Three women all connected to one man

Cheneta Yates, now 36, met Joseph Emanuel White Jr., now 40, while she was singing in college. But they didn't begin dating until many years later. White tracked Yates down and told her that his wife had been cheating on him and he was divorcing her. He not only didn't divorce her, he saw her off and on while he was living with Yates part time.

White and Yates were together for 5 years and had two children together. But they didn't always get along, and last year Yates told White that she wanted him to move out.

On Aug. 9, Yates had to go to court for a protection from abuse order (restraining order).  But that just seemed to make him angrier. He returned to the house a couple of times and arguements ensued.

One late night Linda McNeil gets a late night phone call from Joseph White. She had never met him but he told her that he knew she had done some home repair work for his cousin, and he wanted her to do some work for him. The two talked. They had some things in common. He was a drummer for the band Stylistics. She played bass in a band. He was aware that she was practiced in self defense, and McNeil thinks that may have been why he called her. The job he outlined was pretty simple. He wanted her to stage a robbery and kill his girlfriend.

McNeil sought out the advice of family and friends, and they warned her not to get involved. But McNeil worried that if she didn't do something to stop him, he would just go to someone else.

While she said she was thinking about it, White continued to call and leave messages on her telephone.

She ended up talking to police detectives, and they fitted her with a spy camera in a button. She met with White and payment arrangements were made. They met for an hour, and he described Yates to her, showed her where Yates worked, where the security cameras were, and described her car. He wanted her to make it look like a robbery and he wanted Yates' throat cut, but he wanted her face left alone.

In the meantime White's mother died. He called McNeil from the funeral to ask her to speed things up.

Eight days after White called McNeil, the detectives went to Yates and told her that White had tried to hire someone to kill her, and that that person was the one who was responsible for White's arrest.

On April 21 a judge found White guilty of solicitation to commit murder and of other crimes including assault, stalking and harassment.

Now, White's wife Courtrina, Cheneta Yates, and Linda McNeil have all become friends. Yates said that she feels that McNeil has saved her life. If White had gone to someone else, she might have died.

http://www.topix.net/content/kri/1297838522314239695614223548732128147296

18 Comments

  1. Janice Mayo said,

    July 21, 2008 at 4:08 pm

    Hi, i saw the program about Yates, McNeil and White Sunday nite. I was so impressed w/Ms McNeil. What character!

    I’m less impressed with Ms Yates. She and the ex-wife are considering writing a book with the Monster. They are willing to sit down with him and talk to him on what i would think would be a regular basis.

    I do understand that people need money, particularly as Ms Yates has young children to support.

    I truly hope that Ms McNeil has no plans to participate in the making of any book. I only hope that she was compensated by NBC in the making of the story that aired.

  2. July 21, 2008 at 5:12 pm

    To some extent I can understand it. After a breakup and especially after a domestic violence relationship there are always a lot of questions. Often after leaving the relationship it leaves the person wondering what reality really was. What part of their life together was truth and what part lie? What did they see in him and why did they stay together? Did he care like he said he did? Or was he only using? Was it only her or did he hate all women? What made him that way? So to some extent, I can understand why they are doing it, it is a safe way to meet and try to get answers to their questions. Is it a good idea? Only they can answer that question.

  3. Arlene said,

    July 21, 2008 at 5:27 pm

    Looking at that story and learning later that the three (except Linda) are getting together to write a book reminds me how braindead some women are. Why would they want to have anything to do with Manny? All three women should be working on changing their identities and protecting themselves and their children since Manny should be out of prison soon. I am sure that the two other women would not be as selfless as Linda had they been contacted to kill her. Linda should reconsider her friendship with these women if they are indeed planning to write a book with this murderous Manny. Manny seems to have some sort of personality disorder like Narcissistic personality. These people live a life of lies and generally hate women. He seems pure evil.

  4. Cheneta's Friend in 1990 said,

    July 21, 2008 at 9:34 pm

    WOW. Sunday when I was flicking through the channels I saw a face I knew but only caught the last 10 minutes of the story. Then went online to get all the facts. Now that I have them I can reflect. Cheneta was the kind of person everyone liked. The person you would rush to defend because you know she would do no wrong. As far as befriending the hired killer. Linda is a women, and evidently close to Manny because I read she had something to do with the Stylistics. So they both had alot in common. She is no killer, she is a martial artist like myself. People always ask stupid a** questions like that. Can you make someone stop breathing with one finger? Anyway, nothing fazed Cheneta, not on the outside anyway. Something she said to me years ago about someone I had new disturbing information on is “Always keep your enemies close”. Something I practiced but needed to be reminded. Seeing her and her expressions on her face brought back memories. She is quite aware of it all. Trust me when I say, shes no dummy. What I would say about her is “calculating” not to a fault, but to her best interests and I dont mean that in a negative way. If she was a nurse she would lose her job in a week because she would “calculate” how long it would take for a patient to ruffle his covers under thier back so she could come along and flatten it out for them for their comfort. Cheneta, I wish you well…

  5. JMayo said,

    July 22, 2008 at 2:05 am

    Response to Cheneta’s Friend in 1990 –

    I admit i missed the first few minutes of the program, but it was not evident from the program that Linda had any previous knowledge of Manny. In fact, she denied any previous acquaintance with him. She acknowledged that she plays guitar; is in a band; and the interviewer asserted that she was known in the neighborhood as someone who could take care of herself.

    Is Cheneta calculating – you said it not me, but i would love to know where you read more about this case.

  6. JMayo said,

    July 22, 2008 at 2:12 am

    To Homesweethome-

    You raise lots of interesting questions. Would he ever answer any of them truthfuly? Should a woman subject herself continuously to a prison atmosphere to beg those questions? And in the presence presumably of his ex-wife, the same ex he was angling to get back with?

  7. July 22, 2008 at 5:20 am

    Truthful? LOL, maybe not. But there is two years distance from him, and support from each other. Sometimes that can change the way you perceive them. Will it make a difference, will it be worth it? Only they know why they are doing it, and only they can answer those questions.

  8. JMayo said,

    July 22, 2008 at 10:43 pm

    I like you style Home, i just hope that L McNeil keeps her distance from all of em.

  9. Miss Dee said,

    July 23, 2008 at 5:04 pm

    I too saw the show on Sunday. I couldn’t believe it!! Like someone said I was also impressed with Miss McNeil! What a act she did!! She’ll get 1000 blessings (I hope). But as for Miss Yates…instead of writing a book about this. Write a book to let women know that mess w/someone elses husband is NEVER a good thing. Some don’t result in this. But people lie and tell you want u want to here. INVESTIGATE! INVESTIGATE! INVESTIGATE!! And don’t listen when they say it was “her fault” or “his fault”
    But I’m glad her life was saved. What a nut that man was and is!!

  10. JMayo said,

    July 24, 2008 at 2:55 am

    Miss Dee – It’s like buying real estate –

    LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION!

    Do your best to know who you’re dealing with. Of course, where you are in your own life will play a huge factor in what you look for in a man or woman.

  11. Ms. Yates said,

    July 29, 2008 at 4:44 am

    It’s really interesting to be reading this blog (especially since it concerns me). Just to set the record straight I AM NOT!… WILL NOT!… EVER DO A BOOK WITH MANNY! As my friend from 1990 stated “I am far from being dumb.” I can be naive sometimes and that’s probably why I got into this situation in the first place. However, the news reporter from Dateline made a terrible error in her last words. The only ones making the book are myself, Manny’s (now ex-wife) and Linda. By the way, Linda did not know Manny either. He just got some very wrong information (thank God!) and kept running his mouth to the wrong person. As for myself and my children, I have every intention of moving from the home in which I currently reside. Although I am not fearful of him anymore, I still won’t put anything past hm. It’s just not that easy to pick-up from a home you own and try to start new again (especially with the way that this economy & the housing market has been going). I really want to thank everyone for their warm wishes and sentiments regarding my story. Both myself & Linda have been very overwhelmed with the responses and even some of the stories of other women being abused. I currently supervise a program that works with mothers that are in recovery and who have many domestic violence issues. It’s strange to find myself in somewhat of a similar predicament. You think that doing many years of college and earning several degrees would kind of put you in a better situation. But what can I say, “I’m not perfect.” Anyway, I really want to thank everyone for their comments and expressing their views. I think this topic is going to be something that will be addressed again over and over for years to come. Peace & Love to all,

    Cheneta

  12. jeannie martinez said,

    August 14, 2008 at 2:28 pm

    Peace and Love to you Cheneta. I hope you and your children are all doing well. This story was amazing to say the least. Things work in mysterious ways because it was sad that the murder for hire took place in the first place, but thank God it turned in your favor because Ms Mcneil did the right thing and informed police dispite her situation at the time. BLESS YOU. It’s true that
    sometimes we find ourselves in a sitation that we think we know that person and brfore you know it, they are being abusive. I am not here to judge you, because after all he was married but because I suppose HE was telling you over and over he was getting a divorce and was SO convincing you went with the flow.Stay well and if there is going to be a book written, I will be looking out for it.

  13. jeannie martinez said,

    August 15, 2008 at 1:41 am

    can someone please tell me where I can find a photo of Joseph Emanuel White

  14. AlwaysInFlyoverCountry said,

    August 15, 2008 at 2:37 am

    Ms. Yates, your words have been bothering me for weeks. I think I know why:

    You think that doing many years of college and earning several degrees would kind of put you in a better situation. But what can I say, “I’m not perfect.”

    Ma’am, what happened to you is not your fault. It wouldn’t matter whether you were a high-school dropout or a polymath; nothing you did made you deserve to have somebody plan your murder. And your purported perfection or lack thereof does not enter into it either.

    Are you familiar with Dr. Hare’s work? His PCL-R has been fairly widely distributed on the web. Finding a copy and filling in the blanks for Mr. White, while not providing any kind of documentation that would be useful, may be enlightening.

    Al

    Al ias Always In Flyover Country

  15. Ms. Yates said,

    August 15, 2008 at 3:32 am

    Thanks Al. I’m not saying that my education will exempt me from bad people or things. I’m just trying to say that I worked so hard to be on top, and no matter what – this can happend to anyone. This is because we can’t change others; only ouselves. My not being perfect is reflected at the fact that I settled/lowered my standards in selecting my mate and his situation. Instead of following my head, I followed my heart.

  16. dena said,

    September 24, 2008 at 4:48 pm

    If anyone should write a book it should be Linda , she did not let kife get her down and she came forward and did the right thing many would have nor done but run real fast God bless all who had a hand on bringing this man to justice. Linda may God bless and reward you in all you days to come .

  17. dena said,

    September 24, 2008 at 4:50 pm

    If anyone should write a book it should be Linda , she did not let life get her down and she came forward and did the right thing many would have not done but run real fast God bless all who had a hand on bringing this man to justice. Linda may God bless and reward you in all you days to come .

  18. Patrizia said,

    October 9, 2008 at 12:52 am

    I think everyone commenting here is super cool for not being judgmental of any parties involved…how easy it would be to bash ‘Che’ for getting involved with a married man or for her nievete or to even judge Manny…props to all. I didn’t see the program but read it online and then watched the getting to know Linda segment…that woman ROCKS. She’s so awesome from her musical talent to her martial arts. Seeing her picture and her bass playing and her @ss kicking, I didn’t expect such a soft spoken woman, she’s incredible. She truly served as an angel for Che, she literally stepped in and saved her life; this ending could’ve been total tragedy. God pour blessings on her life. Ahmen.


