“Winnie wouldn’t hurt a fly”

Wayne, 70, and Winfred Moniz,73, were planning a party for this weekend. It was to be a celebration of the graduation of three of their 14 grandchildren. Some have said there would likely have been a toast made to her daughter, for the opening of her hair salon and spa. However the family will now be gathering for a different reason.

The couple had been married for 47 years, they had 6 children and 14 grandchildren and one great grandchild they hadn't had a chance to meet yet. It is said to be a close family, and the couple were reportedly very generous with gifts and cash to their family members. 

The couple lived next door to Wayne's widowed sister-in-law, Josephine Moniz, 87. She was not only a sister-in-law, and neighbor but the family says the two women were also close friends. Josephine was no longer able to stay by herself, so her granddaughter 40 year old Robin Casali, and Robin's daughter 21 year old Nicole moved in to care for her. Casali was also a car saleswoman. It has been reported that the Moniz's often included Robin and her daughter in their generosity.

The family has said that Robin Casali has shied away from family gatherings lately and "did her own thing". But that when she needed money, she turned to her great-aunt. The family had reportedly speculated that she might be involved in drugs, as she had lost weight and became "distant".

Reportedly Wayne Moniz was mowing his lawn Monday. And when he came back into the home, he found his wife on the floor. She had been stabbed multiple times, and it is said she put up a struggle, as she appeared to have defensive wounds.

Police have arrested Robin Casali in the murder of her great aunt. They reportedly believe that she broke into the home, and that robbery was the motive. Police say there was money missing from the home. Drugs, marijuana and heroin,  were also allegedly found in Casali's home. Robin Casali has been charged with murder, breaking and entering in the daytime, possession of heroin and possession of marijuana. Police state they believe that the robbery was planned and that Casali acted alone. The murder weapon has been located, but police are not saying where it was found other than near the home. The evidence is still being tested. It is alleged that Josephine's distinctive car had been seen parked near the couple's home on Monday, and that the car was later found at Casali's home, along with the drugs.

Casali's attorney says that she is innocent and that Casali has an alibi. He says she was taking her grandmother to a clinic for poison ivy and then later to a phamacy on Monday. The attorney also has stated that his client didn't have a criminal record, other than a bad check charge, years ago.  But at least one article alleges that Casali has been arrested at least twice before, once in 1998 and 2001, both times for stealing.

http://news.bostonherald.com/localRegional/view.bg?articleid=142657

http://www.capecodonline.com/cctimes/relativecharged8.htm

http://www.boston.com/news/local/massachusetts/articles/2006/06/08/kin_charged_in_cape_slaying/

There was one quote that I especially wanted to mention. ''Winnie wouldn't hurt a fly,'' It is said that was meant literally. It is said that if Winifred caught a fly in her home, she would catcch it and release it outside in the fresh air.

9 Comments

  1. Dan said,

    October 11, 2006 at 4:01 am

    My Niece was the victim of a home invasion in November 2005. She was assaulted by a woman who entered her home yeilding a knife. The woman asked for a drug called oxycontin. The woman held the knife up to my niece’s 9 year old son’s chest and threatened to kill him. My niece’s 16 yr old daughter ran to her own room and called 911 on her cell phone. Her other son, 11 yrs old ran to his room. The attacker hit my niece on her head with a can opener causing her to fall. While she was on the floor, the attacker searched her medicine cabinet, leaving fingerprints, (which later, Police forensics lifted from the mirror and the can opener). During this my niece dialed 911 and had to drop the phone to the floor while still connected. My niece described her assailant as having long brown hair, wearing sunglasses, dressed in blue jeans and wearing a “Boston” sweatshirt. She described her as being tall, thin, and about 35-40 yrs old. My niece, 39 yrs old, who is dis-abled lived on 60 John Parker Rd, only a few houses down the road from Robin Casali. Several month’s later, the Falmouth Police Department told my niece that they had no match on the fingerprints, and that they were still checking. They did not keep my niece informed about her attack. Eight months later Robin Casali was charged with murder. The day it happened, my niece noticed that someone had tried to force their way into her basement window. When she tried to tell a Falmouth Police Officer, he just ignored her. However, a newspaper cameraman was there and took pictures of the fingerprints. There were several people who witnessed this.
    A week or so later, after we contacted the State Police, a Officer, Tim Finn came to visit my niece. He told her that they were working on the case, and that she would be informed if the fingerprints matched Robin Casali, or not.
    After several months went by, they still would not inform her if the fingerprint’s matched, or not. My niece had been living in fear throughout this time, and finally gave up on the Police and moved to another State.
    To this date October 11,, 2006, the Falmouth Police Department has never contacted my niece to verify the fingerprints taken at her home. My niece is 99% positive that her attacker was Robin Casali, 8 months prior to the murder of Winifred Moniz. A newspaper article stated that Robin Casali was arrested twice prior for stealing.
    If she was arrested yrs prior, WHY did’nt the Falmouth Police Department
    match the fingerprints from my niece’s house, to which Casali would have been arrested month’s prior to her allegedly killing Winifred Moniz ????
    My niece has been devastated by this, and is still looking for some closure.
    She is still in fear, not knowing!
    Any suggestion’s for help would be grateful! Dansmith1954@aol.com

  2. October 11, 2006 at 4:53 am

    If they didn’t have her fingerprints for comparison before, they should have them now. If I were her, I would contact two places now. Contact the detective who was in charge of the investigation, and also make contact with the prosecutor who is prosecuting the Casali case about her concerns. .

  3. Susan said,

    October 14, 2006 at 4:25 pm

    So now it seems everyone is coming out of the woodwork with claims against Ms.Casali. If it was that important to them, why did they give up so easy. I guess it’s easy to blame it on a picture in the newspaper to a person that has not yet been convicted. Evidently, it’s easier that way, even though it may be the wrong person, you can all rest now, as the identification has been made from a picture. Funny, don’t you live close, and you never saw her until her picture was in the paper? How people change…..and for all the wrong reasons, except to make your lives easier. If they had any clue that this was done by Ms. Calali, they would have ran her fingerprints right away. So maybe if you read the newspapers again, you’ll see another picture that will all of sudden be familiar.

  4. Clicky said,

    November 15, 2007 at 1:12 am

    Funny… That quote about her not even hurting a fly is right.

    I remember it now, seems funny to look back on it…

    I was in the back room, playing with this old stuffed monkey. She used to watch me leave on the bus to Teaticket school, me and my brother. Anyway, there was a fly buzzing around, and I ran to get her. She was outside, and I asked her to get the fly swatter and kill it. She told me no, and to leave the door open so it could go out. God I miss my Nana…

  5. November 15, 2007 at 5:11 pm

    Clicky, I am glad you remembered that. Those are the kinds of memories you want to keep.

  6. Pamela said,

    December 17, 2008 at 11:33 pm

    I Miss my Mom so much. I would cry just thinking about if she died what would I do. I never dreamed that she would go this way. It’s not fair. She was a wonderful women and Mother. She was the one that always tried to keep the peace in the family.
    I have not been able to greive as of yet. I was living in Ohio at the time, which my mom and I talked everyday on the phone. I came back here. and now she’s not here. It seems like a dream.
    The reality of her being gone will come in Feb. ( which also will be my birthday ) when the trial starts. I will see and hear what my Mom went through. This is when I am certain it will hit me, and hit me hard.

  7. Pamela said,

    December 17, 2008 at 11:38 pm

    So if anyone out there feels sorry for Robin don’t. Feel for her children and great grandchildren which she never got to meet or see.
    I am asking for every one please take a minute out of your day just to say alittle prayer for us. I am going to need all the strength to go through this. thank you all for your prayers.

  8. Pamela said,

    December 17, 2008 at 11:42 pm

    Sorry miss worded the comment. It should have been feel sorry for my Mom ( WINNIE ) and her children Grandchildren and great grandbabies.

  9. wayneroxu said,

    October 13, 2010 at 12:33 am

    I knew the family. Wayne Jr. and I went to school together. His cousin Herb Jr. was my best friend. Mrs. Moniz was always nice to me. She was very attentive to her kids. She would call them in before dark. She loved her family. I can’t tell you how horrible this is. I know a few years have past, but as a former neighbor, I wanted to offer my condolences. God Bless you Pamela.

    Wayne Woodward
    wayneroxu@aol.com


