“You Just Want to Hug”

A kid “You just want to hug” is how one relative described the 6 year old son of Jeannine Nyies, 30. But that is not what Nyies and her boyfriend Ian Anderson, 32, are accused of doing.

An anonymous complaint was received by the police department. So they responded to check on the boy. What they found has shaken both the police and children’s service workers.

The child had a fear of spiders, and he was allegedly told there were spiders in the basement, before he was tied up and gagged and left in the basement for hours. He was reportedly beaten with a spatula so hard that his skin tore in places. Allegedly they beat him and used duct tape to tie him up in awkward and uncomfortable positions for hours.

Allegedly the boy was afraid of Anderson so he began tiptoeing around the house. Allegedly when Anderson caught him doing that he made the boy stand on his tiptoes until he collapsed.

The boy had told relatives details about the treatment he had been receiving. The boy was taken to the hospital, and no information was released about his condition. When released he will be put into the custody of his father.

Nyies and Anderson have been charged with 1 st degree child abuse and felony torture. A prosecutor had this to say “I’ve never seen a case this severe where the, frankly where the victim didn’t die.” 

Allegedly the boys injuries indicate this was not one time abuse, rather the injuries suggest they occurred over a period of time. The couple are reported to have been dating about 9 months. 

http://www.mlive.com/news/jacitpat/index.ssf?/base/news-18/1155377150185320.xml&coll=3

http://www.wlns.com/Global/story.asp?S=5272442&nav=0RbQ

http://www.mlive.com/newsflash/michigan/index.ssf?/base/news-36/1155358172183810.xml&storylist=newsmichigan

http://www.wlns.com/Global/story.asp?S=5272513

Six year olds are usually curious, always asking questions and talking with a frankness that they will lose later as they grow older. When deeply involved in playtime fantasies, they can get loud and mischievous. Yet when they smile their little gap toothed grins, they are easy to forgive.

Yet this little boy was so afraid of the boyfriend that he tiptoed around him. And even that caused him to be punished.

Authorities are being very quiet as to the boy’s injuries, but the psychological abuse he suffered is pretty evident. Would it be any wonder if the child began to think he was being punished just for being alive?

At the age of 6, many children still have irrational fears of monsters in the closet or under the bed when they are put to bed at night. Yet this little boy had a fear of spiders. Not an uncommon fear, one that many adults share with him. Yet he was tied up and gagged and put into the basement where he believed (and there probably were) spiders.

He has physical injuries, but there are indications that he might be expected to recover from those. But the question I have, is how severe are the psychological injuries this child received?

9 Comments

  1. barngoddess said,

    August 12, 2006 at 5:28 pm

    people like this deserve the death penalty, its time we had a no tolerance policy for human sewege like these types of creeps. we have NO ROOM in our society for people who abuse, hurt, or prey on innocent children.

  2. Diane said,

    August 12, 2006 at 7:39 pm

    When I read of people preying on the weakest, most trusting of our society, the children, it never fails to sicken me. The people who are capable of torturing a trusting, innocent child are, in my opinion, the worst offenders there are. They are the true “Monsters in the closet”.

  3. Mark Avery said,

    August 26, 2006 at 7:41 am

    I don’t know why you would want the couple to get the death penalty? They didn’t cause any permanent harm to the boy. I think the boyfriend probably just got annoyed with the kid so he just tied the kid up. I’m not saying it was ok to do this; he just didn’t know what else to do. Some people just find little kids annoying. It sounds like the couple need some parenting classes or should just have gotten the kid a video game system so the kid could play that and not bother people.

  4. Lori said,

    August 26, 2006 at 5:23 pm

    Reply to Mark Avery: You’re kidding right? are you that ignorant that you suggest a video game to occupy his time will do the trick! and “They didn’t cause any permanent harm to the boy.” Come on! Some people don’t want or like kids and that’s fine, no one can force you to be a parent or spend time with kids if you really can’t stand them. I always wonder what type of idiot in the justice system or social services system allows freaks like these adults to walk free or get kids back after an occurance like this….but now I see it’s people like you with some really mixed up mode of thinking that “oh well it wasn’t that bad so lets just drop the issue and give the kid back…..” then the kid ends up dead and every NORMAL thinking RESPONSIBLE person says “how did this case slip through the cracks” When a parent or care giver is annoyed with a kid, you usually send the kid to their room or find a movie and something to occupy his time. you don’t duct tape him or beat him with a kitchen utensil, to me it seems like this guy had an anger problem and decided to take it out on a much smaller person who had no defense. Come on, how much of a man could he be if he had to torture a child. As for the mother, she didn’t do anything about it and I have my own opinion of that… Anyway the death penalty is a little harsh, but prison for a few years would be perfect…criminals really hate two types of crimes the most…those that are sexual and those that involce children, so lets send them to prison and see how they are after they come out.

  5. Mark Avery said,

    August 30, 2006 at 8:46 am

    I didn’t say that it was ok what the parents did; I just thought that the first post proposing the death penalty was way too harsh. I am not sure what the problem is with giving kids video games to play. This way they don’t bother people. The kids like the games anyway.

  6. Lori said,

    August 30, 2006 at 3:37 pm

    Thanks for clarifying your thoughts….distracting the child will only work for a while. I have a 4 and a 5 year old and no matter how interesting something is, it will only work for a period of time. Plus you cannot “distract” a child for 24 hours. I mean no disrespect to you, but am curious if you have children and if you do, do you play an active part in their day to day activities? The answer cannot always be “give them a video game” because while they are playing that game they will still come to you and ask for things or just run around with the typical energy of a child. For example, while I write this I have been interupted about 8 times already, they want juice, or to ask a question, or a good example, my son who is 4 just came running out to the living room, wiggled and giggled at me and ran back to the bedroom to watch cartoons, he’s pretending he’s Tom and Jerry. Sure there are times I just want to pull my hair out or I just want to run and hide from them behind the bathroom door, but to actually think of and carry out the torture that these people did to this child takes a sinister and cruel mind. I can understand a flash of anger when the kid does something like takes crayons to your new white linolium floors, but the flash of anger disappears, and you send the kids to time out or a spank to the butt or take away the crayons, but to tie him up and spank him with a spatula until it breaks skin is unthinkable. It sounds like these people didn’t let it go and didn’t stop themselves from doing it over and over to this poor kid. To top it off this was not even the childs father, it was the mothers boyfriend! I’m sorry, but NO boyfriend is worth the skin he’s in if he’s going to do ANYTHING to my child, the mother should have protected her child at all costs and dumped the boyfriend, but instead it looks like she joined him in the abuse to her own son. (Make the interuptions about 12 now) I would think that the time it takes to duct tape the child in uncomfortable positions, that the anger that lead you to think of this would lessen and you’d realize that this is not something that’s OK to do to a child, and at the very least, grab your child and hug them and ask for forgivness. Sorry for being long winded, but I am just so passionate about these things because of the vulnerability of a child and the fact that we as adults are their sole caregivers and protecters and this is the kind of behavior some people choose to participate in and allow. I just hate it and My heart just aches for the children in these homes who have no normalcy and they go to bed in pain or afraid each night. There was a case here a few years ago that a 2 year old boy was beaten so bad he died. My son was 2 at the time and it just hit so close to my heart. The autopsy showed that the injuries were so severe that there was probably not a day in his life that he was not hit or beaten to some extent! I actually cried myself to sleep each night thinking of my own 2 year old boy and the horror the other 2 year old went through. So my emotions became involved when I read your first post about “They didn’t cause any permanent harm to the boy.” The harm actually is permanent because of the emotional and mental scars the boy will have the rest of his life. The interuption count is about 20 now and I’m going to go watch cartoons with my kids and have a tickle fest with them now…..

  7. Kid's Dad said,

    September 4, 2006 at 9:18 pm

    Dear Lori, thank you for your heartfelt response and concern for my son. To Mark I personally do not feel that the death penalty is too harsh of a punishment for this crime. If you could have heard his screams in terror and pain from things you and I would call ordinary everyday life you would probably feel the same. To anyone else, thank you for your prayers and concerns for my son. I cannot reveal my name or my son’s name at this time and I hope all of you understand why. He is doing better physically but I am afraid that his menatl scarring will be longlasting. I think that I will go and spend some time with my kids now. Thank you.

  8. September 5, 2006 at 2:39 am

    Kid’s Dad, it is quite all right that you haven’t used your name, and I do understand.
    The mental injuries are usually harder to heal and longer lasting than the physical injuries. But with love and support it can be done over time. Someday maybe you can tell him that people he doesn’t even know are sending him prayers and best wishes. And that we are glad the bad times are now over for him.

  9. Lori said,

    September 5, 2006 at 6:43 pm

    Kid’s dad….Thank you for being the kind of dad you sound like…I’m so happy to hear that you are with him and that you sound very responsive to his needs. Tell him that even though he doesn’t know me, He is in my thoughts and my heart, remind him every day that he did nothing wrong and it is not his fault. An old saying I heard once will always stick with me…. This Too Shall Pass…… Each day that goes by will only make the past more distant and with luck he will heal mentally and physically a little every day. give him an extra hug every day from me and best wishes to you both.


