Brothers

Police recieved a 911 call on Thurs. about 4 pm. When they responded to the address, they found David M. Abell, 17, outside the address, dead at the scene. Two others had also been stabbed, and they drove away from the address and were found about a mile from the scene. Police were not sure where the assailant was, if he was in the home or would return to it. 

Police believe there was some type of altercation or arguement at the address which led up to the stabbings. The other two who were stabbed were 14-year-old Raven Haub and 17-year-old Travis Stephenson. They were found near the address and were flown to a hospital where they were reported to be in serious condition. Police say all involved were either brothers or friends and that they all may have lived together.

The victim's brother was arrested, while walking along a road. In custody is Joseph Abell, 27, who was found walking along a road and was arrested without incident. (I have also seen the name listed as Able). Police say that Joseph Abell has a previous arrest on his record. He pleaded guilty last year to a charge of battery for hitting his brother-in-law with a hammer. Abell has been charged with the murder of his brother and the attempted murder of the two others.

http://www.whas11.com/topstories/stories/WHAS11_TOP_TripleStab.9097165e.html

http://www.courier-journal.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20060615/NEWS02/60615042

16 Comments

  1. Soobs said,

    June 17, 2006 at 2:59 am

    I just can’t imagine ANYTHING in life, that could make me take a knife to any of my siblings. Ever.

  2. June 17, 2006 at 3:20 am

    It wasn’t even his first time. The first time was assaulting his brother in law. Then he kills his brother.
    What I can’t find out, is police have said they all lived there. One was 14, 2 were 17, and he was 26 or 27. Evidently only the two brothers were related. So how did the unrelated 17 year old and the 14 year old come to be living wtih them??

  3. June 17, 2006 at 5:19 am

    “I just can’t imagine ANYTHING in life, that could make me take a knife to any of my siblings. Ever. ”

    Can you not suspect that that perpetrator is so different from you or me in life’s perspectives that our imagination is insufficient to see his world or to understand, through imagining the prior events, how the mess that is his world, became such. That is, presuming sanity (and lack of DSM IV causating psychological maladies related to and associated with such conduct by truly disturbed personalities, though usually not “legally insane”).

  4. Soobs said,

    June 18, 2006 at 2:34 am

    Oh sure, I would imagine his life is/was very different than my own. I still don’t know what could have gone on in his life, that would make him kill his brother. I realize I don’t understand it (or a lot of the stories that Home writes about), and for that, I am very grateful.

  5. June 18, 2006 at 3:30 am

    As we all should be. I have lost due to illness, due to age, and due to accidents, but I still have to be thankful that I haven’t lost due to violence.

  6. June 19, 2006 at 10:40 pm

    i knew them and why they did it he wanted to go out with raven so he killed david but raven got in the way and he accidently stabbed her raven was my girlfriends best friend and she was crushed when she heard the news.

  7. June 19, 2006 at 11:42 pm

    Thank you Joel. How are Raven and Travis doing now?

  8. girl said,

    June 29, 2006 at 11:48 pm

    joel.. ur wrong .. thats not why he stabbed raven! raven told me the full story! Ravens fine but shes still in the hospital i saw her the other day, and travis was out after the second day.

  9. June 30, 2006 at 12:16 am

    Girl, thanks for the update on their condition’s. I hope they continue doing well and make a full recovery.

  10. tracy abell said,

    July 7, 2006 at 3:52 am

    First of all none of you know anything about either of my brothers, raven or Travis. Joey is a paranoid psychaphrenic / bipolar and he wasn’t in his right state of mind, for two I don’t know who you are Joel but Joey didn’t want Raven and obviously it wasn’t an accident cause he intended to kill them all! But he is my brother and I don’t think any of you should judge someone that you don’t know anything about! I lost my younger brother and my older brother I’m losing too and you couldn’t even begin to imagine how that feels! We tried several times to get my older brother help but they always let him go I guess you have to kill to get help when your sick now days! Oh and by the way they didn’t all live at the house, my mother and other siblings lived there too. oh and girl what is your first name and then maybe I’ll believe your Ravens friend. OH and what was the story you say you got????

  11. July 7, 2006 at 4:14 am

    Tracy, thank you for your comment. I understand this has been a tragedy for your family. I also understand what you are saying about the mental health your brother needed. Unfortunately, once he became an adult, he would have to agree to treatments. It is a shame that when the previous altercations happened that treatment wasn’t court ordered at that time.

  12. tracy abell said,

    July 9, 2006 at 2:05 am

    Its not that as an adult he refused treatment it is that they didn’t try to give it to him! I just don’t understand why you have a website that talks about peoples families because you all that write comments in this have no idea what these people go through! Because all you know about my family is what you’ve heard on the news and read in the newspapers most of which is lies! But thats okay I guess everyone has their right to their own opinion!

  13. July 9, 2006 at 3:53 am

    Tracy, thank you for your comment. I guess I must have misunderstood you. You mean to say that your brother attempted to get counseling services from the clinics in your area and they turned him away?

  14. CHANTEL(girl) said,

    September 5, 2006 at 2:56 pm

    well.. i actually do know what raven is going through.. and i know the “story” or whatever she told me…. i dont want to post it becuz i dont think anyone really NEEDS to know.. but me and raven are cousins and ive been there for her and she is going through a huge loss as well. so i know more than ppl think i do and im sorry about your loss tracy… i really am. raven loves david soooo much

  15. raven haub said,

    April 28, 2007 at 4:48 pm

    okay first of all joey did not like me like that!! he was more of like a brother to me…to me his whole family is my family.Tracy is right,you shouldnt have a website that talks about incidents like this,and i dont blame joey at all,because that was not joey that day.if anyone should be blamed maybe it should be the people that refused joey treatment,its not joeys fault,its not like he chooses to be the way that he is.i know that joey loved david very much and he would never intend to hurt him in any way,but joey wasnt himself,he didnt know what was going on.he told me that he doesnt remember hardly any of it when i talked to him on the phone a few months ago,he was actually asking me what happened.so please dont judge him or their family.

  16. Brenda said,

    April 29, 2007 at 6:44 pm

    I have a son who has been diagnoised as bipolar, manic depressive with anti social personality. He is now 38 years old. When he was younger, doctors felt he would probably become a danger to me and should be put in a mental institution. Well I disagreed and he has never, ever, raised a hand to me and he helps my 89 year old mother in many ways.

    Of course he was explosive and ended up getting school tutored at home and did get his diploma. He had many fights – and from what witnesses said and things I saw – KIDS teased him a lot. Children can be cruel, especially in school when they have “followers” who join in the laughter.
    I did tell the principal that I’m sure my son did throw the first punch but he was picked on so much, he thought that would stop the nightmare of being made to feel inferior. I will say this – not one person who teased him and got hurt – EVER teased him again. Now those are the normal ALL american children who were evidently raised to believe instead of being equal to others -they are above them?

    People such as my son and probably this brother accused of murder – see no gray area in life – IT IS EITHER RIGHT OR WRONG what people do. No thought about “reasons for others behavior, etc.) TO THEM hurting the people physcially who hurt his feelings WAS THE CORRECT PUNISHMENT TO them. They have no reasoning of making sure the “punishment fits the crime”

    Like my son – he never considered the people who teased him were young and thought they were just looking “big” and having harmless fun. He took each BARB very very personal. It was scary for me and I talked and talked to him about the FIGHT, FLIGHT situation and he has made me so proud telling me about things and him taking the flight CHOICE. He did go to counseling and take meds – but all the meds didn’t seem to help and he had horrible side effects – when he was older, he decided not to go back for counseling or meds and as said on here – WHEN THEY BECOME an adult you can’t make them.
    none the less – as my son grows older, he gets wiser and he holds his temper better. I hope that by the time I leave this world – he is able to take care of himself and his own business, etc. –


