It’s a judgement call

A 5 year old boy went to school Fri. and teachers noticed what appeared to be bruises on him. They called the Department of Families and that agency called the sheriff.

An examination of the child revealed bruising to  “his face, his chin, his left ear, right lower lip, and broken vessels around both sides of his neck, chest and under both arms.”

Police say that 31-year-old Timothy Otworth has admitted to hitting the boy in the face with an open hand, several times on Thurs. Allegedly he also told them that he held a pillow over his face to stop him from screaming. Reportedly the bruises on his neck came from being grabbed by the neck from behind, and squeezed. From what Otworth told investigators, the boy “was talking back and misbehaving”. The boy’s 8 year old sister told a sheriff’s detective that Otworth put the boy in a corner, then hit him in the face 5 times. After that she was sent to her room.

Otworth was the mother’s boyfriend. He is reported to be 5’11” and 165 lbs and works as a laborer. Allegedly he called the mother 30-year-old Lottie Holdren after the ‘incident’ and told her what had happened and that he had bruised the boy’s face. Allegedly Holdren first told investigators that she was not aware of her son’s injuries until Fri. morning. Later she allegedly admitted that she knew prior to that. Before sending the boy to school on Fri. she allegedly attempted to cover the bruises with makeup. “She had told the child that she was doing it so nobody would see the bruises.”

Holdren told police that the reason she didn’t call police was that she was afraid of the effect it would have on her job and professional license. She is a registered nurse at a hospital.

Because of the injuries being concentrated to the head and neck area and due to the seriousness of the injuries, Otworth has been charged with attempted murder for the beating. Holdren has been charged with child neglect and failing to report child abuse. Otworth is being held without bail, and Holdren has not yet paid her $11,000 bail.

Otworth’s family have hired their own investigator for a separate ‘investigation’.

The boy is now in the custody of Children’s services. There was no indication of the status of the girl.

http://www.wftv.com/news/9427934/detail.html

http://www.ocala.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20060625/NEWS/206250378/1001/NEWS01

Ok, ‘mother’ is a registered nurse. Nurses work with sick and helpless people. They provide both direct care to the patient and supervisory care over the patient. Most often they follow doctors orders and established medical practice. But ever so often, they do have to make judgment calls.

There is nothing in the article that ‘mother’ made the boyfriend move out on Thurs. after hearing of her son’s abuse. There is nothing said about the ‘mother’ having someone to go pick the kids up and provide care for them until she could take over. She did not make a report to police or Dept. of Family Services (in most states nurses are mandatory reporters for child abuse, though I am not sure about this state).

Makes you wonder about her judgment, doesn’t it?

50 Comments

  1. Soobs said,

    June 27, 2006 at 3:44 am

    What judgement. When I read of these cases, where the children are the same age as my kids, I don’t know who to be angrier at……the “boyfriend” (why is it usually the boyfriend or the girlfriend?) or the “mother”? A mandatory reporter, at the very least, and the one person who should protect their child, at all costs. I hope to high Heaven, she’ll be fired from her job.

  2. June 27, 2006 at 3:49 am

    She would just get another one. Best case scenario would be if she loses her license……..but that will be iffy since the crime wasn’t committed on the job. Though it might be getting harder for her to get another job. They say more and more employers are Googling potential employees now.

  3. WIP said,

    June 27, 2006 at 3:52 pm

    I would bet that this woman has also been a victim of abuse, and therefore lacks the ability to determine what constitutes abuse. However, being a parent and guardian of her children, this is no excuse for allowing them to suffer abuse by anyone, especially someone they have no choice but to live with. And where’s the children’s father in all of this?

    I truly wish those kids much luck in landing in a safe, nurturing environment, and hope that her employer, if they choose to allow her to stay on, will insist on counselling and training in abuse detection & reporting.

  4. June 27, 2006 at 4:55 pm

    Thanks for your comment WP. I admit, I wondered if she hadn’t been a target of some abuse from this guy. But she was apparently at work, away from him, when she recieved the call from this guy telling her about the abuse. (at least according to Otworth). So she had options.
    And according to the child, he had been hit in the face before, to the point that his nose bled. So it doesn’t seem to be an isolated incident.
    And police made no mention that she complained of any abuse to herself or expressed any fear of Otworth. According to them, she feared for her medical license.

  5. sweetiepie said,

    July 1, 2006 at 11:26 am

    The woman was married to the boys father and had an affair with this guy, then, took the kids and moved from Ohio to Florida. From my understanding, the boyfriend had been in trouble with the law before. Her husband [boys father] seemed like a really nice guy. I don’t know why she chose to leave him for this other guy. In not taking her son to the ER, to make sure he had no serious injuries, and not reporting the abuse, she seemed to be protecting the boyfriend. I mean, come on, did she really think she would lose her nurses license for reporting that her boyfriend beat the living daylights out of her son? Give me a break!!! I hope they BOTH serve time. A LONG LONG time!!

  6. Frank said,

    July 1, 2006 at 1:22 pm

    I think all of you will be surprised at the outcome of this. The news has greatly exaggerated this to make it news worthy. The mother probably did not report because it was her. Her own family won’t bail her out…That right there says volumes to me. My parents would move mountains to help me and their grandchildren. The boys father, a police officer from Ohio doesn’t beleive “HE” did it either. Sit back and watch this unfold and you’ll see. Until then, I would not “judge” too harshly. If I were him, I would be sueing for defamation of character when this is all over.

  7. July 1, 2006 at 3:31 pm

    I wondered why the Otworth family began their own investigation. Still I would assume that the boy would have talked to police and told them what happened to him. Also there is the matter of the 8 year old girl, she talked to police. And allegedly, according to the articles of course, allegedly Otworth talked to police. Allegedly Holdren was at work when this happened.
    Still no matter who did it, the other stood by and allowed it to happen. Makes ’em both pretty sad in my book.

  8. tooshy86 said,

    July 2, 2006 at 12:49 pm

    Yes, when I saw where some of the words were Othworths I was taken a back myself…But when he was talking about holding a pillow over his head he was referring to wrestleing and horsing around. He was misquoted. Who knows how all of this will pan out, I think attempted murder is a little harsh. Child abuse definately. Othworth has his own child he has never touched, or been accused of hurting. He has niece he has never touched or been accused of hurting. Why Holdrens kids? It just seems a little out of character. I just hope the children end up with a feeling of safety after all of this is over. I’m sure they’re more than a little scared right now being in the custody of child services. I hate to think of any child feeling helpless, unloved or unprotected.

  9. July 2, 2006 at 6:15 pm

    I too worry about kids who are required to go into foster care. But it is a better solution than leaving them with someone who has failed to protect them, or who may have harmed them, themselves. From what I have read, I don’t believe the investigation on the case is over, so more info may come out. Let me know if you hear anything.

  10. Mommy said,

    July 17, 2006 at 2:25 am

    Otworths family are of course going to believe what he tells them. Who wants to believe that somebody they love is capable of this kind of thing. Yes he does have a child of his own, however he’s never even attempted to raise her. That speaks volumes of his character. Yes he’s been in trouble with the law before for drugs and it’s my understanding he currently has a problem with alcohol. That also can be a factor in this crime. He’s already admitted to striking the child and what everybody needs to take into account is how much force it takes to bruise a person at all much less to the extent this child was injured. He’s also admitted to holding a pillow over the child’s face to keep him from screaming. That in and of itself constitutes attempted murder. Unless he lacked to capacity to know his action could cause death to the child he’s guilty of it. As for saying the reason for the abuse is that the boy was “acting up” or however he put it, that’s just completely ludacris. That’s the same as saying when a battered woman gets beaten for speaking her mind that she brought the beating on herself because she didn’t know when to shut up.

    Let’s keep in mind that the District Attorney’s office would not charge him with attempted murder unless there was sufficient evidence to do so.

  11. July 17, 2006 at 7:43 am

    Mommy, while I do agree with you, I can in a way understand the family also. If it was my family, I would want to do the best for them that I could. However, if the media is right, he allegedly confessed, and when you add the two children’s confession as well as the mother’s statements, along with any physical evidence- well, it will be determined by the court. It is very often difficult for the family to accept what a family member is capable of. And their family member is entitled to the best defense possible. So in time, it will be the job of the judge and jury to determine what happened and what the result should be.

  12. Mommy said,

    July 17, 2006 at 2:44 pm

    I’ve had some limited personal contact with this man and I can tell you that when he is drinking he has a very quick and irrational temper. I’ve also had extensive contact with addicts of all kinds and I can tell you they very often do things that are “out of character” while they are using. Also I have myself been the victim of child abuse. My mother abused me until I was 15 and ,believe you me, nobody in the world would have ever suspected her.
    She was a child abuse investigator with DCF. Nobody knows what goes on behind closed doors except for those people who live in the house. It’s always been my experience that where there’s smoke there’s fire.

  13. July 17, 2006 at 10:00 pm

    Mommy, I am sorry for your personal experiences. You are right, no one really knows what happens behind closed doors.

  14. Mommy said,

    July 19, 2006 at 4:04 am

    I should also point out that while I was abused, my sister was not. We were raised in the same household. Only 2 years between us. Yet I was the only one who suffered at the hands of our mother. Who knows how abusive people pick their victims?

  15. tooshy86 said,

    July 27, 2006 at 4:07 am

    On Monday the charges were finally filed. Timmy got Child abuse, not attempted murder. Timmy is out and Lottie is still in custody…hmmm Do not pass judement on a person for their past mistakes. Timmy has turned his life around, even his employer testified in his defense. If he still had issues with drugs or acohol it would affect his work. As I stated before, the media grossly misquoted and I for one will be very leary of news reports. They just need to make it exciting, and truth be damned. Look, I am not saying he’s an angel, but he s not a monster either. I would love to tell you more about this case, however it is still active so I can not. I will tell the tidbits that I can as I learn them. Lottie wanted to be with Timmy more than her children…remember Susan Smith…

  16. July 27, 2006 at 11:50 am

    Tooshy, thank you for giving me the info that you can. And yes, please keep me updated, I will be interested in how it progresses.
    So Timmy was able to make bail and Lottie wasn’t?

  17. tooshy86 said,

    July 27, 2006 at 4:36 pm

    looks that way…Timmy’s family wants the truth to come out, and it will. Lottie’s family may already know. As I stated before, only the two of them and the kids know what really happened. I just hope the media tells it right in the end, know matter what the outcome.

  18. July 27, 2006 at 6:13 pm

    It will all come out at trial. And when it does, if the media doesn’t print it, you can always come here and let me know what happened. 

  19. Mommy said,

    July 27, 2006 at 10:28 pm

    Alcoholics can function very well on a day to day basis. I don’t think his boss testifying for him says much considering his boss drinks as much as he does. I also don’t believe in passing judgement on somebody because of their past, however, it’s always been my experience that the best predictor for future behavior is past behavior. You keep saying that this girlfriend probably did it however it’s my understanding she was at work when this happened to the boy and the police no doubt called her employer and confirmed she was there. I’m sure if she wasn’t at work that night, she would have been charged with the same thing he was. It’s easy to blame the mother when something like this happens.

  20. July 27, 2006 at 11:09 pm

    The thing that gets me is that no matter who hit the child, both did wrong. One abused the boy, and the other stood by and let it happen, without reporting it. Who did it will come out at trial. But I am glad they both have charges against them.

  21. tooshy86 said,

    July 28, 2006 at 3:09 am

    Mommy, first of all it is NEVER easy to blame a mother…it is heart wrenching. Second of all, his employer is a Christain and from what I know doesn’t drink, so I am not sure where you got that informtion. Homesweethome, you are right that both are at fault if abuse was happening and no one reported it. My problem from the beginning was the alledged charge of attempted murder. He was in jail for at least three weeks and had not even been charged with anything, but the media had him convicted. I have never believed attempted murder fit the act to begin with. You have to prove intent for attempted murder. If a man his size wanted to “kill” a child he could have easily, so where does a charge like that come from? But that is more news worthy I guess. Oh well…that never came to pass anyway, so I’ll get off my soap box for now.

  22. July 28, 2006 at 3:29 am

    The media didn’t make up the charge I don’t believe. The DA files the charges. And from what they quoted in the media, attempted murder is what they filed.
    As far if he “wanted” to kill a child- it really doesn’t take much to kill a child. One blow can often do it. A few seconds with a pillow. Kids are pretty vulnerable. And many kids are killed by people in a fit of anger, which they later regret, because they “didn’t mean to do it”.

  23. tooshy86 said,

    July 28, 2006 at 11:41 am

    oh, I know they didn’t make it up…I think that was discussed, but when he finally went before the judge, which was not for a few weeks after the arrest, he had not been formaly charged with anything. I didn’t know you could be held in jail, without bond without a charge. I am truely learning a lot about the media and law enforcement. When you want to make an example out of somebody, you can. I know I keep going back to this, but I have been so surprised by the fact that, the news can say what they want. Now, with so many trash tabloids I guess I should not be. But I thought the real news was suppose to report the truth without biais…what fantasy world have I been living in. It’s like they can take a kernel of truth and then make up the rest.

  24. July 28, 2006 at 11:51 am

    So what part did the media make up? There are a lot of hints and insinuations here. But no one really seems to want to make any accusations against anyone else. Leaving me no way to understand what the insinuations are, or to come to any conclusion as to the validity.

    The only thing I have to go on is what is printed about the statements of the suspect, the “mother”, the 8 year old, and the 5 year old. Are you saying they all colluded together, to make false statements to the police before the child went to school? Or are you saying the media made all of this up, that two media got together and colluded to begin telling lies about Otworth, lies that were without foundation and the child was never hurt, and with an unknown motivation for their doing this? Or that Otworth lied to police about his involvement, but told others the truth? I am just not really clear here on what you are trying to say.

    You say in an early comment that Otworth didn’t deserve the attempted murder charge, but now you are saying he was held without charges (media also says he was initially charged with attempted murder). I am also not clear on what “they” are trying to make Otworth an example of, or who “they” are. I am confused.

  25. tooshy86 said,

    July 28, 2006 at 3:07 pm

    I am sorry I have confused you. I did not realize that he had not been charged until he went before the judge. I assumed that because he was arrested and detained that he was chagred. They arrested him on those terms, but never made legal charges. Like I said, I just didn’t realize you could be held otherwise. They are making an example out of the situation…according to one report on the news they said because of the man that ended up killing his daughter and buried her in the ocala national forest. The step-mother covered the little girls brusies with make up as well. That’s what I mean when I say an example. They said in the article I read that because of that case, this one is getting more attention. sorry I was not more clear on that earlier. The statements of Lottie and the kids I can not speak to because one: I don’t really know what was said by them and in what context. I only know Timmy’s side and what words have been twisted because I know what he really said. It’s hard for me to defend him without being able to tell all the things I know and it make any sense. I guess only time will tell like we keep saying over and over.

  26. Mommy said,

    July 28, 2006 at 3:11 pm

    http://www.marioncountyclerk.org/

    This is where you can follow the Otworth case and any other case that captures your interest. There is no “media sensationalism” in court records.

    As far as Otworth’s employer being a christian, I have no idea. I only recall a conversation with him about a year ago where Otworth was complaining that he couldn’t drink on their way to Georgia to do some work because his boss was already drunk. Functioning alcoholics tend to only drink at night and on the weekends. This gives them the illusion of having control over their addiction. Also, I know for a fact that when Otworth has been back to Ohio for visits with his family, he’s been high on prescription medication almost the entire stay. That doesn’t sound to me like somebody who’s turned their life around. Sounds to me like somebody who just hasn’t bothered to get a “source” where he lives now.

  27. Mommy said,

    July 28, 2006 at 3:14 pm

    Oh and the court records reflect that he WAS charge with attempted murder during the period of time he was held. The court records now reflect that the charge has been reduced to aggrivated child abuse.

  28. July 28, 2006 at 4:17 pm

    There have been some pretty serious claims about the accuracy of the media reports. Is there one media in particular that you are referring to, or is it all of them?

  29. sleepy said,

    July 28, 2006 at 5:44 pm

    I am so glad that everyone has all the facts. All of these comments are about as bogus as the news. Im sure there is not a one who can honestly say they have never hit their children. Come on . And for you Mommy, why did you all at once write negative comments about Tim if he was once your friend? Seems odd. Why now?

  30. July 28, 2006 at 8:12 pm

    uuuhhh, Sleepy? I believe that Mommy said that she had “limited personal contact” with Otworth. I also read her comments, and cannot see where she ever claimed to be his friend. If we are going to complain- at least be accurate.

  31. sleepy said,

    July 28, 2006 at 8:29 pm

    well apparently she went to ohio with him to know he done drugs how accurate is that i wouldnt go to another state with a stranger a friend yes so her info is not accurate if she wasnt there

  32. Mommy said,

    July 28, 2006 at 8:37 pm

    Homesweethome is right. I’ve never claimed he was a friend of mine. As a matter of fact, I didn’t like him from the minute I met him. I found him to be extremely controling and manipulative and I don’t doubt for a minute he has a violent temper. I also observed him high as recently as 7-8 months ago and I’ve been told by a mutual friend of ours that he’s been high since. Even if this man was a friend of mine, once I read all the FACTS in the case logs of the court, I’m sure he would no longer be a friend of mine. I have no tolerance for people who are so weak of character they have to take out their anger and frustrations on a small child.

    The media would be held liable for anything false they reported so I’m sure they double checked their facts before printing/airing them. These aren’t supermarket tabloids we’re talking about here. They are legit newpapers and television stations. I’m sure some people might find some things that have been reported to be sensational but in my opinion what happened to this little boy is pretty damn sensational. I’m sure what you perceive as sensationalism is merely public outrage at the abuse of a small child being reflected in the media. If it is proven the media is reporting lies, let the Otworth family file a defamation of character lawsuit and insist on retractions being printed.

  33. Mommy said,

    July 28, 2006 at 8:42 pm

    By the way I live in Ohio and I personally observed him high.

  34. sleepy said,

    July 28, 2006 at 11:45 pm

    hey, is tim being charged from the past or whats happening now? Everyone has the right to clean their act up, sorry you observed him high, did you see him take drugs, if you did then what were you doing there?

  35. Mommy said,

    July 29, 2006 at 12:27 am

    Actually I’d just given birth to my third son by c-section and he tried to take my pain medication while I was laying in bed in pain. He came over to my house with a friend of mine and actually put one on my pain pills in his mouth and asked if I wanted it back after that. I have a serious aversion to drug addicts since my third child’s father is one. He’s actually been a friend of Tim’s for several years.

    I’m a firm believer that people can clean up their acts. My son’s father has been clean for over 6 months and is doing well. He’s been addicted to prescription pain killers for the majority of his adult life and nobody, myself included believed he’d stay clean. If I were going to hold anybody’s past against them it would be him considering what he’s put me through while he was using. I hope to God that Tim has cleaned up his act but that doesn’t negate the fact that he admitted to harming this child.

    It used to be my job to pick out drug addicts seeking pain killers when I worked on an ambulance. I can tell when somebody’s high and most of the time I can even tell what they’re on by their actions.

    Let’s not forget the main topic here is not what Tim has or hasn’t done in his past. I find it amazing that when something like this happens, everybody rallies around the abuser and nobody is giving this child any consideration. No matter what happened this child has been harmed and possibly emotionally scarred for life by the actions of his own mother and somebody his safety was entrusted to. At the very least the boy will most likely never feel safe and loved and protected by his own mother again. That in and of itself is a tragedy. What happens to his mother and Tim come in a distant second to the physical and emotional wellbeing of this boy.

    Anymore questions or accusations?

  36. July 29, 2006 at 1:00 am

    Mommy, I moderated your comment because I want you to think about how much personal info you gave. I don’t know if you sensed it, but I am getting a strong suspicion that you were being baited, just in order for someone to figure out who you were. If you really want, I will put the comment back up, but it will be done reluctantly.

    I have been rereading the comments in here and one thing that has really stood out for me. A five year old boy was badly beaten around the head and upper torso by an adult. And that doesn’t seem to matter, it seems unimportant. No one really seems too concerned about that.
    Now someone disapproves of that, people get upset. One comment even saying “not a one who can honestly say they have never hit their children”. I can tell you this. I have never beat a kid severely around the head and upper torso, and I would never put make up on a kid to cover up for someone who did. Nor will I ever approve of anyone else who does.
    And it is not anyone’s fault that he got beaten. The media, and law enforcement all seem to be making all of this up. Probably the hospital too, though they haven’t been accused yet. And the court is holding a man accused of aggravated child abuse, unjustly. Even though he waivered his own arraignment. I am starting to get an understanding as to why this may have happened.

  37. sleepy said,

    July 29, 2006 at 1:27 am

    what is the understanding you think you have? clear me up on this matter. No im not trying to forget the child but until you know what went on we cant say he was severely beaten which he was not. tim is not being held, i guess waivering is just a part of the court system

  38. sleepy said,

    July 29, 2006 at 1:41 am

    homesweethome yes she is about to give herself away. its easy to write stuff when you think know one knows who you are, we can say we are this or that and who will ever know much less see who you are, but this is not the case here she probably wishes she is this great parent, easy to say isnt it. so we need to be carful how we push judgement on others because there is always someone who knows who you are. Sorry you were so mislead

  39. Mommy said,

    July 29, 2006 at 1:44 am

    I’ve tried to avoid giving any personal information to protect a friend of mine. She was his long-distance girlfriend for almost a year and was completely taken in by his charisma. I sat back and watched him lie to her time and again. I watched him come to her house high/drunk and she barely aware of it. I tried unsuccessfully to convince her of these things however, she’s so very innocent of the ways of drug addicts she wanted to believe anything he said. He’s been trying to call her and convince her of his innocence which is why I’ve been following this case so closely. She has 2 small children and an ex-husband who would be delighted to hear about this to take her children away from her for exposing her children to such a violent man. She’s been so sheltered all her life that she doesn’t have much ability to defend herself and if you haven’t been able to tell from my posts, I’m all about protecting those that can’t protect themselves. I’ve come to the decision that I shouldn’t express my opinion unless I’m willing and able to back it up. I have no fear of any backlash from what I’ve said since I’ve only spoken the truth. I moved shortly after my last contact with Tim and as far as I know he doesn’t even know what town I live in much less where I live in that town. If I could I would express all these opinions to him personally.

    I appreciate your concern but I’m really not worried about him. He preys on the weak and helpless and I am neither. I’ve survived every abuse imaginable at the hands of people who were supposed to love me and I’ve raised 2 children by myself for more than 10 years now and recently added a 3rd. I’m not only surviving life, I’m thriving and happy.

    If you still wish to moderate the last post, that is of course your right to do so. I can always modify what I’ve said to protect my identity further. These people don’t seem to want to hear the truth anyway. All they want to do is sling accusations at anybody and everybody other than him. This is what happens when children aren’t raised with proper discipline and held accountable for their actions. I have raised my children from day one knowing if they don’t learn to follow rules as children, they’ll never learn to follow laws as adults.

  40. Marie Smith said,

    July 29, 2006 at 6:01 am

    So apparently you all now think you know Otworth. In fact if you call him Timmy you do! Who are you? Sounds like family. Some how I know that all Lottie ever did was work her butt off for her children. All she ever wanted was to get out of the single mom mode. She would not let anyone hurt her kids. If you know her you know that. So are you saying he has a new girlfriend, or has he been with her and Lottie. So you know the boss! You want to talk! What does he drink? For your info Timmy quit drinking months ago. You should know that right. You all know so much. If she was covering she would have kept him home from school on her day off (Friday). Maybe you know this man better than her. Perhaps then you could let me know if your children ever played in your make-up. Quick to defend him. Her crime is only she believed in him. Thought he was a good man. Guess you all only had true love! All perfect relationships right mommy. Now he is unfaithful What?

  41. Mommy said,

    July 29, 2006 at 2:39 pm

    I’ve never claimed to know her at all. I can only comment on my personal experiences with Otworth and what has been shared with me by my friend who thought she knew him really well. I can’t say he’s been unfaithful to Lottie. All I can say is that Tim was calling my friend and telling her he loved her as recently as Valentine’s day this year. My friend has also been receiving calls from him since he was released from jail. Telling her that he loved her and that he just wasn’t handling the long distance relationship well.

    I hope he has quit drinking. I hate to see anybody throw their lives away on an addiction. My only comment on his addictions was to share what I had observed from him and that it may have had something to do with this case.

    As far as me and relationships. Well I’ve never been good at them and I tend to avoid them like the plague. Mostly I prefer my life being just me and my children. It’s calmer and easier that way. As a matter of fact when I got pregnant with my 3rd child, I figured I’d found a guy who would leave me and my child alone. I wanted the baby without the man.

    I also never claimed to know Otworth’s employer. I only commented on a conversation from about a year ago. I couldn’t even tell you his name just what I’d been told by Otworth and his long distance girlfriend. I understand your defense of Lottie. My friend completely believed in him and loved him. All it got her was a broken heart and a wasted year.

  42. Marie Smith said,

    July 29, 2006 at 4:36 pm

    I think we could almost start a defamation of character case out of these writings. No one writing here seems to know Holdren nor do they want to admit how they know Timmy, except for you mommy I just about have you figured out.Innocent until proven, she was at work. And to end your wondering the media does have a lot incorrect. The good Lord knows and he will deal with this in his time. I have a feeling Tooshy or sleepy may be related to Timmy if you are you will know you are two-faced to act like Holdren is capable of harm of her children. Of all these people I know you know better.

  43. July 29, 2006 at 5:06 pm

    I believe everyone here was commenting on what they have read in the paper about a crime committed, and personal observations as well as personal opinion. Like it or not, everyone develops personal opinions, from the kind of ice cream they like, to the news they hear of crimes committed. Not everyone has to like those opinions or agree with them. But they have a right to them never the less.
    The issue of the media has already been brought up. But no one wants to say what the media supposedly lied about, or even which media they are referring to. As a matter of fact, from the comments, I am getting the impression that all of the media who wrote about the crime, and all the law enforcement who investigated the crime, are believed to have gathered together and conspired together to target two innocent people with false allegations.
    I am not really sure of the motive for this conspiracy, that hasn’t been spelled out yet, other than one theory that they all decided to do this so that they could punish someone else for a crime that someone else committed in the past, was taken to trial for and convicted.
    Now, I am not positive that is what is being implied here, but that is my belief in looking at the comments.

  44. sleepy said,

    July 29, 2006 at 5:12 pm

    no im not related to tim im just writing in respone to the rest of these comments. until you all have the proof and all the answers i dont anyone needs to be critiizing anyone. remember those without sin cast the first stone. and by the way has anyone seen these children, seems if they were that harmed why would anyone set theirself up to go to jail by sending them to school. makes sense doesnt it? think about it.

  45. sleepy said,

    July 29, 2006 at 5:16 pm

    homesweethome, as a matter of fact there were several police officers that were arrested that same weekend for ? sexual charges maybe this is to divert the media from the law inforcement

  46. tooshy86 said,

    July 29, 2006 at 6:08 pm

    Hey homesweethome, I didn’t realize that you can monitor and decide what you let post to the blog…am I undersanding that right? Why would people be trying to hide their identity unless they felt like what they were saying was not true. I am Timmy’s cousin, something I would not be ashamed to admit. Yes, I don’t say my name because I don’t want people on the internet to know that’s all. So maybe that’s why Mommy was trying to explain so much about herself, she doesn’t care who knows who she is, just doesn’t want to use here name for the whole internet to view. I do not live in Ohio anymore…our hometown is full of people just like Mommy keeps referring too. It is very sad that 70% of the poeple, young and old alike have the addictions there. I have never met Lottie so I can not speak to her character from personal knowledge. So, maybe I shouldn’t have made the Susan Smith comment without first hand knowledge. But there are woman out there that want to be with someone bad enough to do those things…we’ve all seen it before. I have to leave for a minute, but I’ll be back to finish my thoughts on this since all of the last comments have come in. I find them to be very interesting…

  47. tooshy86 said,

    July 29, 2006 at 7:14 pm

    Looks like I will not be able to get back into this until tomorror…I have a wedding to attend. chat with ya all then…bye

  48. Mommy said,

    September 18, 2006 at 11:10 pm

    I don’t know if anybody has been following the case online but I recently checked out the docket entries for both of their cases and it looks as if the mother pled guilty and Otworth goes to trial sometime in November. I’m just wondering if part of the mother’s plea agreement entails her testifying against him. The record entries do state she is not to have contact with him and that she’s required to take parenting classes. It also says she got a 35 day jail sentence but was given credit for time served and she’s on 3 years probation. Seems a bit mild considering what happened but that’s just my opinion.

  49. Mommy said,

    November 25, 2006 at 4:25 pm

    Well I guess debating on this subject now is over because Monday night Otworth overdosed and died. I don’t know if this was an intentional overdose or accidental.

  50. onebrightmorning said,

    May 8, 2007 at 12:37 am

    I am trying to find out more about the death of Tim Otworth. Tim had another child in Portsmouth OH that is not mentioned. The mother would like to have more information to give to his child when they begin to ask questions of thier real father. Any information would be helpful. Thank you


