Violence in the home is a very real social problem

A concerned relative of Peggy Lail, 45, contacted police and asked them to go to her home. Reportedly Peggy Lail was married to Timothy Lail, 48. However the couple was estranged and living in two different states. Allegedly Timothy Lail was upset that Peggy Lail had begun a new relationship.

Police arrived at the mobile home about 10 am. They were unable to get a response from anyone inside the home so they forced their way in, and found Timothy Lail and Peggy Lail inside, both dead from gunshot wounds to the head.

Reportedly Timothy Lail had purchased a gun out of state and drove to the home of Peggy Lail. Police say that Timothy Lail shot Peggy Lail, before shooting himself.

While police were doing the investigation on the Lail murder/suicide, and while media was still getting the information out, police got another call.

A concerned neighbor contacted police and requested a welfare check of a couple who had not been seen for two days. When police arrived about 10:45 pm, they found cars in the driveway, lights and a television on inside the home. Police found the couple dead in a bedroom. There was no indication of anyone else being involved and it is believed the man shot his wife, then shot himself. The couple have not been named pending notification of relatives.

The two murder-suicides are not thought to be related.

The sheriff had this to say “Violence in the home is a very real social problem everywhere in the country,” “It’s tragic, and it touches us all in some way.”

wistv.com           indexjournal.com                  

thestate.com             newschannel5.com

I am separating this article out, as it contains some information about domestic violence in South Carolina.

Nationwide, domestic violence is the  leading cause of injuries to women ages 15-44. It is more common than auto accidents, muggings, and cancer combined. Nationwide, more than 3 women are killed by their husbands or boyfriends each day.

South Carolina ranks 6 th in the nation in women killed by intimate partners. Within the last month there have been 2 other domestic violence related deaths (one was the Rainey family). Many more details about domestic violence in the article.

The director of the domestic violence shelter has this message “I believe women are safer in shelters,”  adding that safety “is something we focus on on a day-to-day basis.” “If we could just get the message out that, even if you choose to live with someone (such as a friend or family member), we would like for you to make contact with us.”

SC Attorney General says “There are women alive today who will not be alive this time next year because of the scourge of domestic violence.”

indexjournal.com

4 Comments

  1. Kristina Lail said,

    October 3, 2007 at 6:33 pm

    The last name above should be Lail not Vail. Please make that correction if you are able too. I am their daughter. It has been exactly 1 year that I have not had a mom or a dad. I miss them both… more every day that goes by. As with any of these stories there are 2 sides and we rarely get to hear both if either of them. To this day this still doesn’t make sence to me. My father never owned a gun, he never hit my mother, he loved her with all of his heart and could not live without her. My mother wanted a different life. They had been together since they were only children, she was about 12 years old I think. Maybe she was never happy, maybe she had always wanted a differnet life, maybe she had never loved him at all… but what some of us grow tired of, others of us grow fond of. I don’t know who to blame, I spend most of my time blaming myself, seeing all the signs of what I could have done differently. That doesn’t change anything though, so I have almost given up on that. I never got to talk to the police or investigators, I was too shook up at the time it happened. I have spent the last year with different stories and explanations from each side of the family that conflict with each other. I may never find the answers that I seek. I guess you never really know anybody, people change, good people can still become bad people… if that’s the case, maybe bad people can still become good people. For what it’s worth… we should all think about our actions before we act, you never know who you might be hurting. It wasn’t just a murder-suicide, it killed a part of me too and took away 2 people that will never be able to be replaced. I’ll have no one to walk me down the isle at my wedding, my children will have no grandparents, there will always be a void in my life. I spoke to one or both of them everyday for 25 years… I never said what I really needed to say, I never thought I wouldn’t have a chance. It’s been a year, with no one to talk to, no one like my mom or dad at least.

    -Kristina

  2. October 3, 2007 at 8:22 pm

    Katrina I apolige for my error and I thank you for pointing it out so that I could make the correction.
    Domestic violence often leaves a lot of guilt feelings in family members and especially the children of the couple. You loved both of them, you lost both of them and you miss both of them. That is nothing to feel guilty about. You knew your Dad in the context of Father- and that is separate from the context of your parents being married or of how the deaths occurred. You may find yourself having periods of anger at either of your parents- and that is ok too. Anger is a known result of the grieving process. The anniversary of their deaths is coming up and I am sure that is causing you some additional pressure. I can tell you that the first year is the very hardest because it is still new and fresh. As time goes by it doesn’t necessarily get any easier, but you do get more accustomed to it. I am wondering if you might consider getting a counselor for some short term grief counseling? It might help you to sort all this out in your mind and make it easier to live with.
    As far as other family, we all see events in the context of our own relationship to the events/participants and sometimes that does color how we perceive it. So when you hear the conflicting stories, keep that in mind. They may not be wrong in how they saw things, but that doesn’t make you wrong either.

  3. Kristina Lail said,

    October 9, 2007 at 1:28 pm

    Thank you for your comments. If anyone has any further information, suggestions or comments, please feel free to email me. I do not wish to continue public comments.

    Thank you,
    Kristina
    kristinamlail@yahoo.com

  4. Dan Vittoria said,

    December 13, 2009 at 11:32 pm

    Kristina,
    It’s Dan from ole Virginny. I’m sorry about your loss and the questions that one always asks themselves in these situations. Also, I’m very sorry that I couldn’t make your wedding. You have no idea what hell I’ve been going through the last few years. Todd is ok but also has his own serious issues. Hope that otherwise you are well, and you still had a nice wedding without me (must have been hard I know). Drop me a line if you see this.

    Love,
    Dan


