The Stalking

Early in their 6 year relationship Linda Erlichman, 50,  and Craig Saboski, 48, may have noted they had some similiarities in their backgrounds. Both had been married previously. Both came from law enforcement families. But there the similarities seem to end.

Linda Erlichman was the oldest of 5 children in her family. The 4 younger ones were all brothers and as the oldest she helped to care for them. She then went on to marry, and after the death of her husband raised their two children alone. At times she worked more than one job to provide for her family. She was currently working as a receptionist in a plumbing supply business.

Saboski had worked as a police officer from 1982 to 1986. He had some problems there when he was accused of shooting and critically wounding a man in a fight in 1983. A later court found him guilty of violating the man’s civil rights.  It is unknown why he left the department. After leaving the department Saboski reportedly had problems with unemployment. And he was reportedly still on probation for violating a protection order placed on him by his ex-wife in 2003.

The relationship reportedly ended in the spring. Possibly related to the fact that Saboski couldn’t hold a job among other reasons. At that point it is alleged that Craig Saboski began stalking Linda Erlichman.  

Linda Erlichman filed for a restraining order and it is alleged that Saboski broke the order in September. He was arrested for it, and was reportedly being prosecuted. After that things got quiet as it was working it’s way through the legal system.

Wednesday Linda Erlichman went to work as usual. Her supervisor says that he saw Saboski walk in, walk by him and then walk out of his line of vision. “He didn’t even look at my office. He was just looking straight at her.” Erlichman was reportedly at her desk, 5 feet from the exit when she saw him. Reportedly there was no conversation. “It happened so fast,” 5 rapid shots, then a brief silence and 1-2 more shots.

Other employees called 911 and barricaded themselves in an office.

Linda Erlichman was found near the exit apparently trying to flee, with 3 shots to her head, back and torso. Saboski was found nearby, it is thought he had turned the gun on himself.

nydailynews.com          newsday.com           wcbstv.com

nypost.com                                                   newsday.com

19 Comments

  1. Jules said,

    January 3, 2007 at 1:25 pm

    He did not have problems with unemployment. He was injured on a subsequent job, and won his disabilty case. He was unable to work due to a chronic back injury. Linda had friends in high places who wanted to make sure that any punishment would far outweight any ‘crimes committed’. My understanding was that Craig initiated ‘family’ problems for Linda after their breakup, and it has been confirmed by more than one person that she told him he would pay for ‘f***ing with her. Did he stalk her? No one knows for sure. I only heard his side. But all information I have been able to confirm is that he made threats against her, her best friend, and best friends husband. Not threats of physical violence, but of exposure for some questionable ‘party games’. What he did was so wrong, but he was deeply depressed, the medication prescribed seems to intensify the negative thoughts, and he felt he was in a corner with only one way out. When a person gets into that state of dispare, rational thought is not possible. I cannot judge his whole life by those last minutes. I do believe that they pushed each other, and the outcome was terrible.

  2. A FRIEND OF LINDA'S said,

    January 30, 2007 at 2:33 am

    HE WAS UNABLE TO WORK BECAUSE OF BACK INJURY… HOW WELL DID YOU KNOW CRAIG? FISHING ALL DAY. SNOW MOBILING, ALL THE LIFTING HE DID, AXING FIRE WOOD. A MAN WITH A BAD BACK CAN DO ALL THIS? SEEMED HE WAS ABLE TO WORK AFTER THE BREAK UP , DRIVING FOR A LIMO SERVICE..

    DID HE STALK HER, YES HE DID AND I KNOW THAT FOR A FACT. IN THE FIRST MONTH AFTER BREAK UP OVER 100 TEL CALLS, HANGUPS, CALLS MADE FORM PUBLIC TELEPHONES, SITTING AT THE CORNER WAITING FOR HER TO COME HOME FROM WORK,HE WAS WARNED NUMEROUS TIMES BY HIS PROBATION OFFICER AND OTHERS TO LEAVE LINDA ALONE..HE JSUT WOULDN’T STOP !!! MEDICATION.. HOW ABOUT THE DRINKIING!!! IT WAS OUT OF CONTROL ANOTHER REASON FOR HTE BREAKUP, I KNEW CRAIG FOR 3 YRS AND THE PAST YEAR HE HAD CHANGED.. FUNNY HOW IT ALL COMES OUT THAT LINDA WAS NOT THE ONLY WOMAN HE STALKED. FOUND OUT HE DID WHEN HE WAS YOUNG WHEN HE LIVED IN NHP. CRAIG COULDN’T TAKE REJECTION.. HE WAS A COWARD.. HE SHOULD HAVE JUST SHOT HIMSELF !
    TODAY IS 2 MONTHS TO THE DAY WE LOST LINDA AND WE ALL CRY EVERYDAY… NO ONE DESERVED TO BE KILLED LIKE THAT. THINK OF HER FACE WHEN SHE SAW THAT GUN.. SHE KNEW SHE WAS DEAD. AFTER ALL CRAIG WAS A HUNTER.. AND THINK O HER GIRLS EVERY NIGHT AS YOU LIE DOWN AND GO TO SLEEP.. NONE OF US SLEEP MUCH ANYMORE

  3. xxxxxxxx said,

    March 21, 2007 at 7:32 pm

    First of all, I was there a few times when this “man” stalked this wonderful woman. So some of us do know for sure, Jules. You can try and justify this, and I am absolutely one to take into consideration a person’s past and emotional stability as for why one commits crimes, but this is no excuse! You cannot justify this! Linda didn’t push people who didn’t push her first – this man instigated all of this. She didn’t want him to have a terrible life, she just wanted him out of hers, and it was something he couldn’t do. He may have been depressed, but he should’ve saved all of those bullets for himself. And a chronic back injury, huh? I wouldn’t call exagerating your injury for painkillers a valid disability. I just think it’s disgusting that this crime is trying to be justified. This was a sick man with no excuses for his actions.

  4. Ronald Falcohen said,

    March 24, 2007 at 12:48 am

    A person in a state to commit suicide has no reason nor justification. As a person who is wheelchaired bound, with no hope to walk again. Thats the way it is. We don’t make the rules. Looking for an answer for mental illness? Good luck. Sigmund Freud could not find an answer to this..

  5. A friend of Linda's said,

    April 21, 2007 at 1:34 pm

    Jules, If you were a friend of his, then you would know what a perpetual LIAR he was.He thought the law was above him, What he did, was not because he was depressed . It was planned……….and we all know that now. He had so many chances to go on with his life, but he was obsessed and wouldn’t move on. Some of us, tried to help him thru the break up , but it fell on deaf ears. he did what ever he wanted to do, even after being warned.The last thing Linda wanted was to have him arrested. All she wanted was for the both of them to move on and for him to leave her alone..so now everyone who loves Linda has to visit her at the cemetery. How fair is this? Jules, do you cry yourself to sleep everynight for “him” as we all do for Linda?
    He fooled you Jules, he fooled you like he fooled all of us..

  6. A friend of Linda's said,

    April 21, 2007 at 1:40 pm

    Ronald, just to clarify it.. He did not have a mental illness, he knew exactly what he was doing, believe me. It’s called , if I can’t have her no one can and payback for those who loved Linda and disowned him..

  7. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx said,

    April 24, 2007 at 5:48 pm

    I knew Craig along time ago (edited per HSH)
    My deepest sympathy to Linda’s family and friends.

  8. A FRIEND OF LINDA'S said,

    April 26, 2007 at 3:15 pm

    XXXXXXXXXX THANK YOU FOR WHAT YOU HAVE SAID, WE MISS LINDA SO MUCH… THANK YOU FOR YOUR SYMPATHY, I WILL PASS IT ON TO HER FAMILY AND FRIENDS. XXXXXXX (edited per HSH) I AM SURE YOU STILL REMEMBER AS YOU SAID THIS FRIGHTENING EXPERIENCE, I WAS THERE FIRST HAND, WHEN HE, CANNOT EVEN SAY HIS NAME , STALKED LINDA.. XXX (edited per HSH) I WOULD LOVE TO GET IN TOUCH WITH YOU.VIA EMAIL, IF YOU DON’T MIND , THE ONLY WAY I THINK WE COULD TOUCH BASE IS IF YOU WENT TO THIS LINK http://www.legacy.com/Newsday/GB/GuestbookView.aspx?PersonId=20103129 AND SIGNED IT AS XXXXXX THEN I COULD EMAIL YOU .
    XXXX (edited per HSH) IT MUST HAVE BEEN HARD FOR YOU TO MOVE AWAY FROM YOUR FAMILY AND FRIENDS.. THANKS AGAIN FOR YOUR COMMENT

  9. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx said,

    April 28, 2007 at 7:10 pm

    I would like to hear from you – If there is a way you can send me your email address we can be in touch – no more on here – I don’t want to open old wounds – I am sure you understand – XXXXXXXXXXXX

  10. Ronald Falcone I said,

    November 13, 2007 at 3:30 am

    I noticed someone else used my name to post here. I lost my draft card years ago and people have used my name before. No matter.

    It has been almost a year now and I still can’t believe this happened. There isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t think about this terrible event. My heart and prayers go out to everyone touched by this tragedy.

    Lessons learned? Under similar circumstances don’t count on talking a person down, the suicide hotline, or other people. Instead help the police get the person into custody immediately.

  11. November 13, 2007 at 8:35 am

    Well at least they spelled it wrong. You make some very good points Ronald Falcone.

  12. Kirby Spinney said,

    November 13, 2008 at 9:50 pm

    I think its extremely wrong to have deleted the other comments that were on this page. As Craig’s “step daughter” (in quotes only because he never married my mother) I look back on this site every once in a while to refelect on how narrow minded people can be, and how the few people who posted nice things on here about Beuf were a huge part in helping me get over his death.
    To delete those comments (and I know they were here, this page has been in my favorites for almost two years now) is just another example of how f**cking narrow minded you idiots are. I think its bullsh*t that you would delete the comments simply because YOU think he’s a monster. You doing that biased this whole page. I cant f**cking believe someone would do that.
    Despite whether you liked him or not I loved him. As a father, as a friend, and simply as a man. He was amazing although serverely depressed. And for those who think that’s not an excuse, you can go f*ck yourselves because when you get to the point he did, it hurts every day just to be alive.

    “I’m not going to jail for something I didnt do” –and he didnt.

  13. Kirby Spinney said,

    November 13, 2008 at 9:51 pm

    and if you feel like complaining or settling this with me, feel free
    kirbyyyy@tmail.com

  14. December 27, 2008 at 11:04 pm

    I cannot believe your words Kirby – a stalked woman trying to get on with her life gets hunted down by a mentally ill stalker – I know instead of going to jail he went straight to hell. I was stalked so i know the feeling so really save the poor Craig routine. Facts are facts – he stalked he murdered – there is no excuse for what he did NONE

  15. Joanne said,

    December 28, 2008 at 1:17 pm

    ?????????

  16. A friend of Linda's said,

    September 17, 2009 at 5:22 pm

    Kirby… Step daughter ? I knew Him. Never ever mentioned your name. Sick.. yeah he was a sick bastard alright. Do you think of him everyday of your life? I think of Linda every day. Do you cry for him ? that you miss him so much?, I cry for Linda all the time..Do you think of her family and the loss they feel. A mother who will never be there for her 2 daughters !. Svve the sympathy for him to your self. At least there is hope for his 2 boys to grow up normal with out him in their lives.

  17. Greg said,

    February 26, 2010 at 9:07 pm

    This was one of my mothers earlier boyfriends, before I was even born. Elizabeth. She said Craig would stalk her when she went to go out with friends. My mother claimed that he was over protective. Just think. If my mother and him were to get married, I would have lost my mother, and my father. My mother was distraught over this whole situation. There’s nobody to blame but himself.

    I’m sorry for Linda and her family. I give my condolences.

  18. A friend of Linda's said said,

    July 29, 2010 at 3:11 am

    Unbelievable how this site still is going on.. Linda’s death will nevr leave us.
    Greg.. thank you for what you said and for your condolences.. Your mom is a lucky woman …This is proof again of what we have found out that STALKING was part of his nature. To this day, I still wish he would have just taken that gun to himself…Our hearts still ache for Linda.. Our lives will never be the same

  19. always remembered said,

    July 29, 2010 at 3:17 am

    Linda forever in our hearts


