After School

Peter Heiberger, 44, and his wife Elena, 32, were the parents of 4 children ages 5-13. Peter Heiberger was an ex-police officer. Early in his career he was involved in two officer shootings which have been variously described as “friendly fire” or accidental shootings of fellow officers. But he went on to a 20 year career in law enforcement, and received 6 commendations for excellent police work during that career. He retired from the police department in Feb. of 2006.

Neighbors say they thought the couple were friendly and good parents, and Peter Heiberger walked or drove his kids to the school bus stop every day.

Peter Heiberber got another job after his retirement. In July he began working as a clerk. And according to statements in the media, fellow employees have said that the couple were not getting along. Reportedly on Monday, Elena Heiberger came to the store and was talking about divorce. Local police also say they were familiar with the couple as they had been called to the home for domestic disputes.

Two of their children, ages 11 and 13 returned to the home after school on Tues. They found their parents in the home. Police say it was an apparent murder suicide. Police have indicated their belief that Heiberger shot his wife Elena twice in the head before turning the gun on himself. Police say they have recovered a weapon from the home and it was registered to Peter Heiberger.

The children are now reported to be in the care of relatives.

recordonline.com   midhudsonnews.com  newsday.com

poughkeepsiejournal.com                    recordonline.com

4 children, with parents not getting along. A difficult situation, but not that unusual. Even talk of a divorce, likely they had friends who also had divorced parents. But arguments that escalated to the point that police had to be called, that would have been scary for them. The mother they loved, vs. the father they loved. A situation that can cause divided loyalties in a child.

Then to get off from school, with the typical teen and preteen preoccupations. What they could do before settling for the night, homework, maybe even thinking about the events of the day.

They walk into their home and find blood. Their mother dead, their father dead. They may have wondered what happened, who did that to the parents they loved. They may or may not have known what actually happened. But at some point they will learn.

How do you reconcile the memories of your loving parents with the last sight you have of them?

26 Comments

  1. Vidalia11 said,

    December 7, 2006 at 5:49 pm

    I think it’s interesting that he shot two officers in “friendly fire” and then left his children to find his body and their mom’s. My feeling is that this guy had a lot of rage inside. Very very sad for those kids.

  2. Di said,

    December 7, 2006 at 8:59 pm

    I can’t relate with what would motivate a parent to commit such an act KNOWING full well that the scene would most likely be discovered by their own children. So selfish.

  3. December 8, 2006 at 1:44 am

    Domestic violence is usually an act of selfishness. A kind of ‘my way or no way’ attitude. And anyone who attempts to interfere is put at risk, and no thought given to how it will affect others.

  4. jamasin said,

    December 10, 2006 at 4:05 pm

    I knew Peter…. he was a very personable man and always seemed so happy. I dont agree with what he did at all. I would never leave my kids over something that could of been worked out. He acted in anger and rage and only thought of himself. He never personally told me about his problems but when he heard that i was getting married, he told me to never get married because it will ruin my life. He was very sad while sayin this, therefore i knew he might have marriage issues. But i never knew it was that bad!

  5. Cloud Writer said,

    December 17, 2006 at 5:06 am

    I’m seeking a photo of Peter and Elena for
    http://www.crystalbrame.com/OtherVictims.htm. I link to that page from several different places. I am going to list them – with pictures of police cars outside their house until I find something real.

    Breaks my heart. I’ve been married and divorced and know how out of ourselves that time can be. Some moments just can never be taken back.

    cloud_writer
    @
    yahoo.com

  6. Cloud Writer said,

    December 17, 2006 at 5:10 am

    I don’t know why the link http://www.crystalbrame.com/OtherVictims.htm doesn’t end up on the right page from here. If it takes you to the front page of the website, click the link “What’s here” in the navigation menu – and on the bottom of the list on the “What’s here” page there is a link for Other victims.

  7. Cloud Writer said,

    December 17, 2006 at 5:24 am

    (Blush) I found the picture.

  8. December 21, 2006 at 4:54 pm

    I dated Peter and lived with him and my two children for six months, I knew after one month I made a huge mistake, Peter never yelled for showed to much emotion, but he was very calculating, I was always afraid of him, and tried never to leave my children alone with him, I had my mom or other family members stay there. I met Elana – she’s so beautiful, I warned her about Peter several times, Just as his ex had warned me, and I knew she was right, so I asked Peter to move out, I actually had to prentent to sell my house to get him to leave, He started dating Elena wright after me, I felt that she saved me because he was so invloved with her. Peter was very nice, friendly, neat helped you with laundry – he was like the perfect boyfriend, but there was something very off. My heart goes out to Mr. & Mrs. Marmo and those children, I would love to see little Jena, I really loved Peter at one point, and thank god that I got out. I hope Elena memory lives on, this happens to many times. I wish there is a real way to pinpoint these types of destructive personalities.

  9. Think First said,

    January 1, 2007 at 4:16 pm

    If you are in a relationship and know something is wrong, you are unhappy, your partner scares you, don’t speak about leaving, divorce to others. Don’t threaten your partner. Get to a safe place first then address the problem. Make sure you and your kids are protected. In this case she had a safe place to go to, her parents in Pennsylvania. I hope all works out well for the children.

  10. geefer said,

    January 18, 2007 at 12:27 am

    I know these 4 kids. Jenna,5yrs. Jacob,10yrs. Jordan,12yrs. and Julian,13yrs. My new friends all live up my block. All 4. So So tragic.

  11. Morgan said,

    September 18, 2007 at 7:18 am

    I knew Peter and I knew Elena they lived right across the street from me for 4 years. You know something NOTHING can and will justify what he did to my baby girl EVER. I dont care family, friends or what. He took her life and left two kids to come home and find them both twitching on the ground. He wasnt stupid, he knew what his intentions were and how exactly how to plan them both out. I dont care how ignorant I sound. Peter was angry, he was also a coward at the same time. He took the p&&&y way out of things instead of facing the truth like a man. I know this is upsetting because I know his family and her family but you know something you made a choice that these poor children which are like my family have to think about for the rest of there lives…Think about Julian and Jordan the last image of there mother is her lying there on the floor twitching…Im sorry I knew both of them I loved both of them until i found out about this and then I too discovered the truth. only CLOSE friends knew what happend to Elena behind CLOSED doors. I know Peters family would be the first ones to say he wasnt abusive but little did you know…..Theres alot behind Elenas eyes that I couldnt even see until now. I hate him for what hes done to those children and to what he did to my baby girl…Im ranting i need to go.

  12. Kristen Dinisi said,

    November 8, 2007 at 10:58 pm

    I am the aunt of Julien,jordan and jake. My brother is their biological father. I have not seen my nephew’s in 9 yrs. I put juliens name in and found this horrific news. I want to desperatly find my nephew’s. I wanted her to have a better life for her and her boy’s, a life my brother could not provide. So when she said Peter wanted to take care of her and her boy’s I gave her my blessing. In hope’s that they had a chance to grow up as fine young men. I am so heart broken that julien and jordan found them. I pray for them every night. If anyone know’s anything about them PLEASE PLEASE I am begging you to post something,.. I want those boy’s to know I love them. And I want to be part of their lives. They have a little cousin Jenna’s age named Jillian.
    I just wanted to know they were never forgotten and I always wondered and prayed for them. I don’t speak to my brother, I don’t think he even know’s about the horrific things his boy’s are going through. I love you Julien,G-Man(Jordan), and Jakie. My full name is Kristen Dinisi, I live an Amityville NY. You guy’s have family that loves you and wants to help and be part of your lives.
    Love, your Aunt Kris… You guy’ are my SUNSHINE ON MY SHOULDERS!!!!!

  13. Doris Ann Torres said,

    December 18, 2007 at 8:19 am

    I knew Peter Heiberger as a Police Officer.
    I worked as an NYPD civilian employee and that is how I met him.
    Peter was always friendly, personable, helpful.
    Peter showed me pictures of his son with his pet dog.
    I thought he was a fine person.
    I was really sorry that this terrible situation took place.
    I wish it could have all been prevented.
    So tragic, so sad.

  14. Kristen i know info anout the boys said,

    January 4, 2008 at 10:42 pm

    Kristen I know info about Juilian nd Jordan Jake is not his real nam it’s Jacob I go to vist them all the time. They live in tanersville,pa with their grandparnets. I’ll try to tell you their address but I need her email b/c I don’t want the public to see info about them.Um… I know Elena I noticed everytime there was a party Peter never came.Elena was my cousin’s godmother and aunt it was my cousin Makayla’s bapitist and Elena and the kids were the only one’s who showed up.I’ve been to Elena’s house once it was a nice house and she was very friendly and down to earth. She loved butterflys and her kids so0o much. There was nothing she wouldn’t to for her kids. Right now I’m cryin’ while written this message.I had a feeling something bad was gonna happen if only i went to her house maybe she would of been alive or maybe we both would of been dead.I don’t know but i wish I could go back in time so she would of not have to die. Peter deverses to lose his life and go to HELL

  15. Baltimore Family said,

    January 10, 2008 at 6:03 pm

    If the family wanted her to have there information she would contact her themself. Please do not give out any information about the children, it is unsafe. You do not know who this person is or even if they are telling the truth. If they are truely family they would have this information. Or maybe they are not welcomed.

  16. FIRST OF ALL KRISTEN said,

    January 10, 2008 at 9:56 pm

    first of all kristan its not julien its julian

  17. FIRST OF ALL KRISTEN said,

    January 10, 2008 at 9:56 pm

    i mean kristen lolzz

  18. Baltimore Family said,

    January 11, 2008 at 11:22 pm

    Kimberly and Mariah (however you spell your names) DO NOT USE THIS SITE FOR YOUR ENTERTAINMENT THIS IS SERIOUS AND REAL LIFE ISSUES THAT AT YOUR AGE YOU WILL HOPEFULLY NEVER UNDERSTAND.

  19. Kristen Dinisi said,

    January 12, 2008 at 4:36 am

    I am not looking to hurt anyone. I just want Julian,Jordan,and Jacob to know that they are alway’s thought of and loved. If they ever wanted a relationship I would love to part of their lives. This was the only site I found to write something. I never thought something so tragic could have ever happened. I wished we would have kept in touch. Life changes and people change. And if you think I wanted to hurt anyone your wrong. I also DO NOT talk to my brother either (Antony). I know Mr and Mrs Marmo never cared for my brother. And I can’t blame them. He never was truly responsable for his 3 boy’s. You are right not to give personal info out on the boy’s. If you feel unsafe I would give someone my own info and let Mr. and Mrs. Marmo make that decision for the boy’s. I just want then to know I would love to be part of their lives that is all. Thank you to the family member who reached out to me even if I don’t ever get a chanceto see Julian,Jordan and Jacob Please let them know I would love to be part of their lives. My E-mail is posted.

  20. Not posting it said,

    January 18, 2008 at 5:18 am

    ………………………………….

  21. geefer said,

    March 7, 2008 at 11:06 am

    Kristen, i could tell jullian, jordan, and jacob what you ask. they are my next door neighbors and my friends.they may not listen but still its worth a shot. i know that their little sister would listen but she is too young.

  22. March 7, 2008 at 3:25 pm

    Geefer, when it comes to minor children, questions should be addressed to the guardians of the children, especially in cases such as this.

  23. March 12, 2008 at 7:12 pm

    jennifer s. please do not post anything about things you have no idea about this is a very serious situation and your interference could make things very painfull for all parties involved you are putting people in danger this was a horrible thing that has happened and you are too young to be on such a site this family has been thru enough don’t make it worse if this continues i will contact legal advice

  24. silent valentina said,

    December 6, 2010 at 12:06 am

    here is a piece of information only two living people know about. pete heiberger should have been arrested and put in jail for first degree murder many years ago.

    while he was a cop up in harlem, someone had filed a ccrb complaint against him. i am guessing he had already had enough complaints against him and did not want anymore negative attention drawn to himself. so, the night before the hearing, he and another cop, while they were both off duty, went to the home of the complainant. pete asked the other cop to wait outside. pete then went inside the home of the complainant and blew the guy away with a throw-away, and obviously the case was never solved. it was pre-meditated murder because pete knew exactly what he was doing beforehand, and he went to the victim’s house with the intention of killing him

    i (stupidly and blindly) have since engaged in a lengthy and involved intimate friendship with the other cop involved in this scenario, who has since retired from the nypd, and he told me the story after pete killed elena and them himself in 2006. he told me he distanced himself from pete after that, but i always wondered how and why it was he did not take police action against someone whom he knew to have committed murder in the first degree, yet this individual had no problem otherwise in arresting others who had committed lesser crimes?

    the individual in question may not have known about pete’s intentions before the fact, but he certainly knew about the incident which occurred afterwards. his failure to do the right thing by the nypd and by society, as well as himself and his conscience, along with his failure to uphold the oath he was sworn to uphold when he became an officer of the law with the new york city police department cost an innocent woman her life, has left four children without their mother, and has left them scarred for the rest of their lives

    1. yes, the nypd knows about his incident, but there is nothing they can do because both parties involved are deceased, and the third party had no first-hand knowledge of the incident before it was to occur;

    2. yes, i am now away from this individual, but not before he managed to ruin me and destroy my life

    i think about elena all of the time, even though i obviously have never met her. i think that she could easily be alive today if only one person had chosen to do the right thing, instead of turning a blind eye to justice and doing the easy thing, thinking he was protecting “one of his own”. i think about her especially this time of year when it is cold and the trees have no leaves, and the bushes are dead and the flowers have died and the birds have all flown south and the animals have all gone into hiding to stay warm, and how she is all alone in her casket, freezing

  25. silent valentina said,

    December 6, 2010 at 12:11 am

    pete heiberger was never a cop – he was a cold, ruthless and calculating criminal. he caused serious and permanent damage to a fellow police officer by means of “friendly fire,” forcing him to retire. the other police officer pete mistook for a criminal in a hospital stairwell and shot him. the cop was only saved by his vest

    how he ever made it to the twenty year mark and was allowed to retired with his full pension intact is beyond my comprehension

    after pete murdered elena and then himself, the individual i make reference to in my original post was the only member of the nypd to attend the funeral – the only one. that should tell you something

    some day he needs to visit elena’s grave and apologize to her. i would say he then needs to visit the marmo’s up in monroe county to apologize to them and their grandchildren, but victor marmo just may kill him

  26. silent valentina said,

    December 8, 2010 at 1:25 pm

    and you people need to calm down because peter DID have a sister who lived out on long island, and his sister attended his wake. i believe his family had distanced themselves from him over the years because of his violent mannerisms, but i will venture to guess that those violent mannerisms stemmed from his parental upbringing. it is also of no coincidence that there was a vast age difference between peter and elena


