“It’s a first for us, to turn yourself in and bring the evidence with you”

One of Mary N. Knight’s sons says that Tanya Torrence was at the home Saturday night and wanted to borrow Knight’s van to move a scooter. Knight was the mother of Torrence’s former boyfriend and Torrence had been staying with her for a few days. The two left and when they did not return by Sunday morning, the family reported her missing as a suspected abduction.

Knight’s family says that Torrence had dated Knight’s younger son Ronnie for about 6 years, but they broke up this spring. Knight was on medication for high blood pressure and heart problems and left home without her medication.

On Mon. police say that Tonya Torrence calmly walked into a police station in another state about 270 miles away and told police she was the one they were looking for. She also told them there was a body in the van she had driven to the station. Police had been monitoring Torrence’s cell phone signal, and had alerted police in the area to be on alert for Torrence.

Police found what they believe to be the body of Mary Knight, 72, in the van outside the police station. She had been shot twice in the chest. Autopsy and positive identification by the coroner’s office had not been completed.

Police are not giving a motive for the crime or why Torrence turned herself in. What they are saying is “It’s a first for us, to turn yourself in and bring the evidence with you.”

Torrence is expected to be charged with murder, abduction and firearms offenses in one state, and is being held on abuse of a corpse and fugitive charges in the second state.

http://www.philly.com/mld/inquirer/news/local/14962736.htm

http://home.hamptonroads.com/stories/story.cfm?story=107035&ran=32865 

Many times if a child has a long term relationship, after the relationship is over the family may still feel some attachment to the person. So it isn’t really surprising that when Torrence showed up asking for assistance, that the family might agree to help.

Yet no matter how family members feel about the breakup, there is often a bit of tension there. Police say that an argument occured between Torrence and Knight while they were out in the van. I can’t help but wonder if the argument had something to do with the previous relationship or whether it was related to Torrence staying with her.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

State charges are about to be dropped, as federal charges of kidnapping resulting in death have been issued. Torrence alleges that while the two were driving, there was an exchange of words. And allegedly Torrence has stated that she took the gun out and “She asked me what I was going to do with that and I told her that I was going to show Ronnie how it felt to throw people away.”  “I was going to shoot myself in front of her and she grabbed my arm and I tried to pull over to the shoulder and then she grabbed the steering wheel while I was trying to pull over.” Reportedly “I was slowing down and we had more words and I shot her the first time and when I stopped I shot her again.”

content.hamptonroads.com

11 Comments

  1. Soobs said,

    July 7, 2006 at 2:30 am

    Even if the argument did occur, why was she carrying a gun???

  2. July 7, 2006 at 4:07 am

    Good question.

  3. Newbee said,

    August 18, 2006 at 1:59 pm

    Why do you assume that what is written in the papers is the full story? I think it’s irresponsible to comment on this as if you have spoken to someone directly involved in the events, i.e. the suspect or the family. No one knows what happened in between the time those two people left the house and the day Torrence went to the police station, except that Ms. Knight was no longer alive. The police aren’t even sure exactly what happened. Classifying this as domestic violence is a stretch…

  4. August 18, 2006 at 9:41 pm

    What I have written is what is public knowlege. And I documented my sources, and did not imply I had spoken to anyone. If you see something that is incorrect, you are free to correct it.
    I made no reference as to any violence prior to the murder, because I never saw any references to any.
    I get the feeling that this may be someone close to you. If so, I am sorry for what has happened, and for the upset that it has brought to you. But not talking about it will not make it go away.

  5. jenny said,

    January 8, 2008 at 4:16 am

    Just reading this…Tanya has always been a very violent person.

  6. Kizzy_yea right! said,

    January 10, 2008 at 12:55 am

    WHERE ARE TANYA CHILDREN??? Tanya, has always been a little loco, vicious liar…

  7. kim said,

    December 22, 2008 at 3:18 pm

    I was best friends with tanya for years. She was a wonderful person and mother. I am so shocked to hear that this has happened. I just don’t understand what could have happen to her in the ten years we’ve lost contact. She was never a violent person. She was apart of my family, she baby sat my kids and worked as a day care teacher with kids. I visited her 10 yrs ago in virgina beach and she was still the tanya I knew. What happened?? And where are the girls?

  8. BABYDADDY said,

    March 17, 2009 at 5:17 pm

    It hurts, but she always has had anger issues. She treated me like dirt. Spitting, hitting, and violent behavior. I actually feel good about never hitting her. I tried to alert her family, but they like most family swore it was me. I actually thought that it was me, but if they would have listen this might not have happened. My/our children hate me. I have to live with it. I find myself crying alot, because I thought that ‘one day’ we would get back together. I honestly still love her crazy ass. Althought her mother continues to be the same ‘hateful person’. I know that her mom is a good person, because without her my kids would be up the creek and I actually love her for that. How can I hate her. I owe her the world. I pray that one day I will have a friendship with my daughters. I know that genetics is strong and one day whatever so small fraction of me will resurface in my children, because they are missing out on a part who they are…ME. It ain’t that bad. I am loved by many and hated by few. I really love the girl. She was and always will be my girl. I cry like a ‘broad’ knowing that she will die in prison. The part that hurts most of all is the part that she was getting ‘Hi’…..she would not even drink a wine cooler…..I know and GOD know that if I would have known about what was going on somebody would …pay…..dearly…..I find myself shaking as I think about it….it is like a part of me has died……

  9. BABYDADDY said,

    March 24, 2009 at 5:00 pm

    It is funny how certain people acted like Tangie was not molested…..by you know who..(Your Husband)…You ignored it and act like it never happened….you have always been PHONY…….You still are……I don’t hate you……but GOD….Knows about your phony ass…..I hurt so much for Tangie that I could not abandon her….back in the day….She started acting like you….So I guess it was best that we separated…she probaly would have killed me or my mother….you put so much hate in that girl….everyone knows that you are a fraud……she told me how you treated her…different from your other children…..You have played a major part in this….You think you know every damn thing……..Its so funny how in 1994 I told that she treated me like a piece of trash…and in 2006 she told her boyfriend the samething…Carma….it is funny how it happens…
    …..

  10. BABYDADDY said,

    March 27, 2009 at 4:37 pm

    I find myself waking up at night thinking about my daughters….I think that I have dreamed about them every night this week….the youngest stays on my mind…..The oldest one I know will be alright because she is like me….It is something about genetics….I strongly believe in genetics…..Tangie is just like her mother……Thats why she did what she did …..Vindictive…She wanted to make the guy ‘Ronnie’ hurt…The only way she could do that was hurt his mother…she did the same to me, but it was with my children…She turn them against me with lies….I even try to this day to call and her mother will not let me talk to them…..She had her small town police call me and say that I was harrassing her….He told me that he knew that I was not harrassing her. He said I sounded like I wanted to see my kids ….I remember my two girls waking up one day and running in the room and happily screaming ‘daddy’ ! Tangie said, “You don’t run to your daddy, you run to your mommy!” They were kids they did not know they were children…..They loved their daddy…..jealousy…..it was crazy!

  11. BABYDADDY said,

    March 27, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    I use to see Tangie on the internet doing preverted stuff with multiple partners, but I never said anything…….She would tell me that she was working as a mental health counselor, but I did not say anything I just went along with it…..I have friends In Hampton Roads who knew Ronnie..He washed cars for a living…..I knew the truth, but I could not do anything… The court system would not give you any info….They said that I would have to hire a lawyer to find that out …I was paying child support in two state for the two girls…I live in Washington, DC…Its expensive…I could not afford it….I would have to go through her mother for info….It was not worth dealing with her….Every time I woud talk to Tangie she would say,” they don’t want anything to do with you.” So it appears that I have abandon my children, but that is not the case….She didn’t want me to findout how she was living…..I have always paid my child support or I would be in jail or without a license….I called and ask my daughter what did I do ?….She could not tell me…..Her grandmother just did not want me to talk to her…Why? I have never been lock up or in any trouble…..It is just the the source of where Tangie got her hate…..Vindictive…I could be wrong…It is just my opinion…..and you know how that goes… everyone has one


