He stopped it

Ricky Bingham, 49, and his wife Kay Bingham, 55, were at home with her son Benjamin Winchester, 25, on Sunday.

And according to Ricky Bingham, an argument developed between Kay Bingham and her son. According to police statements “He stated that his wife and his stepson were arguing, and he wanted them to stop,” “Simply that.”  So he shot them. Both. Multiple times.

Benjamin Winchester, with bullet wounds to his upper and lower body was able to escape and ran to a neighbors where 911 was called.

When police arrived Bingham surrendered himself to their custody without incident. Police say they recovered two guns, one of which was found on Bingham’s person. Kay Bingham was pronounced dead and Benjamin Winchester was admitted to the hospital in stable condition.

Police say they do not have any record of previous calls at the home. Neighbors have said the family was quiet. Police are still investigating.

indystar.com           theindychannel.com         wthr.com 

wishtv.com                                                                           indystar.com 

Somehow I feel like there is more to this

5 Comments

  1. Cathy said,

    December 5, 2006 at 11:00 am

    I hope if more of this story is learned you will post it. I tried looking around for more info but I can’t find any. I use to know a woman by this same name. She was just about my age and Im 54, and she had a son about this young mans age, but I can’t remember his name. She also had another son who lived and worked in Indy. Thats alot of coincidences.

  2. December 5, 2006 at 1:56 pm

    I just checked and there isn’t much new since I wrote the post. The only new thing is there seems to be a dispute with the coroner’s office, which may delay the autopsy and that could pose a problem with filing the charges.

  3. Soobs said,

    December 6, 2006 at 2:50 am

    More to the story? Undoubtedly. Did they say how long the couple was married? I’m wondering if the arguing between mother and son, just got too much. Hardly a reason to “just shoot them”, though.

  4. Whitney said,

    December 19, 2006 at 6:38 pm

    I know the family personally. He is my dad’s best friend. I have known Rick since i was born and he has always been such a good guy i love him to death this came as a complete shock to me when i heard this i would never have imagined that he would EVER do anything like that i’m not taking up for him because what he did was wrong no doubt but i do believe that one person can only take so much and he was pushed over the edge but that still doesn’t give him the right but i’m hoping the best for him and his family and Kay’s family

  5. Whitney said,

    December 19, 2006 at 6:41 pm

    I don’t know if my last one posted so i’m doing this again…I have known Rick since the day i was born he is my dad’s best friend and he has always been a good guy i’m not trying to take up for him and make excuses for him because it still doesn’t give him the right to take the life of another but i believe that one person can only take so much and he was pushed over the edge and he just snapped i would never in my life imagine that he would have done such a thing but like i said he still had no right to do what he did but i love you rick and i’m hoping the best for him and his family and kay’s family also


