“She’s Dead”

“She’s Dead.” Reportedly that is what the man calmly told dispatchers after he called 911. He said she was 31, she hadn’t been sick and she wasn’t breathing. He asked that an ambulance be sent immediately. And he didn’t stay on the line.

Joe Gorospe, 32, was waiting for police when they arrived Monday about 8:34 pm. Allegedly his clothes and body were bloody. Blood was everywhere in the living room and kitchen. His wife, Marissa Gorospe, 31, was alive though non-responsive. Police found a bloody bat and kitchen knives they believe were the weapons involved. In the upstairs of the home, they found the couple’s two young children, ages 17 months and 3 years old.

Marissa Gorospe was taken to the hospital, where she died on Thursday. Gorospe was a computer programmer. Marissa Gorospe was a popular social studies teacher at the high school.

Gorospe was initially  charged with attempted murder, domestic violence and kidnapping. Reportedly the kidnapping charge referred to “physical evidence at the scene indicated she was trying to leave” Following Ms. Gorospe’s death those charges were amended to include the charge of aggravated murder.

Media checked court records and say there were no previous entries for domestic violence, and police say this was the first time they had been called to the home. Police have not offered a motive for the crime.

The children were placed in the care of relatives.

ohio.com                     wkyc.com               recordpub.com

Family has said they had never noticed any signs of abuse, but that the couple was under strain as they tried to cope with their oldest daughter’s illness, reportedly she has autism.

ohio.com

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Joseph D. Gorospe was indicted on charges of aggravated murder, murder, kidnapping, domestic violence and tampering with evidence.

newsnet5.com

7 Comments

  1. Eugene said,

    October 31, 2006 at 4:20 am

    Marissa Gorospe was my history teacher freshman year at Brush High. She was a great teacher, and when we all found out, it was incredibly devastating. I didn’t go to the funeral, but a lot of my friends did, they said it was deeply sad. I hope the husband gets murder charges at the highest level.

  2. Brenda said,

    April 18, 2007 at 4:39 pm

    as a prior victim of domestic abuse by a boyfriend – I know that my trying to leave always infuriated him and made his abuse worse. When I did leave he’d call and threaten me or come to my house. Then he’d sweet talk me back and then ABUSE me again for getting away.

    The safest way to leave an abuser is to make plans to TAKE OFF WORK, to go stay with a friend he doesn’t know about, take the children out of school. It maybe would even be necessary to get emergency help to completely leave the area, change your names, etc.

    I survived being held captive, being shot at and nicked in the leg, being hit with a poolstick knocking out a front tooth, being beaten in the head and also my body. (I now have severe osteoarthrtis in my right hip which one time he hit me so hard – from the hip to the calf – it looked like a bloody mass of tissue. How did I survive? Well I got a warrant – and when he chased me in his car and tried to get me to drive into the hillside in that 6 month period- I renewed the warrant, in which I told him in the hallway. ” IF YOU fight this, I will get a warrant for attempted murder and it has not been two years since you held me captive, etc. etc.” He still begged me back, wanted to marry me then finally gave up.

    He was (is) a very sick, lonely, old unhappy person never having any joy in his life. Years after that happened I did see him and now we are “casual” friends. As long as he does’t fancy himself in love with me HE WON’T HURT ME or think he can control me. It is amazing though, that if I try to tell him he needs help – he downplays the domestic “he remembers” and the other times he was drinking and says he does not remember what happened. His son now 33 years old is not well – he witnessed so much. His mother did not raise him for this man “took him from her and kept her away by fear”. He has a chip on his shoulder that his Mom did not fight for him = so he’s had relationships in which he is abusive, hes had numerous run ins with the law in which his father bailed him out. His father still says “I can’t understand why he’s so mean to his girlfriend/wife, etc.” – its astouding but I do believe abusers are in denial of how sick they are and are confused when their loved ones leave them and think they are being greatly wronged putting the victim in a serious position of being hurt, crippled, or killed. If the abuser does not get therapy/medicines, they will never change and the cycle goes on and on and on.

  3. April 18, 2007 at 9:11 pm

    Brenda, thanks so much for telling your story. Your telling it offers others who may still be in an abusive relationship the hope that they can get out. And giving good reasons for why they should get out.
    Also, it is sometimes hard for someone who has not been abused to understand why people do stay in the relationship. So you have helped in furthering that understanding also.
    Congratulations to you for surviving and for successfully getting out.

  4. Devon said,

    July 14, 2008 at 4:02 am

    I was in Marissa’s class during her year as an intern. I remember her being extremely warm and friendly. I often visited her after I graduated and I was heartbroken when I found out what had happened to her. I think about her and her children often. What happened to her was so senseless. All anyone can do now is just remember what a beautiful person she was.

  5. Christan said,

    July 5, 2009 at 7:07 pm

    I was so heartbroken when I heard this TRAGIC news…I loved Marissa for the person I knew her to be; a great teacher, wonderful mother, and I could almost call her a good friend.. This hurts me so bad because she was my teacher…I had her when she first started at Brush and she paid me special attention (like I’m sure she did with other students as her career progressed at Brush) but she knew I needed the help to get through her class, and she made sure that I did what I had to do ti get through it: I was yelled at by her, grilled and chastised…all by her(she was a bit feisty) but it was all in good faith, because that’s how determined she was to get me on the right track. I can’t express how deeply saddened I am to here this news JUST TODAY! almost 3 yrs after her untimely death; my daughter’s name is Marisa(Marissa’s name minus a “S”) and I remember talking to Marissa about the name of my daughter and her exact words to me was that “I am honored” I showed her pictures, told her how my life was going, post Brush, and before we parted ways she gave me a hug. I dont even know what else to say about the whole thing, since this is all new news to me and I’m trying so hard to keep the tears from flowing because this was such a senseless MURDER(to kill without cause) for that animal(for lack of better words) to take away someone so special to many is just beyond me right now..I refer to the deceased as Marissa because I know she had THAT P.O.S’s last name and I just rather call her by that name…..Marissa, I am so sorry that this happen to you…I know you are in a better place now, and I just pray that your babies will grow and be strong, because they don’t have the women that probably loved them more than any women on this earth..You will be missed so much.

  6. Christian said,

    July 5, 2009 at 7:10 pm

    My name is christian not christan….just letting everyone who reads this know….please feel free to engage me in conversation anytime about this matter.

  7. Jessica said,

    July 8, 2009 at 10:26 pm

    I had Marci as a teacher the year before she was killed. She helped me both in the classroom and out. We had many hour long talks about relationships, faith, life… I truly considered her a friend.
    Last night, I had a series of dreams in which she somehow came back to life. I sobbed and hugged her… three years later, and it still hurts so much to know that such a beautiful teacher, singer, mother, and person is gone.
    I hope that she will come back in my dreams… it was so great to see her again, even in another dimension.
    Her students learned so much from her before and after her death… just as she would have wanted, her lessons go on…


