. January 16, 2007 at 4:03 am

    Iowa_gal, I also appreciate your support and thank you for taking the time to do so.

  11. Becky J said,

    January 16, 2007 at 12:54 pm

    As a survivor of domestic violence and also a friend of many victims turned survivors, as well as a friend to someone who didnt survive, i believe that the only way to end domestic violence or to make people REALLY realize what an epidemic this is so that something gets done and new laws are formed, that it needs to be told just exactly like it is on this site!! We need to start shouting from rooftops, picketing government agencies and if i had it my way i wouldnt only write about it i would splash the abusers photo on every website in the entire world because the only way they will ever be held accountable is if someone stops them and tells them “YOU CANT DO THIS ANYMORE” and i do feel sorry for the family members of the abuser because they dont deserve what they are going thru, but thats not the websites fault it is the fault of the abuser!!!!!!!! Thats how they get away with abusing, they justify thereself, and maybe if one abuser were to get onto this sight before they did the damage to see that it not only harms the victim but every single person in there lives on both sides of the family, and if they have a heart, and a concience, they will realize that and seek help. So i know that it hurts everyone involved but again i say quit giving them the ability to justify there actions and call them on it instead so they get a big dose of reality checks.

  12. Oliver-Lemmie,Mcgee said,

    January 16, 2007 at 3:57 pm

    Lemmie- As Cedrics first cousin this news has sadden the whole family. I was unable to attend the memorial service on satuday because I was sick but glad my husband was able to attend. Rachelle will surely be missed in our family and will always be known as very sweet and loving person. I loved having rachelle as cousin and will never forget her. Our whole family has been shocked by this news and has not known what to say. I usually don’t respond to these websites but when I saw Ken’s comments I just had to say something. I just wanted to commend Ken’s family for standing behind rachelle through all that she has been through. Our family had now idea Cedric was like that because he was never like this when we were growing up.
    Oliver-I attended the memorial service and I must say that Rachelle’s family is full of love.I know everyone wants to know why,but we have to put our trust in the Lord. The word of God says, lean not to your own understanding.
    It also says that, every word of God is pure,he is a shield unto them that put
    their trust in him.God is still good and both familys need to let LOVE live in there hearts because of the children that’s what the Lord would want. We will keep both family”s in our prayers.

  13. January 16, 2007 at 7:41 pm

    Bridgette Sanders, I will only say this. Yes, I moderated the comment that you requested that I do. As you seem to have taken issue with this, I have reposted it- unaltered. Yes, I altered my post to your daughter- I removed her name as you have stated she was a minor, but that is all. I can add her name back in and repost her comment if you wish. No, your comments have not been altered. If I had altered them, I would have removed her name from your comment and would have altered the criticism you had written about me and the site.

  14. Lisia said,

    January 18, 2007 at 3:50 am

    I must say that my heart goes out to everyone person directly and indirectly involved in this tragedy. it is incomprehensible that a tragedy of this type could happen in any family. My prayer is that healing would penetrate the lives of every affected person. The loss of someone’s life is something that is irreplaceable, but as everyone involved must live on with this deep pain, It is only the consolation that Christ gives, that will bring any kind of comfort and peace to those who continue to live on in the face of this.

  15. Angelina Noyle said,

    January 18, 2007 at 3:35 pm

    I am Rachelle’s cousin and I would like to begin by saying how deeply saddened and distraught my family has become as a result of this horrific tragedy. That being said, the outpouring of love, affection, and sincerity has been overwhelmingly helpful and valuable and has also shed a positive light over a very dark and unsettling time.

    I’ve discussed at length with various family members the impact that Rachelle’s heartbreaking death has had on each of us. Some may consider Rachelle simply my cousin and nothing more, but she was far more than that to all of her cousins. We are a very close family where time spent together (and we spend A LOT of time together!) is cherished very deeply. She is the eldest of the “kids” which has ultimately led many of her younger cousins to admire and respect her, to follow in her footsteps, and to value the time she gave to her family; time that she spent as a self-less individual, sincerely caring for each person.

    I am currently in my last semester at Saginaw Valley State University majoring in Social Work. I have previously had an interest in working in the area of domestic violence post-graduation, but since Rachelle’s death, I hope to make this interest into a reality. I can’t say at what point in my life that I will be ready to take on such a task as I feel that the suffering that I am currently experiencing is too great for me to be able to act on Rachelle’s behalf. Nevertheless, I have great hopes and plans to be able to work for women and men in Rachelle’s position – that either don’t have a voice or need an extra voice as a way to keep on living; and living happily and with very little worry.

    I would like to thank Home Sweet Home for giving Rachelle’s family and friend a chance to be heard and a chance to learn about domestic violence.

  16. January 18, 2007 at 5:40 pm

    Angelina, thank you. I do appreciate your support. Domestic violence causes unmeasurable hurt to not only family and friends of the victim, but also to family and friends of the perpetrator. As well as to communities. And most of all to any children involved.
    And there are never any “winners”. The victim dies, the perpetrator usually ends up in prison. No one gains anything either monetary, love or respect. And everyone loses.
    I wish you success in your future endeavors. Sadly there is always a need for social workers and advocates in the domestic violence field. You will take with you more of an understanding of the issues at risk when DV is involved. Best of luck to you.

  17. Nick Tenerelli said,

    January 18, 2007 at 11:36 pm

    I am Rachelle’s Uncle. Rachelle is the first neice to come into this very large family. She is very loved and will be sadly missed. I cannot tell you how much this tragedy has impacted my life and the life of my family. As Angelina has very well stated, we are very close. You watch this kind of thing on the news and feel bad for the victim, but you don’t see the people behind the face of the victim. Especially impacted are the two young children. This will affect the rest of their lives. We are ralling together as a family to do the best we can for them. While every one has an opinion, let us keep in mind that there is no conviction, and there is an on going investigation into Rachelle’s death. Please let us be carefull not to do or say anything that may affect the investigation. I have been in contact with the investigator, and have full confidence justice will be served. If you want to gain anything from this forum, please stay focused, and lets not let this happen to anyone else. I agree with Rachelle’s Dad, and I to have changed my focus in life. I plan on getting the word out, and doing what ever I can do to prevent this tragedy from happening to anyone else. THIS IS WHAT RACHELLE WOULD HAVE DONE. I would like to thank all of you for your support and comments. I do have one request. There has not been much local coverage about this. Rachelle’s children are going to need alot of care, and it is going to be very expensive. I was wondering if anyone had any ideas how to get some local coverage and possibly some help for the kids. Thank-you, and remember to keep Rachelle in your prayers.

  18. January 19, 2007 at 1:05 am

    I can tell you what I have seen in other cases. Sometimes friends help to sponsor benefits, sometimes there is a public announcement that a trust fund has been opened for the children. (Don’t be afraid to reach out to any reporters who have written about this case and ask for the info to be included in any articles about the case.)
    You could also try checking with the area victim’s service agency to see if any related expenses might be covered (sometimes they can help with counseling, etc.) The prosecutor’s office or sheriff’s dept may be able to tell you where to make contact with them or they may be listed here: http://ovc.ncjrs.org/findvictimservices/search.asp
    You would have to check with the agency to determine if the children meet their criteria and specifically what they might help with.
    Another helpful contact would the the Parents of Murdered Children branch in your area. http://pomc.org/

  19. Anonymous said,

    January 22, 2007 at 10:01 pm

    I have been around Cedric and Rachelle numerous times; Rachelle was very sweet and caring, and Cedric was very kind and helpful. Everytime I saw Cedric he had the kids and Rachelle was at work. Not once did he ever disrespect her or anything while I was around. I can’t believe that he would ever do anything like this, i’m not blaming anyone for anything because you nor I know what really happened and will never know the real story. In the end i’m most upset that Trey and Alexa will have to grow up without neither parents and that Cedric’s kids from his previous marriage will have to grow up without their father.
    I know that the families of both parties are very saddened by this horrible event, but sitting around pointing fingers is not the answer. AND FOR EVERYONE THAT IS CALLING CEDRIC AN PSYCHOPATH OR CONDEMN HIM TO DEATH. Should be ashamed of yourself, you are not God and only that decision should be left up to God. Cedric has family just like Rachelle does and more than likely they are reading these sites, so think about how they feel when they hear some of the nasty things that are said about him. Don’t get me wrong i’m not taking up for what he did or saying that he should just be left off the hook but people should keep their negative remarks about both, Cedric and Rachelle, to themselves. I know that they both had their flaws, but they also had good qualities!
    I will truly miss Rachelle and will always accept and love Cedric. I forgive him for his mistakes and what he has done but i’ll never forget how he took another human beings life. I will also remember how nice Rachelle was when I first met her. MAY GOD BLESS!

  20. Becky J said,

    January 23, 2007 at 10:48 am

    I understand how you feel anonymous, thats why domestic violence is so hard to understand, its a hidden problem because the abuser is very rarely even remotely violent, disrespectful, or angry in front of others, if anything they are the EXACT opposite, they are sometimes pillars of society, or just a really nice person you could see helping the elderly person across the street with there groceries, they appear to be so in love with the victim, holding there hand opening doors, etc. so its hard to see them as violent criminals espically murderers, and i think thats what makes them the scariest of all criminals, because many of them can pull the wool over anyones eyes including the laws.

  21. April Banfield said,

    January 23, 2007 at 4:43 pm

    I am not ashamed of my comment. It is the TRUTH! Get it straight or reread the statement I did not condemn him to death I said-He should be put to DEATH!

    I never claimed to be God. And he condemned himself when he commited that horrible crime. What he did was a crime against the laws of man and God!

    I do understand that cedric has family members that are dealing with this also and for the one’s who knew Rachelle I’m sure they are grieving as we are. But, Cedric is still alive!!! And it was at his hand that she died so, excuse me if my sympathy is more towards my friend and her family!!!!

  22. Cheeks said,

    January 23, 2007 at 11:03 pm

    Thank you April for hanging in there. I feel the same way you do.

  23. A.B. said,

    January 24, 2007 at 3:17 pm

    I was just wondering if anyone knows anything about Cedric’s court date, if he had a trial yet.. was he sentenced etc? Thank you.

    A concerned Friend

  24. Cheeks said,

    January 24, 2007 at 8:58 pm

    Nothing has happened yet. His preliminary hearing for January 16 was moved to February 13. We are desperately waiting for something to begin, and will let you know when that happens.

  25. April Banfield said,

    January 25, 2007 at 1:51 pm

    Please do let me know. ( Rachelle’s mom has my cell phone number) If I know when the hearing is I can take leave to be there. I want to be there if I can for Rachelle and her family to help lend some support. And to see that monster get what’s coming to him.

  26. Ken Watkins said,

    January 25, 2007 at 2:12 pm

    For all of you that are asking about court dates, I think it is very admirable of all of you to want to show your support for Rachelle, however the legal system often doesn’t work nearly fast enough for the victims family and friends. As RachelIe’s father, I am being kept informed of significant court dates so that we can have a show of support for Rachelle at those court appearances, and I will make sure that all of our family members and friends will know what the dates are. I say this because the date mentioned in February is just a status hearing for the legal folks, at this time no preliminary hearing or any other court date has been set. Please let the legal system work…..I am concerned that too much internet chatter is going to disrupt the process.
    Thank you for all of your support.

  27. April said,

    January 25, 2007 at 4:34 pm

    Although I understand the stress and strain you are going through……this chatter as you call it should not affect the process. Please understand that most of us are just talking about sweet Rachelle and sharing what a truely wonderful person she was. And yes voicing our opinions about the person who is responsible for her not being here anymore…it hurts us too. I’m sorry……. although we could NEVER understand what it is like as a father to lose a daughter but….we knew her, care and miss her too. NO DISRESPECT INTENDED..

    Thank you for your update and please let us know if there is ANYTHING we can do…

  28. April said,

    January 25, 2007 at 4:41 pm

    Rachelle has a lot of friends and alot would like to know of organizations and/or fundraisers if any for donations or anything else for her children?

  29. Angelina Noyle said,

    January 25, 2007 at 7:47 pm

    April –
    Thanks for your inquiry about the kids. Contributions/donations are being accepted as scholarships for Trey and Alexa and can be sent to the SageLink Credit Union, G3311 Van Slyke, Flint, MI 48507 in Kathryn Watkins’ name.

    The Tenerelli family is also hoping and attempting to plan a benefit dinner, but I believe that the details are still in the works. I will certainly keep all that are interested posted when more information comes in.

  30. April said,

    January 26, 2007 at 4:24 pm

    Oh thank you so much for the information. I will be passing it along.

    I have been talking with people down here and trying to see what I can do for Trey and Alexa. I’ve told everyone I know and they are all very concerned and eager to help in any way.

    And about the benefit dinner- Please let me know when you have more of the details. If I know when it is I will try to take leave and be there.

    Thank you so very much

  31. April said,

    January 30, 2007 at 9:05 pm

    For all of Rachelle’s relatives and friends,

    I have an idea…just something I’ve been pondering on as to what else we could do for Rachelle. And I know the weather in Michigan has not been the best lately but, maybe when it warms up a little…….how about organizing a walk for Rachelle & her children ( FAMILIES AND FRIENDS AGAINST DOMESTIC VIOLENCE) in the city of Fenton. Let me know what you think and maybe we can put our heads together to get this set in motion.

    PS. If you would like to talk to me Kathryn has my number.

    Sincerely,
    April

  32. J said,

    January 30, 2007 at 9:50 pm

    Even though I hadn’t spoken to Rachelle since high school graduation, I heard about this tragedy and found this web page. It’s very sad. I saw April’s comment above about organizing a walk for Rachelle. Have you thought about reaching out to the FHS National Honor Society or Key Club? They may be able to help you organize and promote it as one of their community service events. Just an idea.

  33. April said,

    January 31, 2007 at 4:40 pm

    J,

    Thank you so very much for your input. That is a great idea! Thanks! Take care. I’ll keep everyone updated!

  34. April said,

    February 26, 2007 at 6:19 pm

    Any knew information or updates on the case? Upcoming court dates?

  35. A.B. said,

    February 27, 2007 at 5:05 am

    No I haven’t heard anything.

  36. Angelina Noyle said,

    February 27, 2007 at 4:19 pm

    I believe there is a preliminary hearing scheduled for April 5th.

  37. April said,

    March 8, 2007 at 6:47 pm

    Thank you

  38. Cheeks said,

    March 28, 2007 at 2:07 pm

    April

    I don’t know if you heard, but the April 5 hearing has been postponed. Will let you know the reschedule date.

  39. Ann said,

    April 3, 2007 at 11:49 pm

    To all who may be interested there is a fundraiser dinner scheduled on May 12. The dinner will be held in Fenton at St. John’s. Save the date and as I get more details I will post them.

  40. April said,

    April 4, 2007 at 1:40 pm

    Cheeks,

    Yes I did here about the postponing but, not the why? Please let me know about the reschedule. I do appreciate the info. Thank you ever so much.

    MY OPINION-They need to just strap him to the chair and flip the switch. But, that’s just me.

  41. April said,

    April 4, 2007 at 1:42 pm

    Ann,

    Thanks for the info. I will pass it along. A fundraiser dinner sounds wonderful.

  42. Cheeks said,

    April 6, 2007 at 1:13 am

    April,

    The prosecuters office said that the forsensic scientist who is on the case could not be at the hearing on the 5th so they resceduled it for april 19. Let’s hope this date sticks! Also, please let everyone you know about the May 12 fundraiser. We want a lot of people there.

    Thanks

  43. Tim Woodruff said,

    April 20, 2007 at 2:58 am

    Ken, Kathryn, Nick, Family and Friends,
    Some of you I have talked to directly through this whole ordeal. As the property manager that Rachelle came to looking for a place to live, I to have been devestated by this. Today sitting through that preliminary hearing was very difficult for me. I was there for one reason, I wanted to represents those that could not be there on Rachelle’s behalf. Over the past four months I had become very bitter towards a man that I have never met. Reality has hit me tonight as I have thought very hard about this complex situation. Yes Cedric did a horrible thing, took a precious life away from a very special person, and has caused unessary and drastice change in two little one’s life’s. Instead of being bitter and angry towards him, I feel an obligation to try to understand what caused him to react the way he did in the attempt to better understand how we can help someone else and avoid other situations like this one. As a man, it seems it is very difficult to say im sorry to someone. But as a true man, we are able to swallow that same pride and admit when we are wrong. If I was a father, brother or uncle in this situation I would be very bitter and angry myself, But as a man I feel I would need to stand up and say, “I diss like what you have done to my family. It has caused pain, torment, and anger. But lets get past this, why did you do it, what ever did she do to make you that mad to take her life.” Rachelle was very quite and did not ever really discuss the negative things in her life. For her sake I feel it is important to continue to show support in her favor, stand up and fight against these types of issues and stop looking down on Cedric. We cannot change what has been done, but we can change how we respond, react and persue the things we face in the future. The legal system will deal with him accordingly. My thoughts and prayers go out to Ken and Nick who I have had the opportunity to spend some time with, and to the rest of the family and friends who are not able to travel to Kansas through this all. If ever any of you want to talk, Ken and Nick both have my email and Phone numbers, please do not hesitate to call me!

  44. A.B. said,

    April 20, 2007 at 3:52 am

    Very nice words Tim! By chance, did anything happen at the hearing? Any sentence given?

  45. Angelina said,

    April 20, 2007 at 1:19 pm

    Tim,

    Thank you for attending the hearing – it’s difficullt to travel to Kansas, but it’s also difficult not to be there to represent Rachelle. We all very much appreciate your support.

  46. Tim Woodruff said,

    April 21, 2007 at 2:14 am

    No sentence was given at this hearing. This was just to determine that there was enough evidence to hold cedric over for a trial. He will appear on May 1 just to pleade guilty or not guilty. At that time they will schedule a trial date.

  47. A.B. said,

    April 22, 2007 at 2:50 am

    Thank you for the info. So I take it there was enough evidence against him to take it to trial?

  48. Tim Woodruff said,

    April 22, 2007 at 11:12 pm

    There is more than enough evidence!!!!!!!!!!

  49. Janelle said,

    April 24, 2007 at 7:58 pm

    Tim,
    As a close cousin of Rachelle, on behalf of myself and the rest of my family I would like you to know how much we appreciate your will to be such a powerful advocate for Rachelle through all of this. There is not a day that goes by that Rachelle doesn’t appear in my thoughts, whether it be how much I miss her or the terrible thoughts of what was really done to her and it helps set my mind a little at ease knowing there are so many people out there that cared for her. I am hoping to make it to Kansas for the trial so please continue to post updates. Hope to possibly meet you then.

    Sincere Thanks,
    Janelle (Nick’s daughter)

  50. Denna said,

    April 29, 2007 at 10:10 pm

    To everyone who is interested. The benefit dinner for Rachelle’s children will be held at St. Johns in Fenton, MI on May 12, 2007 at 4:00p.m. – 7:00p.m. Businesses have donated items to help raise money, it is my understanding items will be raffled off and an auction will be held. Please come if you can. I know that Rachelle’s family will appreciate whatever you can do no matter how great or how small.

    Hope to see you there!

    Denna

  51. Family said,

    May 3, 2007 at 8:09 pm

    Did Cedric appear in court again on the 1st? If so, was a trial date set?

  52. Cheeks said,

    May 3, 2007 at 9:56 pm

    Tim,

    As a relative of Rachelle’s, living in Michigan, I cannot thank you enough for all of the care, concren, and support you have given to this family. It truly is very touching to know that we have someone in Kansas who can represent Rachelle since it is so difficult for us to be out there, but you can be sure that once the trial begins, you will see more family members attend. Thank you for all of your intelligent words, and I pray that we all can keep those thought in mind. Hope to see you at the May 12 dinner. If not, I look forward to meeting you in the near future.

    Cheeks

  53. Tim Woodruff said,

    May 5, 2007 at 7:45 pm

    I was at a conference on the first but I will definetely get ahold of someone to find out if a date has been set. I want to thank Nick for his phone call the other day personally inviting me to the dinner. Due to financial reason I am not able to obtain a plain ticket to come out there. I have sent an email at work to over 40 coworkers and we are working on raising some money for donations. I have already had some response from several.

  54. Tim Woodruff said,

    May 9, 2007 at 4:15 am

    I apologize for the misinformation. The next court date is May 21. Thanks Ken for calling and setting me straight.

  55. Family said,

    May 9, 2007 at 12:15 pm

    is may 21st the beginning of the trial?

  56. Tim Woodruff said,

    May 11, 2007 at 3:49 am

    no this will be the day that they should set a trial date. keep in mind this date could change.

  57. Ken Watkins said,

    May 21, 2007 at 7:13 pm

    For anyone following the activities, Mr. Peterson’s arraignment has be moved to July 20th from May 21st.

  58. Cheeks said,

    May 21, 2007 at 7:24 pm

    Oh my gosh, I have been waiting all day to get the outcome of the arraignment today, checking this site many times to see if anything had been posted, only to find out about the delay. What a disappointment! Oh well, that’s our System.

    Thanks Ken for the info.

  59. Cheeks said,

    June 5, 2007 at 11:00 pm

    Ken

    Have you gotten any specifics on the date in July?

    Cheeks

  60. Cheeks said,

    June 5, 2007 at 11:02 pm

    Sorry, I just went back to read that the date is July 20.

  61. family said,

    July 21, 2007 at 1:56 am

    any news on the trial? did it happen today as planned?

  62. A.B, said,

    August 1, 2007 at 3:24 am

    Yes, I was wondering as well if anyone had any news on the trial? If so, please let us know here. Thank you.

  63. April said,

    September 18, 2007 at 11:42 am

    I havent heard anymore recently………….what has been going on?

  64. April said,

    September 18, 2007 at 11:59 am

    Rachelle was Simply The Best and Always will be in our hearts forever.

    I just had a new baby girl. Her name is Cheyenne Rachelle. Rachelle after you my sweet friend I miss you every day. Wish we would have had more time.

    Love Always,
    April

  65. understanding said,

    September 20, 2007 at 4:43 pm

    April, I just wanted to let you and Rachelle’s family know we are all here for you. Rachelle’s not here to defend herself but WE ALL STAND TOGETHER on this. Rachelle was so funny and beautiful inside and out. We have people in Michigan that wanted to fly out to Kansas just make sure everyone understood who Rachelle was. I guess that shows when she has a landlord that speaks well of her, a prosecutor that plans on not just saying this was a domestic dispute. I understand that he broke into her house. That to me is pre-meditated!! I never knew Cedric but no one has a kind word for him. April is not the only one who has spoken about him. I had a hard time reading this for the longest time but, now I have so much anger built up inside of me that I can take on any comment. How dare he take a another’s life and have people feel sorry for him. I don’t get it.

  66. A.B. said,

    November 11, 2007 at 1:44 am

    Has anyone heard anything about the trial???

  67. family said,

    November 14, 2007 at 9:39 pm

    he was supposed to go to court on dec.14th, but it’s since been pushed back to at least late january, early february.

  68. November 15, 2007 at 5:18 pm

    Thank you family.

  69. A.B. said,

    November 15, 2007 at 8:19 pm

    Thank you for the information. Keep us updated please.

  70. A.B. said,

    February 15, 2008 at 12:27 am

    Hi, was just wondering if anyone has any new updates??

  71. April said,

    February 15, 2008 at 2:16 pm

    Sweet Rachelle,

    I miss you so much. I wish you could have been here for my wedding. My husband’s name is Lee, he’s the sweetest man and he is in the Army…currently he is in Afghanistan though. But, he is due home from the deployment in July. Robbie, Kylie and Cheyenne are all getting bigger. I really wish they could have had the privelage to know more of the sweetest person in the whole world. There are so many things that have gone on I get so excited that I pick up my phone to call you and then put the phone back down….and start to cry because you’re gone. I still have the hardest time with you not being here. Its been a year and Im still a mess. I miss you so much. You are Always in my thoughts. And I love ya lots.

    Your Friend Always,
    April

  72. April said,

    February 15, 2008 at 2:19 pm

    So what has gone on? Was he sentenced? Please if anyone has any information please let me know.

  73. Cheeks said,

    February 15, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    Hi April

    We just found out yesterday afternoon that the sentencing willbe taking place on February 25 at 10:00 a.m. at the Junction City, KS courthouse. Boy, this is taking a long time! There are several family members flying out there. We will arrive on the 24th and fly home on the 26th. We pray that there will be no more delays.

    Congratulations on your marriage. Sounds like all is well with you.

    Take Care
    Angie (Rachelle’s aunt)

  74. A.B. said,

    February 16, 2008 at 4:38 am

    Thank you for the information on the trial. I hope everything goes as planned and their are no delays. You are in my thoughts and prayers.

  75. Nick Tenerelli said,

    February 26, 2008 at 10:31 am

    The sentensing is over. Cedric will be in prison for at least 25 years. It was a very emotional day. Ken(Dad), Angelina(Cousin), and Uncle Nick were able to say what they wanted to. Uncle Nick also read a letter sent in by Katherine(Mother). There was a lot of support from the Junction City PD. They were not required to be there, but chose to come on their own. There is a web site that you can go to and track Cedric’s life in prison. Cedric did not say much except that he had no recall of what he did.(Imagine that!!!) I will get you all the web site and figure out a way to get you the readings.

    Thank’s for all of your support.

    Uncle Nick

  76. Stacey said,

    February 26, 2008 at 1:23 pm

    Thanks Nick for the update. I have been monitoring this site all along & chose not to post until now. I am glad the sentencing is over & although it won’t bring Rachelle back, at least there is peace in knowing that he won’t be out hurting anyone else.

    Rachelle was my cousin on her dad’s side, and although I moved away from the area when I graduated from college and haven’t seen the family very often, I have received updates over the years from my mom & dad.

    I (and my parents – Bev & Bill) think of you all often. Please send our love to everyone.

    Stacey

  77. A.B. said,

    February 26, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    Thank you for the information on the sentencing. Thank God he is finally behind bars and will be for a very long time hopefully. Yes… when you get a chance, could you please post the link or name of the website to track his life in prison. Thank you and God Bless your family.

  78. Sorry I cant said,

    February 26, 2008 at 6:20 pm

    Great speach Nick. Very nice but strongful speach

  79. Nick Tenerelli said,

    February 27, 2008 at 12:11 am

    Stacey

    I rember your parents. Hope all is well. Tell them hi. It might be a good idea for you guys to get in touch with Matt and Ken.

    Take care

  80. A.B. said,

    February 27, 2008 at 4:00 am

    What is the name of that website to track Cedric in prison?

  81. Nick Tenerelli said,

    February 29, 2008 at 10:51 am

    The web site is the Kansas Department of Corrections. I looked yesterday and he is not in the system yet. He has not been transfered from the Geary County Jail. It should be with in the next week.

  82. A.B. said,

    February 29, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    Thank you for the info.

  83. Sorry I cant said,

    March 5, 2008 at 3:48 pm

    For those who want to know Cedric is presently incarcerated at the Kansas department of Corrections. The site is http://www.dc.state.ks.us/kasper. Hope this will help

  84. Kristyn said,

    August 6, 2008 at 6:12 pm

    I went to Kansas Department of Corrections website and was asked to log in before I could check on things. It asks for an identification number; if anyone has it, could you please email me. Thanks

  85. Kristin Darling said,

    October 3, 2008 at 1:02 pm

    Uncle Ken,

    You are always in my thoughts and prayers. I love you.

  86. April said,

    January 13, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    Its been 2 years and still stings as bad as it did when I first heard the news. I am glad the psychopath was sentenced and wont be on the street to hurt anyone else BUT….I still miss my friend. Ive met alot of people but no one compares to my sweet friend Rachelle. I cant pick up the phone to tell her that Ive moved or that Im expecting again in April. She never got to see my youngest daughter Cheyenne Rachelle (who was named after her) and who was born just 5 months after she died. And her children oh how they must miss their mom. I know that the rest of her family must miss seeing her beautiful smile and hearing her voice… this tragedy has hurt so many. I know by now I shouldnt be as upset but, its hard to heal when a piece of your heart is gone. Rachelle was the best friend I ever had and I still miss her every day. And I know that she is in a better place ….and I know that I should not be so selfish but, I just wish she was still here.

    ~I miss you so much Rachelle~
    Your Friend Always~ April

  87. January 4, 2011 at 2:11 am

    […] City police find woman stabbed to death Homicide victim identified Woman dies of stab wounds A Domestic Dispute (great blog on domestic violence) Man, accused of stabbing wife, in […]


