A Long Swim

Relatives contacted police after they found Lisa Pierson, 39, and her 20 year old daughter Casey Barker in a bedroom of her home early on Sunday. Both reportedly had been bludgeoned, Casey Barker was dead and Lisa Pierson barely alive, she was taken to the hospital where she later died. Police have found the weapon they were bludgeoned with, but are only saying it was a large hand tool.

Police began looking for Lisa Pierson’s husband. According to police they have no reports of any previous domestic violence at the home,  but friends, family members and neighbors have said there was a history of domestic violence in the home. Reportedly there may have been other problems in the home, fiinancial problems and substance abuse problems. Pierson was not the father of Casey Barker, but was her stepfather. It is believed the murders took place some time before 10:30 am.

Police did find his car abandoned on a bridge, and theorized that he may have either jumped off the bridge, or that he may have faked a suicide to throw police off his track. Divers began searching under the bridge.

Almost 12 hours later, residents along the river called police. They had heard a man calling for help from the river about midnight. Police say he did tell rescue personnel that he had jumped from the  bridge. Pierson was taken to the hospital in handcuffs, and there is no word on his condition.

wowktv.com         wvgazette.com        statejournal.com

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Stanley Pierson was a corrections officer. Police believe the murders occurred sometime between the time that Pierson left for work at 6 am and when his truck was found at about 11 am. He was still in uniform when he was rescued from the river. Law enforcement says that he is cooperating.

Autopsy results are not back on Lisa Pierson yet. But neighbors have told authorities that she was pregnant. If the autopsy confirms that, Pierson could be charged with additional charges under the Unborn Victims Act of 2005 in which the death of an unborn child or embryo is considered a separate victim in cases of murder, domestic assault, manslaughter and battery.

dfw.com

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Stanley Pierson has been hospitalized for a 20 day evaluation period. He reportedly stopped eating and is unresponsive.

wowktv.com                  dailymail.com

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~`

Thanks to Angela we have an update.

Stanley Pierson has pled guilty to two counts of first degree murder in the deaths of his wife Lisa Pierson and stepdaughter Casey Barker. Prosecutors have said that he has admitted to the murders, and that they may have been related to financial problems. Sentencing is set for Feb. 15 and he is facing 15 years to life for each count.

wvmetronews.com    wowktv.com

41 Comments

  1. Brenda Elkins said,

    October 27, 2006 at 5:35 am

    It is so sad that Stan just didn’t leave his family and start over again instead of killing them. I lived beside them for many years and did see and hear lots of arguments – actually Lisa was the loudest and the one beating the vehicles with objects and hitting Stan. I never saw him hit her back – but just hold her or push her away. I heard them talking about money problems and I know that Lisa did go to the dog track and play machines at local bars, etc. – she sold her car two days before her death and the night before her death had been seen gambling in a local bar. So I can only guess that selling her car and gambling away money after just going bankrupt pushed him over the edge – of course I had heard rumors that she told people she was not with him as a wife and shared a bedroom with her daughter so I also guess the baby wasn’t his??? Anyway I never called the police about the fighting over the years for a few reasons – (1) it would have embarressed Stan (2) he worked for the justice system and it may have hurt his job PLUS he was the main one getting hurt and he seemed to handle it ok.

    As for Casey I felt sorry for her being so young and overweight – and at times she’d be screaming and crying when “they were fighting”. I have a second home away from Younger Drive and had not spent all my time there the past few years so I had heard only rumors from neighbors re: the family. In my opinion Stan seemed depressed all the time and so sad – of course behind closd doors he may have acted different – I don’t really know. It was my phone that was used to make the 911 call. I’m kinda sorry I wasn’t home for I’m a light sleeper and usually slept on the living room couch which is close to a window facing their side – but you know even if I’d heard shouting – I don’t know what I would have done. It would appear there should have been screams unless they both were knocked unconcious immediately – so perhaps I could have told the difference – I’ll never know. I never really had any relationship with either of them as I worked and I knew they were not in a good marriage and I didn’t want to be personally involved.

    I guess what I am saying is sometimes it’s domestic abuse against the male. (I had a relationship with a guy for a few years who was abusive and he inflicted enough injuries on me that I carry scars – I have forgiven him but no man has struck me since I got away from him)

  2. Juanita Hobbs said,

    January 16, 2007 at 2:48 pm

    I dated Stanley Pierson before he was married. He was the sweetest most caring man I know. He was always the type that if we were walking down the road and he saw an elderly person digging a ditch he would comment on how pitiful that was and would ask the man if he had another shovel. If the man didn’t have an extra shovel he would ask for the one the man was digging with and finish the job for him. All of this blows my mind, the whole situation. This is not the man I know. This is so out of charachter. I think I would still have to have Stanely to tell me himself that he did this. Whatever happened, I do still feel very sorry for the family of the two women.

  3. Brenda Elkins said,

    March 30, 2007 at 1:01 pm

    this message is to Juanita. Please be careful posting on internet – see copy below of “a threat” toward me.
    This is partial copy – of reply to me when I posted on a different board. I’ll send you link to it.

    message to me – Brenda Elkins

    OH, and know the facts before you have to make such an effort to get your opinion pushed. Quit acting hardcore with a keyboard because we are DEFINATELY NOT scared of you honey!!! Lisa and Casey have a great deal behind them they have their FAMILY, HELLS ANGEL’S, PEGANS, AND A HELL OF ALOT OF HARLEY RIDERS!!!! YOU NEED TO THINK BEFORE YOU RUN THAT MOUTH OF YOURS!!
    Comment by Ashley Harmon— 2007/03/30 @ 03:23 AM — (Reply)

  4. Brenda Elkins said,

    March 30, 2007 at 1:05 pm

    movingoutmovingon.bloghi.com/2006/10/24/west-virginia-officer-murders-stepd

    Juanita – this is site where comments are being made also.

    Brenda

  5. KatK said,

    March 30, 2007 at 4:59 pm

    The threat appears to be removed now? Here is a snipped URL to the forums, that link doesn’t work, but I found the entry (I think this is the right one?) by searching the blog.

    http://snipurl.com/1eh8o

  6. KatK said,

    March 30, 2007 at 5:00 pm

    NM, the comment is still there… *doh* *blush*

  7. Brenda Elkins said,

    March 30, 2007 at 6:45 pm

    KatK – I don’t think any of her family knows about this site. I am almost 59 years old and have severe osteoarthrtis and other things. In many ways I do wish I could go back and start over on this and not write online as I did. My son is a very good man. He’s manic and has personality disorder – bipolar, etc. – but he NEVER has abused drugs – stole or hurt people like so many young people do nowadays – of course I know it’s the drugs they CRAVE causing them to kill, steal etc. – but it’s scary.

    Now what was said to be about those motorcycle gangs is scary also. I feel partly I asked for it – but the fact remains I don’t know what to do. I’m not going to post anymore on that site and if nothing is said to my son, mother (who is 89 years old) or me. I’m not taking it to the police. I am going to back down a little and think before I speak. I liked your post – are you a Christian? I felt that coming through it.

    Brenda

  8. March 30, 2007 at 7:02 pm

    Brenda, it would probably be advisable to take that to the police. Not only because of the threat towards you, but because I don’t know if it would have any affect on the investigation.

  9. KatK said,

    March 31, 2007 at 12:26 am

    Yeah, isn’t that intimidating a witness?

  10. Brenda Elkins said,

    April 1, 2007 at 3:24 am

    I appreciate your concern but I did notice that on that site, Ashley did back down a little and state what she said was not a threat – but just wanted to show that people cared for Lisa and Casey as others did Stanley.

    Now thats scary to be cared for by well known motorcycle gangs that have been known to be lawbreakers. But as I said I am not posting anything on that site – just going to observe.

  11. Angela said,

    April 11, 2007 at 9:10 pm

    Why is it scary to be cared for by a motorcycle gang? I know many reputable businessmen and doctors who belong to one. You were not threatened on the other site. Could it be a veiled threat? Perhaps, but my lawyer says to attempt to take it to the police would not amount to much. And Brenda you used to spend time with a woman of ill repute, remember XXXXX? So don’t judge others simply by their mode of transportation.

  12. Brenda said,

    April 12, 2007 at 2:33 pm

    So you decided to post to me on this site. Angela what I first said was on this site. I have worked with lawyers most of my career – I did not seek counsel from any of them over the “veiled” threat – the moniter here would not have allowed that to even be “shown” probably.

    I KNOW if I went to Stan’s lawyer or even Prosecuting Attorney with that statement that it would amount to a little more than you think. Two people are dead and one may as well be – you know there will be a hearing unless a plea or something is accepted. The only difference in me and most of the folks up the hollow is that they just talk among themselves and I wrote down my feelings. To see and hear something loudly in public is not “getting into someones business” They PUT people in their business when in public.

    As far as spending time with a woman of ill repute – I assume you mean Little Patty’s mother? Of course you knew she probably died from a drug overdose then? I had not spent time with her for several years before her death either.

    And I have no clue what you mean by mode of transportation either. I’m sure you have strong feelings about this matter and I did not and don’t have plans to “take the information to anybody” unless I find myself getting afraid by any other words or deeds.

  13. Rick said,

    April 13, 2007 at 12:09 pm

    Angela, since Brenda remains clueless about the elementary conversation about the mode of transportation, it’s indicative that she also remains clueless about a great deal of many other things regarding the troubled family she has analyzed through her window observations. She stated: “I’m going to back down and think before I speak” (which is the wisest comment she’s made yet.) She knew up front what she was doing by badmouthing people who are no longer here to defend themselves. Her desire to seek mercy for the poor, little 265 pound “victim” based solely on her OWN personal observations (of a “sweetheart” who fooled many people) outweighs any respect for mourning family members. Do you think she would be offended if I spewed out “observations” and halftruths of her, John, and the place I called 911 from? Probably so, but I don’t seek the same xxxx she does.
    Will justice be served in this case? Well, it depends on many variables, like the judge, jury, testimonies, and evidence submitted. Religion, politics, and ideologies also play a role. While “everyone” is certainly “entitled” to an opinion, as Brenda previously stated, our liberal enslaved legal system will soon have an obligation to opine and hand down a sentence to this “former good deed person.” I just hope they learn some of the former bad deeds this idiot has committed. Time will tell.

  14. somebody2 said,

    April 13, 2007 at 1:41 pm

    a poster said:
    if I spewed out “observations” and halftruths of her, John, and the place I called 911 from?

    Everthing posted online is open for the world to read and make opinion thereof. Badmouthing and threatening living people may become a good issue for comments also.

  15. Brenda said,

    April 13, 2007 at 4:28 pm

    My gosh – a lot of people ride motorcycles – but the two gangs mentioned (Pagans and Hells Angels – are not and have never been people who just used their motorcycles for a mode of transportation) That is not believable even to the folks who live in rural areas throughout this state.

    As the whole family is ganging on me here – I won’t post here again – and if it’s meant to be I’ll just see them in court – if not to be -I do expect the issue to be buried here and everywhere !!

  16. Rick said,

    April 13, 2007 at 5:59 pm

    There will always be plenty of issues that can make for comments, like taking partial sentences and misrepresenting the point made. I’m not “threatening” anyone, just making the point that people shouldn’t say hurtful things about another based on halftruths and window observations and then portray themselves as yet another victim of someone responding. We’re all just poor, poor victims here, right? Who’s to blame? Bush and the evil republicans? (Uh-oh another issue for commenting)

  17. KatK said,

    April 15, 2007 at 5:18 am

    Angela, Rick I’ll say it again. I know you’re worried, and hurting. But you aren’t doing much to make your side look good by coming here and picking a fight after it had already cooled down. Yes, I’m the *same* KatK from the other entry. Yes, I think it was a threat, and I think maybe the D.A. might see it differently than Angela’s lawyer does. You’re letting her know you would recognize her in person, to what purpose? To silence her from telling the truth as she knows it if asked in court? (And remember, “truth” is often more subjective than many people realize. It isn’t black or white, it’s shades of grey. You knew him one way, she saw and heard things you didn’t, and you both have your own parts to the puzzle that makes up a more whole truth. Let the courts hear it all, and do their work of putting it together.) I think the D.A. would frown on that, a LOT.

  18. Rick said,

    April 15, 2007 at 1:43 pm

    Picking a fight?? No, I’m not interesting in fighting with anyone. It’s more than obvious that SHE is looking to obtain XXXXX to justify her decision to seek mercy for a muderer based SOLELY on HER observations, and I suppose she certainly has that “right”. Contrary to her belief, the murderer has also done many bad things. Should I start sending that info across the world like she has done about the victims? I think not. Look, I’m not trying to intimidate her or threaten her, nor am I trying to silence her. She is certainly entitled to her opinions and she should tell things exactly as she saw them, but she’s doing more than that and she knows it. She is the one who has intimidated people for an obvious purpose. I’m just saying what she is doing is wrong and I think she knows it. If she knew more facts, and I’m not at liberty to reveal them, she might not be so quick to send XXXX across the internet.
    Since, we’re both potiential witnesses, it’s really nothing short of ignorance to run off at the mouth, so,… I too will remain silent from this point on (regardless of comments made). Have a nice day!

  19. Angela said,

    April 15, 2007 at 2:32 pm

    KatK, I’m not worried. I will have faith in the justice system as long as it works. Hurting yes, after your loved ones are brutally murdered, the pain seems to never fade. I however am not picking a fight but it seems you are. Why do you feel the need to turn this sight into a political arena to hash out legal issues? This site is supposed to be here for support of those affected by violent crime. I thought about posting here to talk to some people and see how they coped with this kind of loss, then I saw Brenda’s post and that ruined my option of seeking support here. Do not confuse my posts with wanting to silence Brenda from expressing her feelings or thoughts on a violent situation that many people have feelings about. I merely wanted her to know that some people still believe that it is wrong to try and capitalize on the death of real people. I am sure she was affected by what happened but was it necessary for her to speak ill of the dead? These women were loved, yes even by some Harley riders. And Hell’s Angels have both bad and good press, they are frequently associated with Toys for Tots. I think Brenda as well as you need to understand that no one was trying to say anything threatening, we just pointed out that she is not perfect either. No one is. You say we are not doing much to make our side look good? Gee I thought we were all on the side of justice. As for letting the courts hear it all, the state’s witnesses aren’t the ones going to the press trying to taint public opinion. They are trying to let justice prevail. If I would have seen what Brenda claims to have seen after having been in an abusive relationship, I would have called the police. Whether it embarrassed Stanley or not. If anyone reads this all I ask is do not ignore abuse, make it your business to report it. You could save lives. I am through posting here as I have definately not found anything close to a supportive environment.

  20. KatK said,

    April 16, 2007 at 6:39 am

    Do not mistake, I feel for you Angela. And I have been in Lisa’s shoes, or shoes very similar. I got out alive, and know I am lucky. However, I also think that the scales of Justice should not be denied things before they weigh, if that makes sense. You didn’t post here first, you were at the other site first.

    This site *does* support those who’ve been through the wringer of domestic violence. BUT, you have to understand that I can say similar things (What Brenda said about Stanley) about my abuser, he did have some good qualities, or was *very* good at faking them. It would not surprise me in the least to have people come up and say “He’s the nicest man I know, he’d never hurt a fly, always helping, so kind!” etc. The ones who would say that about him, only know what he displays to them, so they aren’t lying. That’s just all they know of him.

    If anything, it speaks of how well guards were kept up to some degree, that the neigbors didn’t see what maybe those closer to them did. (I don’t know, and that’s for the courts to judge.) Really I’m more on the fence than you think, I just don’t think you can see it. I think maybe Rick has caught a hint of it though. I spoke up, because I think it’s important that all things be weighed for Justice to be truly served is all. And to me, it seemed like maybe you were slowing that in your pain and anger.

    I, for one, didn’t think less of Lisa or Casey when I read Brenda’s words. Read some of my other posts here, and some of the other accounts put up by Home Sweet Home. I think you’ll get a better picture of me, and of “us”. (survivors of domestic violence)

    It didn’t surprise me at all that people would have seen things like Brenda described. Domestic violence is *OFTEN* two sided, the abused get pushed too far and lash out. (That doesn’t change who is the main aggressor, and abuser in the relationship though.) Those are the dynamics of an abusive relationship, I know, I’ve lived it. Denying that it happens does no good at all, we must be honest about this, so we can come to a solution to this problem.

  21. April 16, 2007 at 3:12 pm

    KatK I couldn’t have said that any better than you did.

  22. Brenda said,

    April 28, 2007 at 2:20 pm

    How true your words are – the fella I dated that abused me – a couple of times toward the end, I physcially hit him before he could me first !! So for onlookers – I’m sure they thought “she’s the problem” (meaning me). There was times it entered my mind toward the end to kill him but I went and got a warrant and finally I was free of him though he did stalk and harass me a little even after the warrant was served. He finally gave up on bothering me – of course I had my own home and he had his. I knew I would lose my job and go to prison but likely with mercy – for the jury would have felt I could have exited the scene many times when I didn’t. (Though sometimes I did there was times I knew he’d just follow me to my home when he awoke)

    Therefore thats what my thinking is about the murders. It wasn’t very long when Stan moved in that the abuse I WITNESSED started – and that why I was trying to say that I felt he may have finally started being the abuser a few years later until he finally snapped and did the ultimate. In no way did I feel that was alright – I didn’t mean for anybody to think that – all I’ve ever said was I felt he should have some mercy bestowed to him.

    I’m also left feeling I have no place to vent as I’m not wanting to throw “barbs back and forth” But I did want to say your comment made perfect sense and I understand it totally.

  23. Brenda said,

    April 28, 2007 at 2:21 pm

    KatK – I’m so sorry I accidentally put your name on my comment – it was a mistake – maybe home sweet home can remove your name from that

  24. todyjoe said,

    April 28, 2007 at 7:10 pm

    FROM brenda

    Thanks home sweet home for changing that name

  25. Brenda said,

    May 8, 2007 at 11:51 pm

    comment 24 was from Brenda – i was confused and trying to edit the comment before by “registering” which anyway, didn’t work. thats why I asked and thanked home sweet home for changing name on post before.

    Also I don’t know how to send a link. Anyway – in the Charleston Gazzette and Charleston Daily Mail in Charleston, WVa – there is an article today (May 8, 2007, updating a situation about Stanley.

    just thought someone might be interested in the fact – it appears he has chosen to sentence himself to death. It has been my experience that if a person really wants to – they can no matter what.

    He stopped eating, drinking , taking meds and seeing his attorney on May 1st – he was placed in a hospital for tube feeding and pulled it out. A judge (by his attorney’s motion) is sending him to Weston WVa = state hospital- to be force fed, etc. to save his life. A doctor (psych) has said he’s not able for a hearing right now

  26. May 9, 2007 at 3:21 am

    Brenda, copying a link is very easy. On the page of the link you wish to get, look at the top of your browser or page. You will see a box called an address box that has the web address of the site. Click in the box. It will highlight, probably turning blue. Put your mouse pointer on top of the blue highlighted part and right click. Choose copy and left click.
    Move your mouse pointer to where you want the link to be (comment box) and right click. Choose paste and left click. Your link should show up in the comment box.

  27. May 9, 2007 at 5:23 am

    Great job Brenda!

  28. Brenda said,

    May 21, 2007 at 1:07 pm

    I have discovered I was wrong about thinking Stan was just not eating, etc. – I’ve been informed he is practically catonic and not able to do what he needs to do and apparently may have suffered a nervous breakdown. I’ll update later

  29. Rick said,

    May 28, 2007 at 12:35 pm

    April 16-evaluation by a psychiatrist FOR the defense reported Stanley WAS competent BEFORE, DURING, and AFTER he brutally murdered his family; he knew the difference between right and wrong and that he was euphoric (happy) about what he had done; and he was competent to stand trail. THEN, a week later, Stanley conveniently decides to exhibit depression and a catonic state of being. The report on May 25 states his condition has improved. He’s eating and drinking on his own.

  30. MsDalton said,

    August 31, 2007 at 7:59 pm

    Charleston Newspapers report Stanley’s hearing to be December 10, 2007

  31. Angela said,

    December 6, 2007 at 9:11 pm

    Stan pled guilty on both counts of 1st degree murder today. The plea was accepted.

  32. December 7, 2007 at 1:31 am

    Post updated.

  33. no name said,

    December 11, 2007 at 2:49 pm

    Of course he IS guilty but can anybody give a good reason why he would have done it? Or guess it doesn’t matter now?

  34. jolynna said,

    January 29, 2008 at 3:18 am

    Hi,

    As I do not personally know the people involved, I won’t comment except to say this is a very well written blog.

    I like your “Home Sweet Home” theme because ironically the name conjures up a warm domestic settings when in actuality from reading here, home can sometimes be dangerous.

  35. jolynna said,

    January 29, 2008 at 3:22 am

    Besides Turkey Creek Lane, I have badgirlscrimeblog.com. Please stop by when you get a chance.

  36. no name said,

    February 15, 2008 at 12:15 am

    UPDATE – Stan’s sentencing which was to be today was cancelled – he is now in a mental institution. Medicare records are toa be presented to the judge 3-5-08.

  37. no name said,

    February 15, 2008 at 12:17 am

    somehow the time is off on this post – the time of the sentencing hearing was to be the 13th and this is being written on the 14th, NOT the 15th?

  38. Juanita said,

    April 5, 2008 at 4:59 pm

    The sentencing is over and I guess everyone has heard Stanley got two life sentences with mercy. I testified on his character, the man I knew when I dated him, and saw through the years. At first when I posted here and all of this was fresh I didn’t believe it, it was unreal. Now I know he snapped. I guess it can happen to any of us if we are under so much pressure and stress in our lives, marriage, job or what have you. I would like to send my condolences to the family of the two women. The situation is sad all around.

  39. April 5, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    Juanita, it is often hard to believe that someone you know well is capable of killing. I have come to the conclusion that anyone is capable, but people differ in what type of provocation it takes to make them kill.

  40. no name said,

    August 3, 2008 at 2:29 pm

    Juanita if you keep in touch with family, you will find out that Stanley got saved while in jail and thats the comfort his family has – one of them even said they hoped the two women had time to do the same. It is heartbreaking on both sides yes…


