A child of three

Melissa Wright, 28 was a mother of three young children. She lived in a rent subsidized apt. complex and neighbors never seen anything out of the way. Except once. Neighbors say that she was taking the child to "care" and when she brought him out she had him covered up with a towel.

She had begun dating a man about 2 months prior and evidently he was helping the mother by providing care for the children. According to the police dept. "She chose to allow that individual to stay in her home and care for that child and that is certainly not a good thing to do when you know that a child is in danger."

Wednesday Wright ran screaming into a store. In her SUV which was parked outside was 3 year old Alexander Wright. Her son was unresponsive, covered in cigarette burns, bruises and ligature marks. Paramedics were called, but little Alex was pronounced dead upon his arrival at the hospital. Melissa Wright told police that her boyfriend caused the injuries. She also said she was aware of the injuries, but she continued to allow the boyfriend to care for her children.

Police are saying that in the home was a "torture chair". They are saying little Alex suffered multiple traumatic injures, as well as being duct taped to the chair and tortured. Police say the abuse happened over a prolonged period of time and that there were bruises in various stages of healing.

Melissa Wright has been arrested and charged with to a child by omission. Meaning that she knew her child was being abused, but did nothing about it.

Her other two children ages 11 months and two years old were placed in with their biological father. CPS says they have been examined and showed no signs of injury. CPS also says they do not have a record of any previous problems with the family.

Police were looking for the boyfriend as a "person of interest". He turned himself in to the police station late on Thursday, and police have interviewed him and are seeking charges against him. His name has not been released as yet.

http://www.click2houston.com/news/9307231/detail.html?rss=hou&psp=news

http://abclocal.go.com/ktrk/story?section=local&id=4228346

http://www.chron.com/disp/story.mpl/metropolitan/3924138.html

Three kids, ages 3 and under. Caring for them could not have been easy. Yet no one should expect that parenting is easy whether it is one child or three. Yet I can see where this mother might have been overwhelmed with three kids of these ages. And I can see where she might have been grateful for finding someone to help her in providing that care.

But how can a mother see multiple bruises, cigarette burns and ligature marks appear on her child, and not do something about it? How could she not hurt for the pain her child was suffering? How could she not take steps to prevent it from happening again? How could she allow it to continue?

She didn't report it. She didn't kick the boyfriend out. There isn't even any evidence as yet that she asked for help from anyone. She just allowed it to continue.

I'm sure that once the boyfriend is charged, more will come out on this. And likely there will be other accusations. Because the only child capable of telling what happened in that home is dead and unable to tell what happened. But when the mother allowed those injuries to be inflicted on her child, she is as guilty as if she had abused the child herself.

Often what happens in this type of case is that the boyfriend will start blaming the mother. But no matter who was inflicting the injuries, the other stood by and let it happen. And I notice that when little Alex was injured, the mother is the one who sought help for him. The boyfriend didn't turn himself in till later, after police had already begun looking for him.

18 Comments

  1. Soobs said,

    June 5, 2006 at 2:47 am

    I have to wonder how often the biological father saw his children, if he didn’t notice the poor 3 year old was being abused. I’m sickened by the actions (or non-action) of all the adults in this story.

  2. June 5, 2006 at 3:43 am

    I wondered about that also Soobs. It seems that they think this may have been going on for a couple of months. It could be that the mother may have been concerned about what he would say if he saw his son, and she might have refused visitation. Just a guess. CPS did seem to turn the other kids over to him very quickly, so evidently they didn’t see any immediate problems. At least I hope that is what that means.

  3. Soobs said,

    June 5, 2006 at 3:10 pm

    I hope that’s what it means too. Unfortunately, with CPS, you never can tell.

  4. June 5, 2006 at 6:05 pm

    I know.

  5. Marni said,

    June 8, 2006 at 10:53 am

    This mother is not a victim! If she wanted help with her children, there were plenty of people who would have been there in a second. Two months ago Melissa Wright, Alex’s mother, forced the “biological father” of her two younger children to leave, so her new “boyfriend” could move in with her. This is the man who tortured and murdered Alex. The father of her two younger children is a caring father and a hard worker. Alex’s mother refused to allow the father of her two younger to see Alex, so he would have no way of knowing this was going on. Additionally, she refused to allow the woman Alex called “Gammy” to see him. The way I know this is because the woman Alex called “Gammy” is a dear friend of mine. She came to work for me 19 years ago – she helped me raise my children and later took care of my mother-in law. My kids love her so much; they call her their “Black Mommy.” The “biological father” of Alex’s younger brothers calls my friend Mom and Alex called her “Gammy”, so that should give you an idea of how she knows.
    I no longer live in Houston and it so happens my children are home from college, so I had flown my friend in to see them. She arrived Wednesday afternoon. Late Wednesday evening her son called with the horrific news. When I woke up Thursday morning, my friend had been awake all night crying. I went online and found the story – My friend kept saying, “They killed my baby.” She loved Alex and his mother has NOT ALLOWED her to see Alex for the last 3 months. We were all in a state of shock. My son took her to buy an outfit to bury Alex in. My friend has kept Alex for weeks at a time and if Melissa needed help, my friend would have been there. The father of her other two children stilled loved her and he would have helped her. He would have taken her back. He never knew anything was wrong. I told my friend, “Alex is in heaven with Jesus and NO ONE can ever hurt him again.” Since Alex was not related to my friend (only his brothers were), she had no rights. Melissa allowed this to continue. I don’t know why, but it wasn’t because she had no choice!! She deliberately hid the truth from the very people who she knew loved Alex and would protect him. The other two boys are now with people that will love them and teach them what is right.

  6. June 8, 2006 at 6:58 pm

    Marni, thank you for your comment. I had pretty much guessed that she wouldn’t allow the children’s fathers to visit with them. I never felt that the mother was a victim. As a matter of fact, my personal opinion is that if a mother stands by and watches her child be abused and does nothing about it she deserves the same sentence as the abuser. Often in situations like this, the mother will say- he was abusive to me and I was afraid. I don’t know that that happened in this case. But she was able to get out and about. She was the one who could have kicked him out of the home. She could have called police and had him locked up for what was being done, and wouldn’t have had to worry about him being abusive. She didn’t. I cannot think of any excuse for not doing something to help her child.

  7. Marni said,

    June 9, 2006 at 7:03 am

    I have been haunted by thoughts of little Alex. My comfort is in knowing that Alex is now safe and will never be hurt again. The online reports say, “Investigators have called it one of the worst cases of child abuse they’ve ever seen.” With few exceptions, ever mother would die trying to keep her child from harm – It is instinct! I realize abusive parents exist, but this is totally different!! Alex’s mother systematically separated herself and Alex from help. This wasn’t a one night mistake – Melissa had plenty of time to come to her senses.
    I spoke to my oldest daughter today, she lives in Aspen, but often goes to Houston on business. She met Alex about 5 months ago and she said he was the sweetest child. He wanted to sit in her lap and she said he gently stroked her hair. She said he was such a great kid that she had joked about taking him home with her.
    This is a wonderful web site – It has been relieving for me to be able to post the truth. I know there are lots of mothers who have no support systems and I feel for them. I was searching the web for some news about Alex’s funeral. I came across your sight and I immediately knew I could not go on without telling the truth. I want everyone to know the father of the two younger boys is a descent person and had NO knowledge of the abuse Alex was receiving. It is important to clear his reputation and disassociate him with the shocking crimes committed against little Alex.

  8. June 9, 2006 at 7:49 am

    Thank you for the kind words. You can come here and talk (or type) any time.

    But what is really important is for those two boys to grow up loved and cared for. In a way, Alex's death led to them being removed from an abusive environment. If they are loved and cared for, it will mean that some good came from his death.

  9. Terri said,

    June 12, 2006 at 1:36 am

    Iam a representative for the family and I was told about this website on yesterday and felt compelled to post a comment. I can assure you what was left by Marni was the truth because her friend is my mother-in-law and we are the spokepersons for the family. Let me start by saying that this took a lot of us by surprise and no one would have expect something so horrible to happen to any individual. I believe that it has been established by all the comments that were posted that as a mother she should not have allowed such behavior, but this comment is about the healing process. I’m a firm believer that a sore cannot heal if its been picked at all the time,the healing process starts when you apply medication to it and in this case the medication would be prayers, support, and forgiveness. I think you will agree that the road to a normal life for the two siblings will be hard and long, and because of that this situation needs to be approached with wisdom and love. We don’t know what these boys had witnessed and what impact it will have on them mentally growing up without Alex and possible their mom, so its the responsiblity of all the family and friends to help teach them how to be all that God has called them to be. .

  10. June 12, 2006 at 3:47 am

    With help and a caring family, those boys have a good chance. Thank you for posting Terri.

  11. Lisa said,

    June 17, 2006 at 6:43 pm

    I personaly knew Alex and was close to him.I am in great sadness for his loss.We will dearly miss him and cant wait to him again.

  12. June 17, 2006 at 7:18 pm

    Welcome Lisa.

  13. June 17, 2006 at 7:19 pm

    Welcome Lisa. Thank you for posting.

  14. Sonya said,

    June 22, 2006 at 9:13 pm

    This is very disturbing, I just read about this today. I am representing Rallies for Ricky, in reagrds to Ricky Holland who was murdered by his adoptive parents in July 2005. We are holding a one year vigil for him. Our mission is to reform adoption lawsand bring more of this to the media and get help for those who cannot speak for themselves. These little babies are so precious and should never be treated this way. I just wonder what could have been going through his little mind. I will keep checking back here and maybe we can start something in memory of AlexRallies for Alex!!! God Bless Alex.

  15. Sonya said,

    June 22, 2006 at 9:14 pm

    By the way, forgot to say I am from Michigan, but will travel anywhere for this cause.

  16. June 22, 2006 at 10:02 pm

    Thank you Sonya. Both for your offer on this case and for what you are doing for Ricky.

  17. keikei said,

    January 15, 2008 at 6:08 am

    Hi i am happy to let you all know that alex’s younger brother’s are all doing well. Their father was blessed with another son last year, so alex’s spirit lives on throught the new baby. Melissa is still in jail but has not been sentenced yet. For some reason or another they keep reseting her court date. I also know both Melissa and the father of the the boys, the father is my brother in law. I am not making excuses for her but Melissa was very slow, she should not have been allowed to keep those children from the time of their birth, but the system is all screwed up. This tragedy could have been avoided from the beginning, but now the other two boys have to grow up without their mother or their brother. They have to deal with alot emotional stress that this has caused them. Alex also have an older sister by another woman whom this has affected greatly. Unlike the other babies she was old enough to understand what happened. Please keep this family in your prayers.

  18. keikei said,

    January 15, 2008 at 6:23 am

    O i forgot something! the man who was responsible for Alex’s death was sentenced to 45 years and charged with felony murder. Justice has been served.


