A Television

Edward Chauncey Tyler, 31, and his wife Roslyn R. Tyler, 37, had been married for about 9 years. Reportedly the police had been there previously for domestic disputes. At some point the couple had become estranged, with Edward Chauncey Tyler moving nest door with his father.

Allegedly on Friday afternoon the couple got into an argument over a television. According to Tyler’s father, Tyler went into the house and got his father’s gun, came out and shot Roslyn Tyler. After she fell, he shot her again. According to a witness, she appeared to be struggling to breathe when Rescue Squad arrived and they did all they could, but she was later pronounced dead at the scene.

Reportedly Tyler then got into his wife’s car and left the premises. Tyler was located and taken into custody. He has been charged with murder.

thetandd.com              wistv.com                thestate.com

It seems that the father saw his son shoot his wife in the father’s yard. The family appears to be in shock and devastated. It is traumatic to see anyone killed. But to see someone you know murdered would be more traumatic. But to also know who pulled the trigger, that would have to be devastating.

I normally don’t pay a lot of attention to where the domestic episodes are taking place. But I have noticed the last few days that I have been going to the same media sites. South Carolina is being hit hard with domestic murders.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Taylor had been convicted of possession of cocaine as a first offense in May 2006. Along with the charge of murder, Taylor has also been charged with possession of a weapon during the commission of a violent crime, and violation of his probation. Tyler had failed to report to his probation officer and failed to pay a fine. His probation has been revoked and bond has been denied.

Reportedly after the shooting, Tyler took his wife’s car and fled the scene. A search was begun for him, but the sheriff concluded that Taylor would do one of two things. He would either come back to the father’s home or he would commit suicide. He pulled the officer’s cars from the crime scene and later that day the father called and said he had returned to the home. Allegedly he wasn’t cooperative when officers showed up to pick him up, but they were able to arrest him without too much trouble.

thetandd.com

3 Comments

  1. Nastassia Rogers said,

    August 25, 2007 at 12:16 pm

    Im the Daughter of Roslyn . this dispute was not over a televison and im pissed at the fact that they would say that, the issue was deeper than a TV set it was the fact that my mother no longer stressed her self with him and was happy and had taken on god in her life started a new job and was going too the ploice academy and was doing great > He couldn’t still her joy or couldnt controll her any more and he(Tyler) couldnt stand it. I hate that my mother away from my little brither and also me but i know that shes in a better place>

  2. August 25, 2007 at 8:08 pm

    Nastassia Rogers, I am so sorry for what happened to your mother.
    It is usually something that is progressive. But it seems that many times they will choose the smallest things to pick at- almost like an “excuse” to fight. This time the fight went way too far.

  3. Forever my Friend said,

    December 11, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    On October 7, 2006 a very beautiful person was taken from this earth all because she loved a man too much. The person I’m talking about is Roslyn R. Tyler, my forever friend. I have been trying to find out if I missed the trial of her estranged husband Chauncey. I really don’t know if I want to even look in his face! I remembered the day when they interviewed his Daddy on TV and he took up for him, can you believe that! I don’t understand why it takes so long to convict someone after a domestic violence case, he did it !so, what’s the holdup and waste of taxpayers dollars! After two years I am still angry at him for taking her away from her kids, family, & friends. If I had the chance to face him I have one question, Why? I now know that Roslyn’s in a better place, and he can’t control her anymore. by the way, Nay was right it wasn’t over a TV.


