She lived long enough to tell

A neighbor has said that she heard 5 gunshots on Wed. night about midnight. When she heard  Shannon Hallabrin’s boyfriend pounding on doors and calling for help she called police.  

Police who responded found  Shannon Cynthia Hallabrin, 34, collapsed and bleeding. They say they know who the shooter was, as Shannon Hallabrin told them just before she died. After talking with officers briefly she was taken to the hospital where she was later pronounced dead. They say there are no other suspects. She told officers that 34 year old John Edward Dudley AKA “Big John” was the person who shot her. By the time police arrived, Dudley was no longer at the scene.

Reportedly Shannon Hallabrin and her boyfriend were at the home when Dudley barged in and shot Hallabrin with a handgun. Hallabrin staggered into the front yard and collapsed. The current boyfriend was not harmed.

Some say they had never seen any problems between the former boyfriend and girlfriend. Some say the two would bicker, but they never thought anything like this would happen. Others report they knew of problems between the two. Some neighbors have stated that Hallabrin was being stalked by Dudley.

Shannon Hallabrin was reportedly an outgoing and generous woman and liked by her co workers. Co workers say they knew there were problems, but she did not go into a lot of detail about them at work.  

Police found Dudley walking along a highway on Fri. and he was placed under arrest. Police say that Hallabrin was shot three times in the back, and the gun has not been recovered.

sanluisobispo.com                          santamariatimes.com

sanluisobispo.com         keyt.com              sanluispo.com

14 Comments

  1. Carol Oday said,

    October 26, 2006 at 2:27 pm

    I am shocked and saddened by Shannon’s brutal murder. Shannon was a happy go-lucky and kind person. I and my 16 year old son Harry both knew her and her family. We have just recently learned of her death here in Pensacola, Florida having just moved here from the central coast where I was on the air at KZOZ. I moved to Florida for to do “mornings” on Softrock 94.1. The news of Shannon is shocking. Shannon reminded me of myself and we used to joke together about this…we had a lot in common. I will always remember spending a night with Shannon at her home in Nipomo with her kids. She was always full of energy and lots of fun. I remember staying up most of night having fun and playing “dress up” with her clothes. She gave me tons of her clothes. I still have them and now I will keep them forever. I will miss Shannon. I pray for her children. I am so very sad, full of emotions and very upset at this terrible and shocking news.

  2. Nancy said,

    October 12, 2007 at 4:19 am

    i was i very good friend with her iluv her like a sister

  3. Nancy said,

    March 14, 2008 at 4:30 am

    I need Shannon.. i cant keep her out of mind she told me everything

  4. lisa said,

    July 2, 2008 at 1:13 am

    SHANNON WAS THE LIFE OF THE PARTY. SHE ALWAYS HAD SOMETHING FUNNY TO SAY.ILL NEVER FORGET HER SWEET PERFUME. OR THE PASSION SHE HAD FOR HER CHILDREN. MONKEY HARRY WAS HER BEST FRIEND. JAMES WAS HER ROCK.SETH WAS HER FIRST BODY GUARD.THOSE KIDS REALLY LOVED THERE MOM. YOU WOULD HAVE TO HAVE BEEN AROUND HER TO SEE ALL THE ENERGY AND PASSION FOR LIFE. SHE WAS SO FREE OF LIFE .AN ANGEL AT HEART. WHEN I TALK TO SHANNONS MOM IT HELPS .TO HEAR THE SAME OLD RASPY VOICE THAT SHANNON HAD MAKES ME FEEL ALIVE AGAIN. SHE WAS MY ONE AND ONLY FRIEND.I KNOW SHE’LL BE WITH ME TO THE END. I FEEL HER SPIRIT ALL AROUND ME SOME DAYS,AND SOME DAYS SHE PLAYS TNT ON THE RADIO FOR ME .ACDC. I LOVE AND MISS HER BIG TIME. NANCY YOU REALLY MENT ALOT TO SHANNON I KNOW BECAUSE SHE WOULD TEEL ME. SHE SAID YOU GUYS WOULD SIT IN BED AT NIGHT AND TALK FOR HOURS. SHE ALWAYS THOUGHT OF YOU . MAMA MARY, I LOVE YOU YOU ARE THE BEST AND YOU MADE HER FEEL VERY LOVED. GOD BLEES YOU .LISA

  5. lisa said,

    July 2, 2008 at 1:23 am

    TO ANYONE READING THIS BLOG .IF YOU KNOW OF OR ARE IN AN ABUSIVE RELATIONSHIP. STOP AND GET HELP TURN TO SOMEONE WHO YOU KNOW CARES CALL THE POLICE PLEASE DO SOMETHING.YOU HAVE A CHOICE AND ITS YOUR DECISION.GET HELP. ITS NOT WORTH LIVING IN FEAR. YOU ARE SOMEONE! YOU ARE NOT ALONE .PLEASE GET HELP. GET THESE WOMEN ABUSERS OFF THE STREETS. JOHN DUDLEY IS GONA LIVE AND DIE IN PRISON FOR WHAT HE HAS DONE.HE IS THE LOOSER IN ALL OF THIS. SHANNON WAS SET FREE THE DAY SHE TOOK HER LAST BREATH. IF SHANNON WERE HERE TODAY SHE WOULD SAY….. WHAT THE F### CHUCK! DO SOMETHING GET HELP!

  6. jenelle said,

    July 5, 2008 at 9:44 pm

    Shannon was my sister. I am married to her brother and was here through it all. All i can say is you Lisa knew how dangerous he was and you did nothing! SHANNON never told me or her brother because she was embarrassed, but you knew. you even knew when he slammed her head! you did NOTHING! Not saying u pulled the trigger, but alot of people up there did nothing! Now i have to raise her two nieces with just memories of her. If you know anyone that even remotely shows this kind of behavior DO SOMETHING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!111

  7. July 6, 2008 at 3:25 am

    Janelle, I am very sorry for your loss. I don’t know Lisa and didn’t know Shannon. But I do know that Shannon was there for any past incidents and she was an adult. Anyone who knew her could only advise her of things that might help, but no one else could make her decisons about what to do about him, for her. Maybe Lisa knew how dangerous he was, but what could she do other than to tell Shannon, maybe advise her to get help? Unfortunately at this time, even if a family member or friend knows that their friend or family member is being abused or in danger they cannot file complaints, they cannot make the friend or loved ones decisions for them.

  8. lisa said,

    July 6, 2008 at 8:23 am

    YES JANEELLE ,I DID KNOW HOW DANGERIUOS HE WAS AND I DID DO WHAT I COULD .SHE CAME TO MY HOUSE FOR TWO WEEKS TO GET AWAY FROM HIM. I TRIED TO GIVE HER A NEW START BUT SHE WANTED TO GO BACK TO HIM.YOU KNOW WHEN SHE MADE HER MIND UP THAT WAS THAT.I BEGGED HER NOT TO GO BACK . THANK YOU HOME SWEET HOME FOR YOUR OUT LOOK ON THINGS. SHE WAS MY ONLY FRIEND .I TRIED TO HELP BUT JUST COULD NOT CHANGE HER MIND. ANYONE THAT KNOWS MY SPIRIT KNOWS I TRIED WITH ALL MY MIGHT TO HELP. I UNDERSTAND YOUR LOSS JANELLE SHE WAS THE ONLY THING CLOSE TO A SISTER THAT IVE EVER HAD . IT SOUNDS TO ME THAT YOU ARE STILL VERY ANGRY. I GET IT. BUT YOU ARE ANGRY AT THE WRONG PERSON! SUZY(SHANNONS MOM) KNOWS MY HEART AND I FEEL THAT IS THE ONLY ONE I NEED TO TRIP ON. LATE AT NITE WHEN WE TALK AND OUR DEEP CONVERSATIONS.SHE KNOWS I TRIED MY BEST TO HELP HER.IVE BEEN THERE FOR HER SHES BEEN THER FOR ME . THAT IS THE ONLY ONE I FEEL REALLY GAVE ME A CHANCE. THE BOYS KNOW THE TRUTH. I WAS A GOOD FRIEND.IM SORRY FOR YOUR PAIN. IN TIME I HOPE THAT YOU SEE OR TRY TO SEE THE GOOD IN PEOPLE AND NOT POINT THE FINGER AT SOMEONE FOR YOUR OWN MISUNDERSTANDING.

  9. lisa said,

    July 6, 2008 at 8:40 am

    YOU MAY NOT HAVE ALL THE FACTS.IN FACT YOU DONT! YOU HAVE NO IDEA HOW SHE WAS LIVING DOWN HERE OR YOU WOULD HAVE DONE SOMETING.SO YOU SAY. ME AND MARY WERE THE ONLY ONE THAT WOULD BRING HER IN OUT OF THE COLD. SHE HAD NO ONE TO TURN TOO. OR MABYE SHE FELT SHE HAD NO ONE .BUT SHE KNEW SHE HAD ME. IN FACT EVEN THE BOYS (SHANNONS KIDS) WERE ON MY SIDE THE DAY YOU ALL WERE GETTING CRAZY WITH ME AT HER FUNERAL. YOU SAY YOU LOVED HER BUT COULD NOT HAVE OPEN ARMS FOR THE ONES THAT SHE LOVED. IVE BEEN UP MANY NIGHTS HEARING THE SCREAMS AND CRIES FROM SUZY(SHANNONS MOM) NEVER ONCE DID SHE SAY THAT YOUVE BEEN HELPFUL. INFACT DIDNT YOU TRY BEATING HER UP? THIS IS NOT ABOUT ME AND YOU. INFACT I DONT EVEN KNOW YOU.NOR WOULD YOU TRY TO BE SIVILE ENOUGH TO EVEN GET TO KNOW ME. I KNOW MY PLACE IN LINE MABYE YOU SHOULD GET YOUR FACTS STRAIGHT BEFORE YOU TRY TO POINT THE FINGER.ILL BE PRAYING FOR YOUR FAMILY. MABYE ONE DAY YOU WILL BE AT PEACE WITH YOURSELF AND CAN GIVE YOUR FAMILY WHAT THEY DESIRVE. “LIFE AND DEATH IS IN THE POWER OF THE TONGUE.” YOU NEED TO REMEMBER THAT WHEN YOU CAST THE FIRST STONE . GOOD NITE GOD BLESS YOU AND YOUR LIL FAMILY.

  10. jenelle said,

    August 24, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    LISA, YOU NEED TO GET YOUR FACTS STRAIGHT. JUST ASK SUZI’S SON WHO WOULD NOT SPEAK TO HER FOR OVER FOUR MONTHS. SHE GOT DRUNK AND ATTACKED ME KNOWING I WAS PREGNANT. SHANNON LIVED WITH US FOR A LONG TIME, AND YOU ARE RIGHT SHE DID NOT TELL ME WHAT WAS GOING ON. IF I KNEW I WOULD HAVE DRUG HER DOWN HERE AND MADE HER STAY. THAT WILL HAUNT ME FOREVER, BECAUSE I DONT UNDERSTAND WHY SHE FELT SHE COULD NOT TELL ME. SHE CALLED ME EVERY NIGHT WHEN I WAS ON MY WAY HOME FROM WORK, NEVER SAID A THING. THAT WILL ALWAYS BOTHER ME. WHAT I DONT UNDERSTAND IS WHY YOU MADE COMMENTS ON MY FAMILY, HOW COULD YOU POSSIBLY KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT THEM OR ME? I DO NOT DOUBT THAT YOU WERE CLOSE WITH SHANNON, HOW COULDNT YOU BE, SHE WAS EASY TO LOVE.

  11. lisa said,

    December 25, 2008 at 11:24 am

    jj

  12. lisa said,

    December 25, 2008 at 7:31 pm

    Thats pretty pathetic to use a nice site remembering a beautiful person to write a white trash comment like that and you don’t even have the balls to put your real name coward.

  13. Lynda Tipton said,

    December 9, 2010 at 12:04 pm

    Doesn’t anyone know more about John Dudley ( Big John) , No disrespect, I mean did anybody ever ask him where he was from? Or did he ever talk about his childhood to anyone? Does anyone know where he is now? I ask because , I live in Rosamond , Ca where John was raised. I do not know him personally, but I know all about him, infact I have been terrorized by his child hoos bestfriend Joseph A DeLano, whom at this point has full custody of my 2 year old baby girl, he gained it by telling lies in court and nobody checked his story out, he is a charmer and no matter who it has been or what they are told before hand, they always fall for his story. After reading all the articles and posts I realize how very much alike John and Joseph are, and how very much alike Shannon and myself are, I have been scared for my saftey since I was told what John had done to Shannon, the day after he had done so. I have been threatened by Joseph with John’s name on numerous occasions. Joe has even come to my home in the middle of the night with a gun and the cops came and told me it wasn’t him, because they went to his mom’s house and he was in bed. I knew that John was moved here to miraloma prison to be close to his mother, but now word has it that he was moved to a better prison for good behavior. Joe last sent me an email mentioning John on 9-20-2010 he only mentions his name as a “and don’t ever forget about” type of way Joseph has my whole town believing that I am crazy and untrue, but I know that maybe Shannon would still be alive today if she maybe spoke out loud or asked questions , also I want to know where John is, to make sure he was not set free once he reached the Antelope Valley, Because as I am finding out , this Valley is corrupt and the Dudley’s and DeLano’s amongst others with a little money , they can go a long ways.

  14. lisa said,

    February 11, 2011 at 11:11 pm

    lynda tipton could you give me your number. shannon’s mom and i would love to talk to you. we think mabye we can help you. there are things you can help us with also. let’s work together. please help us help you. thank you,

    lisa


