All over a television program

Sarah Consorti, 25, and Anthony Miller, 31, allegedly got in a heated argument over a television program. Amid quite a bit of scuffling, both received injuries.

Along with their injuries, there were a broken knife, a broken window, and 2 broken cell phones. Miller is alleged to have attempted to prevent Consorti from calling for assistance in the home, so she managed to get to a neighbors home to make the call.

Police who responded to the home were unable to determine who was the aggressor, so they arrested both and both were charged with domestic assault with injury. Miller was additionally charged with obstruction of emergency communications for allegedly preventing Consorti from calling 911.

Consorti is in her 7 th month of pregnancy, so before the trip to the jail, she was taken to the hospital for a checkup.

http://desmoinesregister.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20060718/NEWS/60718023/1001

The article is very much worth reading, as it details quite a bit of the argument.

Another reason police officers don’t like domestic calls, is that it can be hard to determine who the aggressor is. Assuming that one person is the aggressor, and one person is defending themselves- only the two involved know what actually happened. And each story is often slanted according to who is telling it. Sometimes they can go by the injuries. But injuries can be caused by self defense also. Sometimes it is difficult to tell which are aggressive injuries and which are defensive injuries.

So that is another point about staying in an abusive relationship. Not only are you risking injury or even death. Not only are you increasing the risks of your child being injured. You are also risking being charged with domestic violence yourself.

I don’t know if this relationship was abusive as a whole, there is no documention on any previous history. But from what is said about this argument, I would say both parties should be re-evaluating both themselves and their relationship. It sounds as though it might be time to get some outside help.

4 Comments

  1. Anthony Miller said,

    October 11, 2006 at 9:35 pm

    First of all I would like to say that I feel domestic violence is wrong. Second of all I would like to say that I think this site has the potential to serve as a positive resource for readers, and make people think twice about their actions, or the actions of others and how they are affected by them. That being said, I also feel that too often people assume that the male is responsible. Statistically and historically, men are most often the aggressors in these matters, however that is not always the case.

    I would also like to say that you were right when you said that “only the two involved know what really happened.” For the record, “Sarah” suffers from a mental disorder known as “bipolar disorder.” The fact that she is currently non-compliant with any sort of medication or treatment whatsoever could also draw further questions regarding these matters. Although there is no “record” of any “prior history of abuse-” it did, in fact, exist. Previously there had been repeated incidents of mental, emotional, and physical abuse in the relationship at the hands of Miss Consorti. Not only in this situation, but in two of the three relationships that she was involved in prior to this one. I know this because I have personally spoken to the two men (whose names will be omitted for obvious reasons) in depth regarding her irrational, explosive, and delusional behavior.

    Similar to the fact that women often times do not report abuse out of “fear,” or the fact that they thought they “deserved it,” (prior to this incident) I did not report her behavior out of “shame.” I think most men would find it hard to report abuse at the hands of their female spouse (short of something life-threatening) for the very same reason. From all that I gathered having talked with her ex-boyfriends, I deduct that this same feeling was mutual among all three of us…

    Initially I had intended of giving “my side of the story” play by play and explaining in depth the details of the situation, but (like much of what has been said thus far) that is hearsay. I will simply say that although there were actions on my part (prior to “physical” assault by either party) which are rightfully considered “violent” and ultimately “wrong,” that any physical contact at my end was in pure self-defense. If you so desire, I would be more than happy to provide you with copies of both police reports, as well as pictures of the injuries and allow you to draw your own conclusions.

    At the time that the article which you have linked here was written, the writer, Tom Alex, did not have available to him both reports, only that of Miss Consorti. After the article ran, I contacted Mr. Alex to discuss the situation, at which time he informed me that he was not provided with the report which I had filed. I provided him with a copy of my report, and subsequently a retraction or “follow up” story was published (a day or two later) and he expressed his understanding in the matter and wished me well. You may want to add that link in addition to the existing one, as having one without the other is like having the hammer and no nails.

    I might also mention that based on the evidence, the district attorney opted not to prosecute me in these matters, and the charges against me were ultimately dismissed. As a result, my “record” (which prior to this incident- did not exist) has been expunged of the assault charge.

    My career is directly involved in the legal process, and needless to say, just being involved in this entire debachle (despite the outcome and the facts) has tarnished my reputation beyond belief. This whole thing has had a direct effect on my livelyhood, and in turn that of my children.

    My best advice to any person, man or woman, is that if you are involved in a relationship where there is violence or abuse of any kind, GET OUT NOW! Regardless of weather you are the victim, the agressor, GET OUT! Statistically, “things DON’T get better,” in fact, they get worse. Even if you love the person and care for them deeply, it is best for all parties involved to get out of that situation and do not allow yourself to be treated this way!

    (pertaining to my personal experience) If your wife/girlfriend is abusive, GET OUT NOW! Do NOT “take it,” and do not feel “ashamed” for what has happened to you. Walk away. Not from the incident, from the relationship. “Walking away” only goes so far. “Walking away” only stops it temporarily. “Walking away” can actually escalate the situation, and in the case that you may find yourself in a position where you have to defend yourself, you may also find yourself in jail. Something to think about..

    I would like to thank the host(s) of this site for their time and consideration, and for allowing me the opportunity to post my thoughts here.

    – A. Miller

  2. October 11, 2006 at 11:11 pm

    Anthony Miller, thank you for the update. I checked Des Moines Register and could not find the article you mentioned. If you post the link in the comments, I will update the post.

  3. Anthony Miller said,

    October 15, 2006 at 3:29 am

    I searched as well and was unable to locate a link. You might go to the initial article and click on the columnist’s name and request a link. He is a very nice fellow and I am sure that he would be more than happy to send you a link.

  4. October 4, 2007 at 2:40 am

    […] Order) Tags: , 2nd, Child, restraints July 18, 2006 I wrote about a case in the post All over a television program. About a couple who got into an altercation and both persons were ultimately arrested. Anthony […]


