Just another day

Thursday was just another school day. Natalia A. Holmes, 18, arrived at her school just before 8 am, on what was to become her last school day. The school parking lot was a lot shared jointly between the middle school and the high school.

Holmes was a teen like many other teens. She had recently transferred into the school from California, according to the school and she was a senior. According to friends, she had a job at the local mall.

Apparently 24 year old Edwin L. Cornelius was also in the parking lot Thursday. There are some reports that the two were dating. Cornelius's father says there was some talk of marriage.

In front of teachers and other students, Cornelius allegedly stabbed Holmes multiple times. She died in the hospital, about a half hour after the stabbing. Cornelius was arrested and charged in the murder a short time later. He has waived bail and will remain in jail until the grand jury convenes this summer.

No motive has been given for the slaying, though the suspect's father has stated their were some problem's in the relationship.   

According to one article this was not the first brush with violence for Cornelius. In 2003, he was charged with manslaughter in the death or his mother's boyfriend, but that charge was later dropped when prosecutor's determined it was in self defense. And in Oct. he was convicted of criminal domestic violence, in a case that did not involve Holmes.

http://www.forbes.com/home/feeds/ap/2006/05/18/ap2758134.html

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2006/05/20/AR2006052000140.html

I was trying to imagine what the last day of her life would have been like for Natalia. Most teens would struggle to wake when their alarm went off. Get up, choose an outfit to wear to school. Fix her hair, maybe some makeup. Leaving her home, to go to a new school, knowing that this was the last month of her last year in school. Arriving at school, and there is her boyfriend.

And there in front of her schoolmates and her teachers, she was stabbed. I cannot imagine the thoughts she had that day. She did not know she would never go to school again. She did not know that she would not go to work again. She did not know that she would never recieve her diploma and there were so many other things she would never do. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 Cornelius was sent to a mental facility in 2000, after pulling a knife on his grandmother. Charges were dropped at the grandmother's request. He had a history of schizophrenia and it is unknown if he was on any medication or had seen any counselors recently.

http://www.mlive.com/newsflash/national/index.ssf?/base/national-65/1148156670271060.xml&storylist=national

5 Comments

  1. Kayla said,

    December 19, 2006 at 7:16 pm

    Natalia was my best friend in Fullerton California. I remember the day that she moved away.My family and I never thought that would be the last time I would ever see her.

  2. Jasmine said,

    September 1, 2009 at 4:51 pm

    This is a beautiful post. Natalia was one of my closest friends in California. The day she moved I felt like I’d never see her again-and I didn’t. I’m glad you’re bringing light to the community with this post about her. Nothing will ever take the pain and loss many, many of us felt the day we found out she died. It’s still difficult to think about the specifics of the case and what he did to her.

  3. Nina said,

    October 16, 2009 at 9:01 pm

    I actually lived right across the street from CFHS when this happend. Edwin Cornelius was “on the run” for about two hours after he murdered her. (according to reports..he ran her down with his car in front of everyone and then got out..stabbed her at least 15 times, and then left in his vehicle)

    My daughter was a student there at the time and I can not explain the sorrow our community felt for Natalia. What a beautiful woman..gone too soon.

    There was another incident at CFHS today in which a student died… it brought back memories of Natalia… I just wanted to keep her memory alive.

    GODSPEED

  4. SGT. Younger said,

    October 16, 2009 at 11:09 pm

    ENRICO A FAULK, and I served in Italy together he was a good man. There is no reason that this should have ever happened to two great people of God. Both will be missed greatly

  5. bianca b said,

    April 6, 2011 at 7:59 pm

    Nani is wht me and my family called NATALIA!… i can rember lke it wass yes terday nani jus came to cali and didnt kno any1 so we bcame the best of friends!!! she came and lived wit me for awhile.and over tht tyme we really became close! i kant even tell yu how i felt to kno the day b4 my prom my sister wasnt komn back to see me graduate! smh! her mom didnt wont to tell me to ruin my big day! but when i got to skool the follown monday everyone ran up to me askn wht happen i kudnt belive my eaars! all on myspace! i jus kudnt except it! and 7yrs later! I STILL MISS YU NANI! MAY YU REST N PEACE! & THT NIGGA BURN N HELL! YU WILL QALWAYS B MISSED!


