“My boyfriend did this to me”

Nov. 17 th police were called to a fire. The first officer to arrive noticed a woman wearing only a bra behind the building. She appeared to be severely burned all over her body.

In the ambulance that was taking Angela Readance to the hospital,  she allegedly told ambulance personnel “My boyfriend did this to me,” “He poured gasoline over me and set me on fire.” “John Graves did it. That’s what you’re gonna need to know — that he did it,”  “I’m going to die.”

A witness reported seeing a black male running from the building at the time of the fire. He was later identified as John Graves. Shortly after he left the building, Angela Readance came out.

Angela Readance lived for 8 more days with burns over 90% of her body, and died on Nov. 25 th. The medical examiners office gave her cause of death as “complications of soot and smoke inhalation and extensive thermal injures.”

John Graves was arrested on Nov. 18 th and charged with arson. Wednesday he was charged with criminal homicide.


local.lancasteronline.com                               jems.com    
centredaily.com                       local.lancasteronline.com

2 Comments

  1. just passing by: said,

    December 10, 2006 at 12:22 am

    RIP Angela……
    My heart totally broke reading this story. How another human being could torture someone like this is beyond me.
    Dieing from burns is the most horrific death anyone can have. My brother died from 98% of his body burnt. So I know what I’m talking about.
    John Graves don’t deserve a trial……..I understand he in entitled to one, but doesn’t deserve it.

  2. December 10, 2006 at 12:47 am

    I cannot think of any death more horrible, than that of dying with burns.


