Young Love

They were young, Lisa M. Tyler had just turned 18 years old and Shane M. Katen would have been 19 later this month. Yes, would have been.

Reportedly a couple of weeks earlier Lisa Tyler had  moved into the home where Shane Katen lived with his family. Early Fri. morning Katen’s father came home and found the two, dead from what appears to have been a murder suicide. Police are waiting on the results from the autopsy to announce the cause of death, though it appears that they each had a single gunshot wound. Reportedly the two were found in the same room, though investigators are not saying which room it was. And reportedly the home appeared as though a struggle had occurred.

Family has described Katen as a “troubled young person,” and say he had mental health issues. They say they had attempted to obtain help for him but the resources just were not there. They say if facilities were more available, there would be fewer incidents like this. And they say “Maybe the next kid can get help.” And they are hoping that their loss will draw more attention to the problem.

pressconnects.com         wcax.com             newsday.com

At first glance, the family’s discussion may appear to be the family’s attempt to excuse the inexcusable. It isn’t.

It isn’t. This country has great resources, and there is help available for most problems from health care to animal abuse. But mental health issues are one of those problems like domestic violence- they aren’t talked about much, they are underfunded and resources are sometimes scarce. Treatment facilities and outpatient providers are often overbooked, with waiting lists. Resources are fewer, and often come at a much higher cost.

Compensation is also much less. For a country who has the Americans With Disabilities Act of 1990 which prohibits discrimination due to disabilities, take a look at insurance coverage. Most policies pay less for mental health care, and often have caps on the services.

The ironic thing about this crack in our health care system is the fact that poor access to mental health care has such a large impact. It impacts everything from employers to our prison systems. As well as families.

So I don’t believe the families discussion of the mental health issues is an attempt to excuse the inexcusable. I believe it is a family that was caught in one of the cracks in our system of resources.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Discussion on the couple’s MySpace pages. Katen’s is described as disturbing and reportedly on Lisa Tyler’s page she stated they were having a baby.

wetmtv.com

And Trench has the My Spaces at MyCrimeSpace.

11 Comments

  1. Sarah said,

    November 28, 2006 at 2:25 am

    Lisa was my best friend and im so sad that shes gone! I didnt even get to say good bye before her life was taken! I just hope that she is happier where she is! I love her so much and miss her a ton!

  2. dylan katen said,

    December 18, 2006 at 3:21 pm

    listen u dum *** shane was not this vilonet i seen lisas and shanes fights and everytime it was lisa who started it so dont tri to make her look like an angel and shane look like a devil because u didnt no him so *** u.

  3. Caitlyn said,

    February 5, 2007 at 7:01 am

    This Is Crazy i dated Shane for 6 months and HE NEVER got violent with me he was my best friend so You need to stop saaying this was all hmm I KNOW HE WOULD NEVER DO THIS TO ANYONE!!! I knew he Sooo goood I tralked to him 2 nights befor and He was sooo happy to Be with lisa and That he was going to be a daddy Again He loved lisa More then anything

  4. Brianna Angevine said,

    March 22, 2007 at 6:46 pm

    I didn’t know Shane the greatest but he was still like family and i loved him. I’m so unbelievably upset about this even though it is 4 months later. Shane had some problems but he was still an amazing person!

  5. cody katen said,

    March 4, 2009 at 12:16 am

    my name is cody katen shane was my brother he was only a year older than me and we hung out with all the same friends. i am not on here to attack lisa or her family for what they have said about my brother since this trajedy i just want people to see that shane did NOT EVER hit lisa and if that is what you tell yourselves to get through this than more power to you because if i could find a way to make it hurt less i would probably do it to. i just want people to know that shane also has family and some of the things people have said about him makes me sick to my stomache plz stop lying to people about he he hit her and acting like he was the only one with problems. That night the police didnt release that they found lisas diary for that day and it said “i think shane is cheating on me so im going to tell him i had an abortion just to piss him off” now again not taking any of the blame away from shane i just want you to see that the police have also said that lisa was not unconcious or tied to anything during the 25 min that she watched my brother break into my dads gun cabinet with an axe now this proves to me that shane was not the only one with issues please everyone just get your stories straight before u write about things u do not know anything about, again this is not to her family at all it is to people who comment on this subject without knowing lisa or my brother. i am so very sorry for her family and i know that they feel the same amount of pain that i do and all i ask is that you give the rest of my family a chance, my younger brother writes blogs all the time about the subject and they usually are him going off and swearing about this stuff and that is only because he does not know how to handle this please do not judge all of us for a young kid not knowing what to say i respect everyone involved very much and again i am very sorry for what happened.
    RIP shane and lisa i hope you have both found peace i will see you when i get there bro i love you and miss you guys so much P.S me and deanna jus lost our baby she was only 2 months pregnant take care of him or her for me plz
    Cody Katen

  6. dylan katen said,

    March 23, 2009 at 5:53 pm

    im dylan james katen im here to say im sorry the things i said were rude and wrong just the other things ppl say get me upset shane was my hero him and my other brother cody rasied me my dad worked nights so we all stuck togeather to lisas family and friends im so sorry for your loss i just want everyone to know shane didnt go partying that night he came to me and cried in my arms he just wanted to get sum comfert and say goodbye he knew id stay tuff for my family so plzz dont say that it kills me inside that ppl think that im not here to judge or tell you to get trew it she was a very beautiful youg laide we got along good i would love to meet her family i bet your all great ppl you all handeled this better than i would of thank you
    p.s r.i.p shane and lisa take care of are familys

  7. starkest said,

    March 23, 2009 at 7:14 pm

    I LOVE ROBERT PATTINSON AKA edwardcullen

  8. Jane Card said,

    March 25, 2009 at 1:24 am

    I am Shane, Cody and Dylans mother and I am truely sorry for what my son did to Lisa. I know that he did not have the right to take her life and their unborn childs life, no matter what happened on that night. However, I knew my son well and he was not violent, he was a kind and gentle person. Obviously, something terrible went on between the two of them and none of us will ever know what that something was. I do know what I was told by the police and what I was told that the house looked like that night. I also know things that went on between them while they were living at my mothers house and what went on between them when they visited me. I am not going to air those things because they are private, I will just say that both Shane and Lisa had some problems and that together they had bigger problems. Hopefully they are both at peace now. Please understand that this has been very hard on both families and that it is something that we all have to live with every moment of every day. Again, I am truely sorry for Lisas family.

  9. Sick to my stomach said,

    October 15, 2010 at 6:44 pm

    Everyone related to this monster is obviously inbred and uneducated. the whole katen family should kill themselves.

  10. brandie l said,

    November 12, 2010 at 6:26 am

    listen you scum bag you think you have a right to judge a family when you clearly have issues of your own. i hope you know karma cons around eventually. its pathetic really see if you were so educated you would know ppl make mistakes. but you have your head so far up your . . . that you cant put your finger down and not judge someone based o bad shiv. you do not know this family and they are all including shane very good ppl. always remember when you point your finger at someone there is always 3pointing back at you. its pathetic 4yr later you wanna leave a sick rude comment. i hope you seriously get the help you need one day, rest easy shane be lisa. i hope you both made peace with each other. rest easy. miss ya shane

  11. brandie l said,

    November 12, 2010 at 6:30 am

    and for dylan and cody and jane. may my heart be with u always


