News is just breaking

Whenever a news story is being written about while it is still happening, or immediately after it happens, many times the whole story is not known. I think that has happened in this case. Usually though the main story will be correct.

Angela Dees, 38, had recently broken with her ex-boyfriend (some reports say ex-husband) Christopher Allen, 35. And even though the relationship had broken off, relatives say there was no indication of what was to come.

Angela Dees and her 15 year old son had been away from their home, returning at 6 am. When they arrived they found the ex, Christopher Allen in the home. Reportedly he had broken in.

Allegedly when the two confronted each other, Allen was holding a gun. Allen ordered the son to leave the home, but he refused. He wasn’t leaving without his mother. Allen allegedly shot him in the foot.

As the son made his way out of the home, he reportedly heard Allen threaten that everybody was going to die. He ran to the neighbors and police were called. And ambulance was called for the teen and he was transferred to the hospital. He is expected to recover from the foot injury.

As police were arriving, they heard gunshots and called in the SWAT team. After firing tear gas into the home, the SWAT team entered the home around 9:30 am. They found both Angela Dees and Christopher Allen shot in the head.

Both were transferred to the hospital with Angela Dees in extremely critical condition. Angela Dees was later pronounced dead at the hospital. Allen is reportedly in critical condition and reportedly was taken to surgery.

Allen is expected to survive. He has been arrested and will face murder charges.

wthr.com                                                               wishtv.com  

Too many times there is little to no indication of the violence to follow. When I hear of a breakup, I usually advise people to use extreme caution until they know for sure how the other person is going to react. Though they may know the other person, though they may think they know how the person will react. Usually they do not have any experience with how they will react in a breakup, and reactions can vary at different times in their lives.

As always my thoughts go to the ones left behind or witnesses to the events. This time a 15 year old son. Sons will argue with their mothers. But they are also protective of them with others. Fifteen is that age where they are caught, between being a child and being a man.

He was faced with a gun and ordered to leave. He stood up for his mother, and refused. He did everything he could to save her. But after being shot, he had to leave. Few 15 year olds could stand up to an armed man like that. He has showed courage beyond his years.

Teens also feel a lot of guilt after times like this. Maybe that they should “be a man”, and wrestle the gun away like they show on TV. But this is reality, not TV. The only chance his mother had was for him to go get help. And he took that chance, he made the decision to leave and get help, and I admire him most for that. Because had he stayed likely he would have been killed also, and none of them would have had any chance.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

It’s Rare

Friends of Angela Dees said they knew Angela was in having trouble. She filed for and received a protective  order  Nov. 2. However, the restraining order was never served on Allen. Allegedly she did not list an address for him, and the officials did not know where to serve it.

In the application for the order she reportedly wrote “I woke up from a deep sleep with him questioning me about numbers in my cell phone. He punched me in my mouth with his fist…beating me in my back, sides and stomach with heavy force. He would not let me leave.” She said that happened on Oct. 26 th.

She had also asked that his weapon be taken from him. However the judge said they could not remove his weapon until after a hearing. That hearing of course will be canceled. It was scheduled for the day after Thanksgiving. And probably would have been canceled anyway as they had no way to serve him.

According to the judge who granted the order, they sometimes have an address in court records, but sometimes it is old.

And the judge had other things to say referring to protective order cases that end in violence:  “It’s rare. I’ve had maybe two others in the four years I’ve been here,” “Out of the 4,000 a year that are filed, 75 percent of those work right off the bat.”

wthr.com                                             fortwayne.com     

It’s rare for it to end in violence? He has “only” had two end in violence in 4 years. Only? And if 75 percent of 4,000 worked right off the bat, what happened to the other 1,000 cases? (4,000 x .25=  1,000)

And to go to court and get a protective order at the beginning of the month, and be told to come back toward the end of the month (if they live that long) and they will see about removing his gun?                      

If it is so rare, then why do so many men and women (and some children) end up dead due to domestic violence? Statistics are different for men and women. But women are more likely to die from domestic violence than any other crime.

22 Comments

  1. D.P. said,

    November 21, 2006 at 12:42 am

    For something so “rare”, you sure have a lot of material to write about here on this blog, Sweet home.

  2. November 21, 2006 at 12:53 am

    I thought the same thing. Let’s see just how ‘rare’ it is. I am adding a new category- Protective/Restraining Order.

  3. someone who knows said,

    December 16, 2008 at 1:17 pm

    HE WAS NOT HER HUSBAND. IF THE JUDGE WOULD HAVE LISTENED, SHE WOULDN’T BE DEAD! RARE MY FOOT….NOW SHE’S GONE AND ALL THE COURTS HAVE TO SAY AFTER IGNORING HER REQUEST IS “IT’S RARE”? YEAH THAT REALLY HELPS….NO ONE BUT THEMSELVES

  4. AustinTexas said,

    February 20, 2009 at 7:07 pm

    If anyone knows how to get in touch with the family. Please have one of them contact/email me.

  5. Indy said,

    June 10, 2009 at 7:38 pm

    Pray for that family. This still hurts my heart to do this day. Angela was so beautiful and full of life. Her kids were her world and I’m so sure she was their’s. This is such sad sad tragedy but it’s even worst that he did not die too. His family, children, and friends still get to hear his voice or see him. That’s really sad. You take someone’s life but you still get to keep yours. Please pray for her children.

  6. Linda Wright said,

    June 18, 2009 at 3:02 pm

    Hi, I’m Angela’s Aunt how can I help you?

  7. Paula said,

    March 28, 2010 at 2:02 pm

    Looking for brother of Angela( who had two other sisters) and was told Angela was dead. Not sure if this is the correct Dees. Brother of Angela was my son’s childhood friend. E-mail me do not want to get too personal on this blog

  8. Linda Wright said,

    April 1, 2010 at 1:33 am

    Paula, you can Email me at the above address. I believe you are talking about my nephew Raymone or Brother as we call him.

  9. S. Thomas said,

    April 8, 2010 at 6:19 pm

    This is Angela’s cousin. I just learned about this site and thought I would provide everyone with an update on what’s going on. I think its important for people to know that domestic violence is not being taken as seriously as it should be, certainly not in Indianapolis. As of April, 2010, Christopher has yet to stand trial for killing Angela and shooting her son. My family is still waiting for justice to be served. Almost 4-years have passed and yet for us…..it might as well have been yesterday.

  10. Wish I would have done more said,

    September 23, 2010 at 10:34 am

    I am sorry for your lost and have been following this story, I dated Chris in the early 90’s and saw the stalking side of him as Anglea did, alot of the incidents of him standing over Angela’s bed and coming into the house sounded just like what hedid to me he also strangled me and beat the hell out of me so bad that I was unrecognizable, he told me he knew how to get in and out of my home undected and staged my residence so that it looked like a break in after he beat the hell out of me. He told me I better not tell and I lived in fear of him for a long time,even though after that incident, I left him the hell alone.I wish I would have done something then, and Angela would still be alive.

  11. S. Thomas said,

    September 23, 2010 at 7:46 pm

    Dear: Wish I woulda done more………….It’s not over yet. We are STILL waiting for Chris to go to trial for Angela’s murder. As of today, 9/23/10, he is in a psychiatric facility “recovering” from his self inflicted injuries. Hopefully in the near future we will go to trial and it would be extremely helpful to have someone give credence to his history with women. I ‘m glad you were blessed enough to get away, but would you be willing to talk to authorities about your experience? I know it probably brings up bad memories you would rather forget, but this monster needs to be punished. Our greatest fear is that after 4 years (and counting) of waiting for justice, he wlill receive a slap on the wrist for killing a mother, a daughter, a sister and a friend. You can reply via this blog.

  12. Wish I would have done more said,

    September 27, 2010 at 9:20 pm

    I will be willing to talk to the authorities or who ever I need to assist in his being convicted, I still remember the details as if was yesterday.

  13. B said,

    October 19, 2010 at 4:40 pm

    Is this in regards to Chris D. Allen D.O.B. 12/16/71 or another Chris? It is very important to me to find this out if you would please email me. Justice will be served, prayers go out to Angela’s friends and family.

  14. B said,

    October 19, 2010 at 4:41 pm

    or reply to this post, I will check back. Has there been a trial yet?

  15. S said,

    October 19, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    Yes….dob of 12/16/71 among others. Most likely the same person. No trial yet. It will be 4 years come this November 17th. Our family is still waiting for justice.

  16. B said,

    October 19, 2010 at 7:01 pm

    Thank you S. What did you mean when you said “among others?” Thanks for your quick reply.

  17. S said,

    October 19, 2010 at 8:25 pm

    A couple of different dates.

  18. O said,

    October 30, 2010 at 9:42 pm

    I really miss my good friend/cousin/big sis. Me and Lil Dees (that was my nickname for Angela and she called me O) was going through the same sh*t at the same time with our ex-boyfriends. Chris was stalking me at my house and at work asking questions about Angela’s where-about. Also calling and playing on my phone anonymous. If anyone can tell me when this son of a b*tch goes to court, I’m willing to testify against him. I have a lot to say about the weeks leading up to Angela’s death and his behavior. This monster needs the death penalty and I wished he had of died instead of Lil Dees. My prayers are with her three children, mother, sisters and brother as well as the rest of our family.

  19. S said,

    November 2, 2010 at 4:14 pm

    Hey O………………It’s a sad, sad thinkg……..but no trial date yet. We are STILL waiting! keep checking back to the this site. I will post the trial dates as soon as we know something. Thanks for the support.

  20. S said,

    November 18, 2010 at 9:26 pm

    Just a quick update. Yesterday, November 17th marked the
    4-year anniversary of Angela’s death. Today, November 18th….we went to court only to be told YET AGAIN that they have postponed Chris’ competency hearing. So STILL NO TRIAL DATE….STILL NO JUSTICE……AFTER 4 YEARS!!

  21. much love said,

    April 9, 2011 at 6:46 am

    I know nothing will every replace Angie, she was SOOOO loved and admired by all. I hope that the recent verdict eases some of the pain for the family!!!! May God continue to bless her children. @Step…GOD IS GOOD!!!

  22. S. said,

    April 12, 2011 at 1:54 pm

    I don’t know how many folks are still monitoring this site, but for those that are, Christopher Allen was convicted on Friday, April 8th for the murder of Angela Dees. After nearly 5 years, he accepted a 50-year murder plea. He cannot appeal the sentence. We would have loved for him to receive more time, but the blessing here is that her children will not have the ordeal of a trial and re-living that heinous day. Since he gets credit for time served, the minimum time he will serve is 22 years. Not nearly enough, for taking the life of our loved one, but then again, forever wouldn’t have been enough. We would rather have her back.


