A woman on a mission

Reportedly April Ulrich, 45, drove to the workplace of her ex-husband Eric Paul Ulrich, 40, on Thursday. Allegedly she called him on the phone and persuaded him to meet with her out in the parking lot. As he exited the building into the parking lot, she allegedly shot him at least 2 times. Erich Ulrich collapsed on the steps.

April Ulrich was still there when police arrived. They recovered the weapon, which they say was hidden by a bag. Police say the weapon was purchased by April Ulrich and at least one report states it was purchased in January. Police have stated the weapon had 4 spent shells in the chambers and one live round in the chamber.

The couple were divorced in 2004, and Eric Ulrich had custody of the couple’s 6 year old daughter. Reportedly the couple had argued earlier this week over custody of their daughter.

According to police they had been called to Eric Ulrich’s residence several times in the past for reports of vandalism. In one report was the notation “the complainant advised that he could not think of anybody that would intentionally damage the vehicle except his ex-wife (April Ulrich), although he advised he had no evidence to support his speculations.”

April Ulrich has been charged with murder and criminal possession of a weapon during the commission of a crime.

In the words of the police chief  “There is a big problem with domestic violence nationwide,” “People should remember they have other avenues they can take, instead of taking things into their own hands”.

The child has been placed in the custody of the Department of Family and Children’s Services. Neighbors have said that Eric Ulrich was a devoted father.

fayettedailynews.com           wtvm.com               ajc.com

ledger-enquirer.com                               thecitizen.com

It always amazes me when I see that a murder has taken place over custody issues. First, because of the negative effect that the murder of a parent has on the child, and second because after committing murder it is virtually impossible for a parent to maintain any parental relationship with the child, and will often lose contact altogether.

14 Comments

  1. Cathy said,

    October 29, 2006 at 6:57 am

    Yes, what did she gain by doing this? Now she has a 6 yo who will not have either parent..I don’t get this line of thinking at all..

  2. Vidalia11 said,

    October 30, 2006 at 4:57 pm

    The custody issue is probably a smokescreen for deeper rage at the person.

  3. D said,

    October 31, 2006 at 2:15 am

    It makes no sense to me as to why this had to happen to an innocent child.. She now has neither parent to raise her. Eric is now gone from our small tight community in Pa.

  4. Marvin said,

    November 1, 2006 at 3:56 pm

    I was a friend of Eric’s since the early 90’s. I can’t believe this has happend. Eric was such a great father, and he really cared and sacrificed everything for his daughter. We always knew April was nuts, I just didn’t know the extent. I feel so bad for everybody involved. Eric – I miss you already, you deserved better than this.

  5. DJ said,

    November 3, 2006 at 12:24 am

    I was a co-worker of Eric’s, although not at the facility the day this tragedy occurred. He was a great daddy, and loved his daughter beyond words.

    Eric, I hope you are in a happier place and you can smile down on Nicci as she grows. We will all miss your ready smile and easygoing nature.

    Nicci now has effectively lost both her parents. They need to lock April up and throw away the key. She lured him out of his workplace to murder him, so any charge and conviction less than first degree murder would be just plain wrong.

  6. noelle said,

    November 3, 2006 at 3:09 pm

    I just found out about this awful tragedy from my mother in PA. I’ve known Eric since junior high school and I can’t believe he’s gone. He was a great person….kind, funny, intelligent, and a helluva good swimmer in his younger years. I’m sorry to say that I didn’t know him as a father but it sounds like he excelled at that also. The bitter end of this is that his poor daughter now has no parents all because of this psychotic woman. She took Eric from his family, his friends, and most of all his daughter. Eric (twig) you will be missed terribly.

  7. ofgems said,

    November 9, 2006 at 12:51 pm

    As a family member on April’s side please know that this came as a complete SHOCK to us all as well. I know she loves her daughter greatly. We too can not understand the reasons why she did this , i honestly think only herself knows the real answers. We also care very deeply for Nicole and are very heartbroken to hear of this tragedy. I think many people do forget what the other side family goes through as well. We want to remain in Nicole’s life and for her to know we are also here for her today and always. Many of us only found out about this early this week( including April’s immediate family) and it sadness us greatly. I didnt walk in her shoes so i have no right to place judgement or know the real answers to all of this but just knowing her on a personal level I think this could have resulted due to an “illness” of some sort but again i can not place judgement or even begin to have any answers to this myself. And lets not forget that she also has an older daughter( and granddaughter) and son as well. Please lets keep them in our thoughts and prayers. I sincerely hope that Nicole will be able to stay in contact with her brother and sister and neice as they all need each other right now. People do have wonderful memories of April and i hope this tragedy does not cloud those memories. I will always love April, doesnt mean what i think she did was right.. it was down right HORRIBLE but i will always love her. And please know our thoughts , prayers, and sympathy do go out to Eric’ family and friends right now as well.

  8. Jarvis said,

    November 17, 2006 at 8:53 am

    I’m April’s son. I can’t even begin to find the words to try and describe to anyone the history leading up to this event. It’s a story that runs far longer than her divorce from Eric in 2004. It begins before they ever met, and before I was even born. I understand the pain and suffering Eric’s family must be feeling right now. I feel it too. I had a lot of respect for him, and I know he was a great father for my little sister. I miss him dearly.

    My mother committed a heinous crime, and she’ll suffer the consequences for that. However, lets not waste energy on a negative emotion such as hate. After all, it was hate that drove her to do this. She rests in the bed she dug for herself. Leave it at that.

    Instead, let’s devote our attention and energy to where it belongs: the daughter who is going to struggle with the tragic loss of both of her parents. I am unsure as to whom my sister will be raised by, but needless to say this terrifies me. I’ve heard many things from family and many other things from articles such as this. I hope Eric’s family has a place for her, and I support them in obtaining custody if that is indeed the path they choose. I believe that’s the safest pace for her right now both physically and emotionally. The days ahead are shrouded, but I pray that I’ll be able to remain a part of her life.

    Eric, I love you and I’ll always remember you. The wisdom and compassion you showed me when we visited my grandmother in VA several years ago will forever remain in my heart.

    Nici, I love you, and though I understand much of what you are about to face I don’t understand the latest tragedy. I pray that I and others will have the strength to help guide you along the rocky road ahead, I have ventured there before.

    April, Mom, I love you too. You have done many things I’ll never comprehend, and this I don’t know if I could ever forgive. Your path is the darkest of all, but it’s a path you chose. Your choices in life have driven me away from you, and many others who were once close to you. Despite that, I am your son and you my Mother. I pray that you have the strength to accept the consequences of your actions, and that perhaps you will have an opportunity to touch the world in a positive way.

    Eric’s family, I haven’t seen any of you for many years, but I haven’t forgotten any of you. I regret never seeing the Christmas tree farm, and I apologize for the comment on the sweater, I was but a silly kid. My heart and spirit is with you through this dark time, but I hope that in the light on the other side we may all meet again. I wish things could have been different. I love you all, and respect you for the strength you possess through all of this.

    Nici Ulrich Benefit Account
    Bank of Georgia
    100 Westpark Drive
    Peachtree City, Georgia 30269
    Carl J. Mowell & Son, Peachtree City. 770-487-3959

  9. November 17, 2006 at 4:40 pm

    Jarvis, I want to thank you for your comment. And I am so sorry for what is happening in your life. I think the one of hardest parts afterwards is that often the minor children get split from the people and things they love. And the people who love them.Children can never have too much love, especially at a time when they have already lost.

  10. Jane said,

    November 18, 2006 at 3:40 pm

    Jonathan,

    I am your cousin on your granma Dorthy’s side. We have been trying to find you. Could you please email me. I believe your grandma would like to hear from you. And know that you are okay. My email is known2b@peoplepc.com

  11. One of her Officers said,

    October 6, 2007 at 6:29 pm

    I just wanted to let everyone know that April is unique in her own way. She was dealing with this situtation the only way she knew how. I know she Loves her daughter. I am a mother and I just can’t imagine not having my kids everyday with me. I know April has problems and I hope in the future she is able to deal with them in a different mannor.

  12. Tracy said,

    January 25, 2009 at 2:36 am

    I recently saw April on a penpal website while doing research for a short story and seeking women prisoners for factual contributions. I was interested in her story primarily because she is the only one whom states her crime in her narrative. She stated however that she was convicted of killing her husband, as she needed to protect her daughter. Which for obvious reasons lead me to believe that he was in some way guilty of something. After some googling and reading I felt mislead by her statement. I have read nothing but praise for Mr. Ulrich as a man, and father. My heart goes out to this mans family and child, and lastly his fiance who will never know this man as her husband. My prayers are with you all.

  13. mnm said,

    June 25, 2009 at 1:53 am

    I saw her add too when I was looking at pen pals for prisoners and I wrote her a letter but I must admit, I’m a little freaked out. I am going to open a p.o.box in a neighboring town for her to write too so she doesn’t have our address, but I can’t help but feel sorrow for people who have no one, no matter what they did wrong, people need people. She obviously has mental & emotional problems, but that doesn’t mean any person on this planet, in heaven or hell, deserves to be alienated and deprived of human (*normal* human/ role models) interaction. My fiance & I are both in the human services field and psychology, and I can’t help but feel a desire to reach out to some one who is trying to reach out to the world. They need to know what is going on in the world outside of prison… because eventually they will be released, and then what? If they don’t have strong, good role models on the outside, or feel like any one cares at all, more tragedy will probably strike. Her anger could become a role model for others who are bordering on homicide. I feel terrible for everyone involved, especially the victim & little girl, but there is one thing that living in the inner city my whole life has taught me, and that is that people rarely, rarely, kill without cause. There are few who are stuck down by some one who is completely insane for no apparent, but there are two sides to every story. April claims she was protecting her daughter. Or a it was a crime of passion. A dark, horrible place to be in for the killer, either way. Something else life has taught me (tragic in my own family, and some how ending up being a nanny for a family gone horribly wrong): no one knows some one like their spouse. Your parents don’t know you anymore 10 years after leaving the nest, people put on facades for even their best friends & co-workers and people are well known to live double lives. Who’s to say this man didn’t pose a threat to his daughter, and she knew it, as she claims. This man DID NOT deserve to die no one does no matter how horrible the crime or allegation, but his wife knew him better then any one else and that is something people need to keep in mind, wether right or wrong.

    I believe when you kill some one, you kill yourself, April is the walking dead. But everyone deserves some one, every one deserves to know that before they die, they will be forgiven, and understood in some way, wether insane or not, and have some one holding their hand. Some one. Every soul deserves to be saved. And in this godless land, it is up to us to be there for each other. No matter what.

    I hope you find it in your heat to understand this short, simple piece of observation from an outsider’s perspective, who has no emotion ties to any one involved.

  14. mnm said,

    June 25, 2009 at 6:00 am

    *heart* not heat


