After the breakup

Dawn Katzman, 43, and her boyfriend Andrzej Bartman had been together at least since 2002, when they purchased a home together. However, the relationship had recently ended and Dawn Katzman was living in the home alone. The home was up for sale.

Allegedly on Sat. morning at 10:30 am police responded to the address as a result of a 911 call reporting a homicide. Police had to force their way in, and once they entered they found Dawn Katzman in the basement of the home, dead from multiple stab wounds.

Police then received another 911 call, and as a result they found Andrzej Bartman in the neighborhood. Police believe that Bartman stabbed Katzman then fled the home to another home in the neighborhood. Police arrested him as he stepped outside of the home.

Investigators believe that Dawn Katzman was killed sometime between 10:30 am and the 10:52 am phone call to 911.

 Andrzej Bartman has been  charged with murder and possession of a weapon.

Police say there were no restraining orders between the couple and none had been sought.

nj.com                                            c-n.com        

pressofatlanticcity.com                                              c-n.com

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Family has said that Andrzej Bartman went to his sister’s and told her what he had done, then went out to turn himself in to police.

Dawn Katzman had reportedly gone to the home on Saturday to pack up her things.

 nj.com

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Andrejz Bartman has been indicted in the murder. He has also been charged with weapons offenses and hindering prosecution. He has pleaded not guilty.

app.com

23 Comments

  1. Timothy Katzman said,

    November 29, 2006 at 12:21 am

    Katzman was not charged, Bartman was((Katzman has been charged with murder and possession of a weapon.))

  2. November 29, 2006 at 2:28 am

    I wish to apoligize to the family of Dawn Katzman. That was my error and I have corrected it.

  3. norm steiner said,

    December 5, 2006 at 7:18 pm

    it’s ok, thank you for posting her story on the page.

    her brother,
    norm.

  4. Dan said,

    January 18, 2007 at 8:03 pm

    I was her son, and this was just a tragic event that should have never taken place

  5. January 18, 2007 at 9:38 pm

    Dan, words cannot express how sorry I am for your loss. Telling you that you have your memories of her is too hollow when you cannot make new ones. You are right, this should never have happened to your mother. Or to anyone.

  6. Allison said,

    March 10, 2007 at 6:43 pm

    You are still her son, Dan.
    Never forget it!
    love you
    Auntie

  7. NORMAN STEINER/DAD said,

    March 16, 2007 at 9:01 pm

    DEAR DAWN,
    PLEASE KNOW WE ALL MISS YOU VERY MUCH. WE SHALL HONOR YOUR
    MEMORY. SEE YOU IN HEAVEN.
    LOVE YOU,

    ONE OF GOD’S MESSENGERS,
    DAD

  8. Amylulu said,

    March 16, 2007 at 9:21 pm

    You know, I didn’t even know this woman and I am distraught and confused about her death. Why, why, why??? I can’t even begin to imagine myself in her family’s and friend’s shoes–the people who do know her and love her.
    You will be in my family’s prayers tonight and for a long time!

    God bless,
    Amy

  9. NORMAN STEINER/DAD said,

    March 17, 2007 at 9:54 pm

    DEAR AMY,
    THANK YOU,FOR YOUR KIND WORDS FOR DAWN. NON OF US, CAN
    UNDERSTAND WHY MY DAUGHTER, DAWN, WAS SO VICIOUSLY MURDERED.
    THERE MUST BE A REASON, WE ARE NOT AWARE OF. HER BOY FRIEND
    MAY HAVE HAD A VIOLENT PAST?

    NORM

  10. Allison said,

    March 23, 2007 at 12:28 am

    Thank you Amy for your prayers.
    I truly believe that is the only thing which has made it possible for us to face each day. Dawn loved family: her children(‘s), her family of her birth, of her marriage, all extended, people & friends– she connected us all.
    Thank you for your prayers.
    her sister,
    Allison

  11. Sandy said,

    September 28, 2007 at 6:49 pm

    Thank you so much Amy for what you have said. I know you didn’t even know her or understand as none of us do either. Loosing my mother to something like this is just disgustingly painful. I appriaciate your kind words and thoughts.
    Dawn’s youngest Daughter,
    Sandy

  12. A Friend said,

    November 14, 2007 at 1:58 am

    This is terrible. I hope the murderer rots in prison for this.

  13. MOM said,

    November 29, 2007 at 1:30 am

    I am Dawn’s mother. I just happened upon this blog site and would like to say that the loss of my beloved daughter is sometimes almost more than I can bare. She was my dearest and closest friend and I miss her every minute of every day. My memories of her are dear to my heart and I will hold her there forever. We have recently passed through the first anniversary of her death. It was painful but we must endure to the see this to the end when her murderer is punished for his despicable crime.

  14. November 29, 2007 at 4:07 am

    Mom, they say that God never gives us more than we can bear, but sometimes it makes you wonder doesn’t it? I know you have heard it way too much, and I know that it doesn’t help. But my sympathies are with you and your family. A long time ago I lost a loved one at a young age. And at times the only way I could go on is to tell myself that I could be sure that he would never have to suffer the painful loss of a loved one, he would never suffer any debilitating illness and he would not suffer any more pain. It didn’t bring my brother back, but somehow it helped me get through the worst of it.
    The first year is always the hardest. And you will never forget. But now that the first year is over, it gets a little easier to live with or I guess you could say you learn to live with it.
    My prayers are with you and your family.

  15. MOM said,

    November 30, 2007 at 4:00 am

    It always helps to know that people are thinking of us and praying for us.
    To share our loss with others who have lost loved ones always makes the burden easier to bare. Dawn left behind four children and two grandchildren. She never saw her grandchildren celebrate their first birthdays or first Xmas. We will keep her alive for them as best we can with all our family pictures and wondeful memories and stories. May your holidays be blessed with peace and love.

  16. Her Nephew said,

    December 20, 2007 at 2:36 pm

    I’m one of her nephews, and I just happened to stumble upon this site and see the other posts by my family, and also those that added their kind words without ever having met Dawn.
    She was a great person, and I know her memory will live forever in our hearts. Her kindness and loving ways will always be a part of us.
    Home Sweet Home, thank you for your kind replies.
    May God bless you.

  17. Allison said,

    October 25, 2008 at 4:20 am

    Today the lieing coward was sentenced to 25 years in prison. May he rot there.

    http://www.nj.com/news/index.ssf/2008/10/amanda_brownthe_starledgerandr.html

    http://www.mycentraljersey.com/article/20081024/NEWS/81024041/-1/faith

  18. Diana (eldest daughter) said,

    October 25, 2008 at 5:01 pm

    I wanted you to know that the sentencing for Andy was yesterday and he recieved 25yrs. Thank you all for you kind words and thoughts.

    ❤ Diana

  19. October 26, 2008 at 3:49 am

    After the trial is it supposed to be over. But it’s never really over, now you go forward with making a new reality. I hope you all are doing well and have been able to take the steps to go forward.

  20. Tom said,

    October 29, 2008 at 12:03 am

    I knew Dawn through my ex wife whom she once worked with. Everytime I have seen her she always seem happy with a smile or laugh on her face. I know all her kids and met her Mom a few times. My heart goes out to the family. Im still sadden by this terrible loss of life. But I will always have good memories of Dawn. She was there when my ex and I brought home our first born child. She followed us home from the hospital, and stay to help us. I will never forget that and all the volleyball games at her house. She is with God now, I can still picture her with that smile on her face.

  21. Cornelia said,

    September 23, 2010 at 4:31 pm

    Dear Family and Friends of Dawn,
    It was sitting in traffic on a road through Hillsborough where I saw a memorial on the back of a vehicle in front of me. Upon reviewing the on-line memorial posts and photos, and never meeting Dawn, one knows how special and important this person was to many. I am sorry there is such cruelty, anger, selfishness, and hate in this world.
    Praying each of you, when waking to face each morning, for the Spirit of strength, peace, love, joy, and a confidence you will be in the presence of your precious Dawn again. There will be no tears, only gladness. God blessings to each of you.

  22. Sandy said,

    October 12, 2010 at 6:00 pm

    Cornelia,
    Thank you so much for your kind words. She was a really great mother and became a very great friend as i got older. Not to mention a new Grandmother for a short couple months. I miss her very much. Most the time you just have to lock that part out of your mind to get through the day, even after almost 4 years it’s still very shocking to think something like this can happen to your family. Thanks again for your comment that meant a lot. ❤ Dawn's youngest daughter – Sandy

  23. Cornelia said,

    October 14, 2010 at 5:56 pm

    Sandy,
    Your entire family and friends have been robbed of the precious gift of Dawn, your Mom. Dawn’s grandchildren will know her by what you tell them, the funny and silly moments, and the dear Mother she was. There is a part of her in each of you; embrace that.
    How wonderful for you and your Mom to become friends when you were an adult? That is special as many parents do not have that with their adult children.
    I lost a friend a few years ago to a brutal murder by her boyfriend’s son and those he hung with. My friend was filled with kindness, goodness, joy, and selflessness. She always had a smile that was contagious. Just a beautiful person…as you can imagine an Angel on earth.
    Couldn’t understand or make sense of such brutality and evil happening to someone so dear and loving…and trusting.
    After many tears and crying out did I receive a gift that I have to share.
    The last face my friend saw and arms she felt on earth were God Himself. Never will He leave us or foresake us. We think the last face seen is EVIL itself; but the Heavens opened, the Light was bright, the warmth eternal, and God lovingly embraced my friend….and your Mom.
    I admire you and your family, for your courage, will, determination, and love.
    Continuing to pray for peace, comfort, strength, joy, laughter, love, and His blessings.
    Cornelia
    ps…Sandy, I wish I could take the pain away…..truly. The only peace I have found is from reading God’s Word, the Bible and seeking and knowing Him. Jesus is the Great Comforter. Take good care.


