On the way to church

Alveda Edwards, 43, was on her way to her church services on Sunday. Active in her church it has been reported that she was there at least twice a week. Family has said that she liked to go to the early services so that she could spend time with the grandchildren in Sunday School.

Mrs. Edwards was married to Tommy Edwards Jr, 46, and the relationship has been described as ‘tumultuous’. The parents of two adult children had been living separately for about 6 months. Allegedly Mrs. Edwards may have been planning on getting a divorce.

One family member described Tommy Edwards as intense. “Tommy was an intense person,” “He was a smart person, a smart worker. But he had an intense personality.” Reportedly he was a member of the church, but hadn’t attended for years. Records have shown that Edwards has a criminal record with several arrests for fraud, assault, burglary, and robbery in the late 70’s and early 80’s. Reportedly Edwards may have made a threat against Mrs. Edwards and other family members last week.

In the church parking lot on Sunday, witnesses say that Tommy Edwards was there and the couple argued. It was reported that Edwards appeared to be irate and pulled a gun and shot Alveda Edwards in the face multiple times. She was later prounced dead at the hospital. Edwards fled the scene.

On Monday Edwards walked into the jail lobby and turned himself in. Reportedly what led up to the shooting was that he didn’t want the divorce. Edwards has been charged with murder.

wfaa.com

kristv.com

wfaa.com

The relationship has been described as ‘tumultuous’ and though I often see that used in describing relationships which involved domestic violence, it certainly has other meanings. There doesn’t appear to have been any arrests for previous domestic violence and I didn’t see where police had made any statements regarding any previous complaints.

Certainly any threats made should be taken serious if the couple is in the process of a breakup. Because a separation/divorce can be such an emotionally traumatic time, even if you don’t think they are serious, even if you don’t think they would ever follow through, even if you don’t think they would have the nerve- take it serious and take action to protect yourself.

Also, if a couple is in the process of a divorce/separation and one partner shows up in a place they are not known to frequent, at a time that the other partner is there, that should be taken seriously. Don’t rely on the fact that other people are there. Often they don’t care. They know they will be suspects and the other witnesses could be in danger if they attempt to interfere.

5 Comments

  1. Stephanie Edwards said,

    April 17, 2007 at 5:35 pm

    Alveda was/is my aunt, and I will miss her very deeply. I honestly can’t believe why her husband would do something like that to her, she was a sweet loving, caring and giving person. I can’t even visit Hamilton Park(where she and her husband were from, and met.) without my eye’s tearing up. I believe that Tommy Edwards should rot in jail, and then rot in hell for what he did. He is my uncle, but I considered Veda my aunt more than I considered Tommy my uncle. I’ve known her for all of my life, and because of him a beautiful,loving,caring, and giving person isn’t here anymore. I’ve asked the Lord to search my heart and soul and help me find a way to forgive him, God isn’t through with me yet, and I can’t forget…. VEDA IS AN ANGLE AND I KNOW THAT SHE IS WATCHING OVER ME.

  2. April 17, 2007 at 8:30 pm

    Stephanie, my condolences to you and your family. For you to come here and speak so highly of her really speaks a lot to what kind of a woman she was. Forgiveness takes time, it doesn’t happen all at once. And it is different from forgetting. You won’t ever forget.
    But with time the pain will get bearable and one day you will find you are ready to give some measure of forgiveness.

  3. Ashley Johnson said,

    April 20, 2007 at 7:37 pm

    When I was younger, I had the privilege of being in contact with Alveda AKA “Veda” by way of my cousin Stephanie. Even though it wasn’t all the time, there is no way you could ever forget her smile or her “bubbly” spirit.I send my condolences and my prayers to her family and her children. Although it may be hard to deal with the tragic loss of a loved one, always remember to keep God first and he will help you make it through even when you feel you can’t! Prayer is the key to a sound mind and a forgiving heart.

  4. SHAREKA ROBINSON said,

    April 23, 2007 at 3:02 pm

    I ATTEND GREENVILLE AVE. AND AS LONG AS I HAVE BEEN A MEMBER I CAN ALWAYS REMEMBER MRS VEDA ALWAYS COMING UP TO MY MOTHER AND I TO SPEAK. SHE HAD A BEAUTIFUL VOICE AND SMILE. LAST YEAR WHEN I WHEN I BECAME PREGNANT, SHE WAS JUST AS EXCITED AS EVERYONE ELSE IN MY FAMILY. I WAS PLACED ON BED REST IN THE HOSPITAL FOR TWO MONTHS AND SHE ALWAYS ASKED MY MOM ABOUT ME AND THE LAST WE SPOKE. SHE SAID”GIRL YOU STILL AIN’T HAD THAT BABY” WHATS HE WAITING ON?” THE DAY I BROUGHT MY SON TO CHURCH FOR THE FIRST TIME WAS THE DAY THAT TOMMY EDWARDS COWARD ACTS TOOK HER LIFE. I COULD NOT WAIT TO SEE HER THAT DAY.NOT A DAY GOES BY THAT I DO NOT THINK OF HER.I DID NOT KNOW THAT I COULD FEEL SO HURT AND SAD ABOUT SOMEONE WHO I ONLY KNEW OF. NOT A SUNDAY GOES BY THAT I DO NOT LOOK BACK AT HER SEAT AND STILL EXPECT TO SEE HER. THIS WHOLE ORDEAL FEELS SURREAL.I HAVE ALSO NEVER FELT SO MUCH HATE TOWARDS SOMEONE I NEVER KNEW. I PRAY EVERYDAY THAT GOD CAN HELP ME REMOVE THE HATE THAT IHAVE FOR THIS MAN. HEAVEN COULD NOT HAVE ASK FOR A BETTER ANGEL THAN MRS VEDA.

  5. Karen Pearson said,

    June 14, 2007 at 4:53 am

    My heart goes out to the children of this couple. I went to school with her son Tommy, so it hurt to know he was hurt. A friend and I went to see him the next day, just to talk and let him know we were here.

    Tommy if you have a chance to read this, just know I love you and I will always be here.
    Til me meet again!!!

    Love,
    Karen


