Daddy’s Little Girl

Her family called her “Tashie”. Her name was Latashia Toomer and she was 18 years old. She came from a large family with parents and 6 brothers and sisters. She had never been to a nightclub. She had moved in with her sister to try to save money to go to college. She liked doing hair, and would spend hours braiding her siblings hair. She wanted to be a beautician. She was Daddy’s little girl, his “knee baby”. And she had just begun dating her first boyfriend. As the relationship had just begun, her family had not yet met Nathanial Williams, 22.

Police have said the two got into an argument inside a house. Family has said it was because she wouldn’t say she loved him. Allegedly Williams then shot Tashie, wounding her.

Tashie ran from the home out into the street with Williams chasing after her, carrying a handgun.  In front of a witness, Williams then fired again, this time hitting her in the back. This time she went down with a fatal wound. Williams then turned the weapon on himself. According to a witness “I was walking down Sixth Street and I heard the gunfire. Then I saw her running to Sixth Street and shot her again, and then he stopped in the middle of the street and looked me in the eyes then blew his brains out.”

Williams was taken to the hospital where he was placed on life support.

As Tashie’s father put it “To take my daughter’s life just because she said she didn’t love him. A murder-suicide to take my daughter’s life. In other words, if he didn’t have her nobody was going to have her. She was but an innocent child.”

wwaytv3.com              wwaytv3.com                    wect.com

5 Comments

  1. Cathy said,

    October 25, 2006 at 6:27 am

    You know, if someone wants to kill themself, then fine, why don’t they just go off and do it? What a stupid thing to kill someone over. He was a bomb waiting to explode.

  2. Janelle said,

    November 3, 2006 at 3:52 am

    This was truly sad. Tashie and I were cousin’s but wern’t as close as me and her older sisters because of the age difference. It hit me hard being that she was taken so suddenly and over nothing. I used to watch movies like this on Lifetime, and never in a million years thought it would happen to anyone in my family or anyone I knew. Its like Im sittin back watchin one of those movies now, but my family is the characters. It’s still so hard to believe. But she is in a better place.
    Gone, but not forgotten. R.I.P. Tashie

  3. CHAUNTELL WILSON said,

    November 29, 2006 at 5:58 am

    I WAS REALLY CLOSE TO TASHIA. WHEN WE WERE LITTLE GROWIN UP WE ALWAYS TALKED ABOY OUR FUTURE AND EVERYTHING. TASHIA WAS MY NUMBER ONE COUSIN AND TOO LOSS HER IS LIKE A PART OF MY HEART IS MISSING. IT’S STILL HARD TO BELIEVE, BUT I MISS HER PHONE CALLS EVERY OTHER DAY, HER TELLING ME HER FUTURE PLANS, AND MAINLY JUST HER VOICE ON THE PHONE TELLING ME SHE LOVED ME. I MISS U SO MUCH. WHY DID HE HAVE TO TAKE MY TASHIA.

  4. Brandon La'Tarrence McMillian-Toomer said,

    April 12, 2007 at 2:18 am

    YOU KNOW WHAT I WAS SO SAD TO HEAR ABOUT MY AUNT GETTING KILLED OVER SOME STUPID SHIT! ME AND TASHIA WERE 2 YEARS APART BUT THAT WAS ALRIGHT SHE WAS STILL MY BEAUTIFUL AUNTIE. I LOVED HER SO DEARLY AND FOR EVERYTHING SHE DID FOR ME AND FOR THE LOVE SHE GAVE. I USE TO CALL MY AUNT TASHIA AND SHE USE TO CALL ME. ME AND HER WERE SO CLOSE, ESPECIALLY IN MIDDLE SCHOOL. YOU KNOW WHAT WHEN I LOOK IN HER BABY SISTER FACE ZA’LEIKA TOOMER, 15, I SEE TASHIA FACE ALSO. I MISS MY BABY GIRL. SHE ALWAYS STOOD BY ME AND I WILL NEVER FORGET HER. I THINK WHEN SHE MOVED IN WITH HER SISTER QUINA, IT WAS GOD LETTING HER KNOW HE WAS COMING. AND HE DID. REST IN PIECE SLEEPING BEAUTY!
    UNTIL NEXT TIME LA’TASHIA ROCHELLE TOOMER!
    I LOVE YOU AUNTIE!!!!

    LOVE,
    BRANDON LA’TARRENCE TOOMER

  5. ~The Toomer Family~ said,

    April 12, 2007 at 2:25 am

    ~WE LOVE YOU PRINCESS~

    LOVE,
    YOUR SISTERS, Nicole, Tia Michelle, Ya’Sheka, La’Quina, Ka’Sheena, and Zaleika and your brother, Robert Toomer.


