It never goes away

This is an old story.

On Oct. 27, 1980 John Gough was shot and killed in his bed. I have read articles which say that the widow has told that intruders broke into the home and shot her husband. I have also read that the widow has told that she killed him in self defense. But no case was prosecuted due to lack of evidence.

John had a brother Fred Gough who has never accepted either story. He has felt that the motive for the murder was not drug dealers or self defense. He felt that it was related to a life insurance policy taken out just before the shooting.

According to reports, Fred has talked with authorities, and finally got someone to listen, 26 years later. They submitted a report to Texas Rangers, who then did a non-custodial interview with Wanda Gough on Mar. 29. In that interview, Wanda admitted to killing John, and she admitted that it wasn’t self-defense. She has told that John was sleeping at the time of his murder. And she has admitted to fabricating statements regarding self defense.

According to the brother, Fred, it was missed in the original autopsy that John was shot in the back first.

http://www.kilgorenewsherald.com/news/2006/0502/Front_page/001.html

http://www.dfw.com/mld/dfw/news/nation/14494868.htm

You can run but you can’t hide. Because you can never hide from yourself. Wanda had never been charged, and 26 years went by. She had moved to another state and had gone on with her life. When the Rangers did their interview, Wanda was not in custody. But she finally admitted to the true events that occurred 26 years prior. Who knows why she finally decided to tell the truth. Maybe she was conscience stricken, maybe she was just tired of telling lies, maybe she didn’t remember what stories she told back then, or maybe she just felt they finally had the evidence that would convict her.

But she never really got away with it. Now 26 years later, she will be standing trial for the murder. Because in most states- there is no statue of limitations on murder.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Updated at ‘I’ve had to relive a life I never wanted to live.’

24 Comments

  1. unknown said,

    May 9, 2006 at 3:06 pm

    THE REASON I AM WRITING THIS IS BECAUSE I KNOW THIS WOMAN VERY WELL. SHE ISN’T THE TYPE OF PERSON THAT WOULD HAVE JUST SHOT SOMEONE FOR NO REASON. HER HUSBAND WAS A HORRIABLE PERSON HE ABUSED HER AND TRIED TO KILL HER AND HER CHILDREN. SHE TRIED MANY TIME TO GET AWAY FROM HIM BUT HE WOULD FIND HER EVERYTIME. THIS WENT ON FOR 8 YEARS. THE PRESS IS WRONG ABOUT A FEW THINGS SHE NEVER CLAIMED DRUG DEALERS SHOT HER HUSBAND SHE ALWAYS SAID SHE DID FROM THE BEGINNING. THIS MAN WAS A DRUG DEALER AND HAD PEOPLE AFTER HIM. BUT THAT NIGHT BEFORE HE SAID HE WANTED TO KILL HER AND HER KIDS. BUT LEFT BUT PROMISED TO FINISH IT THE NEXY DAY. SO WANDA WANTED TO KEEP HER CHILDREN ALIVE. I KNOW WANDA WOULDN’T WANT ME TO DO THIS BUT I COULDN’T SIT HERE AND READ THIS STUFF ANY MORE AND NOT SPEAK UP FOR MY FRIEND.

  2. May 9, 2006 at 3:48 pm

    Thank you for the info, Unknown. I hope you have reported this to both the law enforcement and the defense attorney. That could go a long way in helping your friend.

  3. daughter of wanda gough said,

    May 16, 2006 at 6:31 pm

    THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR ALL OF THE KIND WORDS ABOUT MY MOM. I KNOW IT MEANS ALOT TO HER AND ALL OF HER FAMILY TO FINALLY HEAR SOMEBODY SPEAK UP FOR HER ON HER SIDE. SHE WOULD COMMENT HER SELF AND SAY THANK YOU FOR THE SUPPORT BUT SHE IS NOT ALLOWED PER HER LAWYER. I LOVE MY MOM FOR WHAT SHE DID BECAUSE IF NOT FOR HER I MIGHT NOT BE HERE TODAY WITH MY FAMILY. SHE WILL ALWAYS BE A HERO IN MY EYES. I WILL BE BEHIND HER THROUGH EVERY STEP OF THIS. ONCE AGAIN I WOULD LIKE TO SAY THANK YOU FOR THE SUPPORT. LJG

  4. I Know said,

    July 1, 2006 at 6:49 pm

    Unknown and Daughter are full of BS. It is a well known fact around these parts that this is not the only husband Gough killed. Another one supposedly ‘committed suicide’ in front of her but everyone knows she killed him. In fact, all of her previous husbands died under, shall we say, mysterious circumstances. The original writer is correct in his or her assessment. This woman is a lying, thieving, murderous, drug addicted, adulterous, husband-stealing stain on the face of the earth and deserves to have her time here taken away as just punishment and retribution for all the pain and evil she has caused others over the years. Finally our prayers have been answered and this evil woman will ultimately have to face justice for her murderous acts. When she goes to the death chamber, as she surely ought to do, we will throw a party. Don’t be fooled by Daughter and Unknown, I know first hand this witch deserves everything she gets.

  5. July 1, 2006 at 7:03 pm

    I take it that you must have had a connection to one of the past men in her life? How many times was she married, or how many previous deaths are you talking about?

  6. I know is right said,

    July 3, 2006 at 5:34 pm

    I Know is Right! We are all glad she is finally going to be held accountable for her actions! We are also glad our town will be free from another drug dealer/drug addict using our tax money to stay in public housing. But I guess we will still be paying her living expenses, except this time it will be in the “Big House”. Justice will be done!

  7. Fred Gough said,

    July 31, 2006 at 2:47 am

    Seems no one has the testicular fortitude to use their real names here. I am Fred Gough, John’s older brother. What “unknown said” is pure bovine fecal matter and doesn’t have a clue. “Homesweethome”, I hope you are not so vain that you would believe everything you read or hear. “Daughter of that woman”, has got to be either (edited per HSH), two of John’s daughters, who have been brainwashed for 26 years and are in dire need of psychiatric help, if they truly think of that woman as a hero. A premeditated, cold-blooded, back-shooting murderer, and coward a hero? You are a sick young lady. for stating you love that woman, for what she did. “I know”, I do not know of any ex-husbands. “I know is right”, I don’t know about that woman living in public housing, unless it is in North Carolina, where the Texas Ranger found her. I welcome any questions or comments. Fred Gough

  8. July 31, 2006 at 11:55 am

    Fred Gough, thank you for your comment. I am very sorry about the loss of your brother. I know that does not help your feelings after such a loss, but that is all I can say. I admire your perserverance, in pursuing justice in your brother’s death. The case will be going to trial, and there all the facts of the case will come out, and will have to be proven. While personally, I know everyone has their opinion on what happened, it will be up to the court to make a judgement as to the facts of the case.
    I edited your comment, because if the other commenters wish to use a nickname, that is their right. If a debate should happen to start, I ask that all parties please be civil. No name calling, pushing or biting, LOL.

  9. Fred Gough said,

    July 31, 2006 at 11:55 pm

    Thank you for putting everything in the right perspective and your kind words. The justice system, now has all of the pertinent facts and names of witnesses. Let the chips fall where they may. The only talk that matters, will be spoken by the jury and the judge. Fred Gough

  10. daughter of wanda gough ----leslie jo said,

    August 12, 2006 at 7:19 pm

    I AM A PERFECTLY NORMAL PERSON WITH NO PSYCHIATRIC PROBLEMS OR NEED FOR PSYCHIATRIC MEDS. I WILL TELL YOU THAT BUT IF SOMEONE IS WANTING TO SAY THAT ABOUT ME MIGHT WANT TO COME OUT AND TELL EVERYONE ABOUT HIS MENTAL HISTORY. I WILL ALWAYS SAY THAT MY MOM IS MY HERO SHE IS THE REASON I BREATHE THE AIR I BREATHE TODAY AS WELL AS WHY I HAVE A GREAT HUSBAND AND TWO GREAT CHILDREN. I ALSO HAVE TWO SISTERS TO WHICH HAVE THREE BEAUTIFUL DAUGHTERS A PIECE. FRED GOUGH DOES NOT KNOW ME OR MY TWO SISTERS HE HAS NEVER BOTHERED TO TRY TO GET TO KNOW HIS BROTHERS THREE KIDS OR HIS EIGHT GRANDKIDS INSTEAD HE HAS FOCUSED ON WANDA. HE KNEW WE HAD IT ROUGH AND MY MOM SUFFERED A MANY OF BEATING FROM HIS BROTHER MY OLDEST SISTER WAS AT THE HAND OF HIS BRUTALITY SOMETIMES. BUT WE ALL ARE SURVIVORS AND WILL CONTINUE TO HOLD OUR HEADS UP HIGH. AND WITH EVERY EVIL WORD SAID AGAINST MY MOM THE STRONGER MY HEART AND LOVE GROW FOR HER. THE STRONGER MY SUPPORT GETS

  11. daughter of wanda gough ----leslie jo said,

    August 12, 2006 at 7:24 pm

    SHE HAS NEVER LIVED OFF THE SYSTEM NEVER LIVED IN GOVERNMENT HOUSING, NEVER DONE DRUGS, AND IS NOT THE BLACK WIDOW THAT YOU HAVE HER OUT TO BE, SHE HAS NEVER REMARRIED, SO EITHER YOU ARE CONFUSED OR JUST MAKING STUFF UP.

  12. daughter of wanda gough ---jennifer said,

    August 13, 2006 at 5:16 am

    I am the youngest of the girls. Yes, it is very true that I didn’t know much of this because when it happened I was only 18 month old. But since this has came back up I have learn a lot that my Mom had to go through with her husband. It hasn’t been told to me from my Mom. But it has been many of the people that have came up to us telling stories of what my dad did to her or them. Members that used to be in the family have called me and told me stories that make my stomach turn. He abused my mother and treated her like some stray dog. My Mom raised three girls who don’t do drugs, never been in trouble, we all have familles and work for our living. As for as getting her off the streets her husband was a trouble maker, drug dealer, and abusive to a lot of people. My Mom has never been in trouble with the law, never has done drugs, never has been on welfare, she works everyday. as far as me needing metal help.. haha Isn’t that the pot calling the kettle black… folks up there ya can google someone name above and see how much he pops up..lol he is always in our court houses wasting taxpayers money with minor stupid things.. he is always looking for away to get a hand out so he doesn’t have to work… well, all i can say i will back my Mom with everything i have and so will a lot of other people we will see which side of the courtroom will be full when trial comes up.

  13. Fred Gough said,

    August 14, 2006 at 3:05 am

    to “leslie jo said”. The truth will set you free. I was deemed disabled by the Social Security Administration in 2000. That person that birthed you is not the reason you are here today, or that you have a great husband, and two great kids, GOD is!!! All you have been told is simple hearsay. My brother, John, is not the one on trial for first degree premeditated murder, but, the person who birthed you is. The case is titled, The State of Texas v. Wanda Gough, not John Gough. She is looking at 5 to 99 years in prison, ask her attornies, John isn’t. If she had not of turned herself in, she would be eligible for the death penalty. You also need to go back and read each comment, for I have not said anything about government housing, being married before, nor did I call her the Black Widow. Nothing but the facts here. You two girls don’t remember me telling you all, that if the person who birthed you, would just confess to what she had done, our entire family would have asked the state for the most simple punishment or probation. Remember??? But no, the person who birthed you, has chosen once again to try and get away with cold-blooded murder, so we are going to let the chips fall where they may.

  14. Fred Gough said,

    August 14, 2006 at 3:21 am

    to jennifer said. What you have been told by anyone other than the person who birthed you, is simple hearsay. How many of these gossipers are going to testify in court and under oath? Every lawsuit that I have been forced to file against people, was in good faith or the court would not have accepted them. I have won every suit that I have filed. You have to be in the right to do so. How much, is the person that birthed you, going to cost the taxpayers, in this cold-blooded first degree murder case??? The number of people in a courtroom, on either side, do not factor into the jury’s decision whatsoever. That number has nothing to do with, that person that birthed you, being found guilty or not and her sentence!!! The justice system is at work here, finally!!!!

  15. Fred Gough said,

    August 14, 2006 at 7:54 am

    to leslie jo said and to jennifer said. I simply cannot wait to hear the judge’s gavel rap, as it echoes through the courtroom, then reallity finally sets in. Then we’ll see who’s saying, oh no what are we going to do about the person who birthed you. You two humor me with your rhetoric, cheap hearsay, and brainwashed thoughts. I’ll keep swapping facts with your B.S., besides, do you actually think, that after 26 long years, you are going to rattle me? Wrong Again. Bottom line is, I’m the very reason, why the person that birthed you, is looking at 5 to 99 years and there’s nothing whatsoever you can do about it. You can try, but, I would advise whoever you get, to be very very extra careful. You two cannot even testify, for you were too young and the court system does not allow hearsay evidence. I don’t blame you two for standing behind the person who birthed you, for I surely wouldn’t want to stand or sleep, with my back to her. Bring on your next ridiculous, felacious, and ludicrous comments, for I welcome them! By the way, I haven’t seen any of C.J.’s, your sister’s comments. What’s up with that?

  16. Debbie Burroughs said,

    August 14, 2006 at 12:46 pm

    I really think it’s very sad a person who died can not tell their story. Why have
    you girls not ask anyone on the other side their side or is this just going to be a one sided barb back and forth match? You know I was very close to the
    situation even in Arkansas. I too had an abusive husband he’s still alive and breathing. But that the weirdest thing I never saw a bruise on any four of you. I would not go after my character If I were you this is not about me it’s
    about the truth. If you want to talk about a stray dog how about waiting an one and half hours to report she shot him. I think an ambulance could have been called seems to me she wanted him dead. It seems everyone has missed a very important detail a mother lost her son that day. As you said you all have children I wonder after you raise them I they go off on their on and are no loner with you and you get a call saying one had died at the hands of someone else you would certainly want to get down to bottom. I will tell I am not going get into character match on a blog I will the courts decide but in my heart after finding out that it was her that shot John and not any one else my mind is made up unlike her I took the hard way out.

  17. Debbie Burroughs said,

    August 14, 2006 at 1:16 pm

    Back to the letter concerning a drug dealer is not a fact your moms boyfriend
    spent time for drugs and I got a call a 3:30 one morning because you were worried something had happened to your mom. I don’t beleive any of Fred’s
    children have ever done drugs or been in trouble with the law. So you
    must be talking about me and my kids or the other grandchildren, I guess
    it’s a sad day you can tarnish peoples characters that are not here to take up
    for their selves how sad.

  18. jennifer said,

    August 15, 2006 at 3:25 am

    you know you are right about one thing.. i am not going to bat back and forth with any of you about this the only time i see you will be in court. Jennifer… and note i wasn’t talking about anyone of your children or fred’s kids. matter of fact me and jason decided we wouldn’t let this little thing get in between us being friends or family..

  19. Fred Gough said,

    August 15, 2006 at 5:09 am

    To jennifer said. The loss of a human life, especially your father’s, is to be called a “little thing?” To me, the person that birthed you, while standing and hearing her found guilty of first degree murder and also while standing, hearing just how many years that person will spend in prison, is called a “little thing”. You and leslie must have little minds, that are very easily swayed. Girls I made a promise to my brother, when the first shovel of dirt hit his casket, that I would find his murderer and bring them to justice or deal with them myself. My promise to my brother, has now been fulfilled 26 years later. I have also helped take another cold-blooded back-shooting premeditated murderer off the streets. These type of people, will always be caught sooner or later and will pay for what they have done. Bottom line is, her time of freedom is getting very short.

  20. Jerry Yancey said,

    August 18, 2006 at 2:02 am

    I attended school with John from elementary on through through junior high and high school. I cannot say anything about John in the years after our school years together, because we, generally as most people, simply got too busy in our lives to stay in contact with each other. But, I can attest to his character during those school years. He was always direct with people and said what he believed in. He treated me with respect during those long ago school years, and I did the same with him. We rode the bus together during the early years, and I can close my eyes now, and still visualize him boarding that bus on Dudley Road. I was not one of his closest friends, but I do have memories of him during those many years, and they are not bad ones.

  21. Debbie Burroughs said,

    August 18, 2006 at 10:52 pm

    Thank you so much Mr. Yancey for your kind words about John. You are very correct about him he did say what he believed in. I can remeber a riot at the
    high school he defended people back then that were called the underdogs. I guess if that is what people call trouble maker. I know this till
    my dying breath he would give a person the shirt off his back. I would go to his house at lunch, he would come in and would let me eat before himself. My mom will find comfort in your words, instead of people making the victim
    look bad.

  22. christy (proud daughter of wanda gough) said,

    August 20, 2006 at 8:52 pm

    I am at a total loss of words. Well maybe not. What I am is very hurt by all of this. Debbie, I am hurt the most by you. Why are you and Fred doing this to us? Did you or him stop and think what this might to do me or my three beautiful girls or my husband or my sisters and their families or my mother? No. I dont think you did. My Mother never said a bad word about any of ya’ll. She made sure we came to visit when we were asked out. She always defended all of ya’ll when we girls didnt want to go out to Evelyn’s to visit or for the holidays. All my mom did was protect us. She was and is not a cold blooded murder. I am old enough to remember a lot. I dont have hearsay for the court. I have my own scars and memories. No I am not say that I am testifying. I am not. Say all you want about her, but I REMEMBER what it was like. And yes dad did hurt me, not just spank me. I know the difference now. No, I dont want to get into that with anyone. I dont like remembering a lot of things about my father. Yes , I do have a few good memories, but I can count them on one hand. I should have more than that. Please dont say it is becuase my mom took him away from me is why I dont have more. That is not the reason and you all know it deep in your hearts. If mom didnt do what she did. I would probably dead and so would Leslie Jo and Jennifer and my mom. Debbie, you ask why we have not asked your side of the story. I dont have to ask. I was there and I believe you and the rest of the family have told me things about my dad. Some of it good. Some of it not so good. Fred, (notice the lack of UNCLE) the reason you have not seen my comments on here until now is that i have a real job that reguires me to do something other than sitting in front of a computer and making everyone miserable. I and my husband earn a living. Why are you disabled? Would it be due to mental health problems? And let me quess the mental health problems is due to death of MY FATHER JOHN KENTON GOUGH. RIGHT ?!? HMMM. He was my father and he is dead and you dont see me on disability. If he lived i probably would be, or would I be buried where he is. I didnt really want to get into this kinda of trash talking with you and Debbie, but i cant seem to help it. It is all you 2 know. Why wasnt Logan, Renee, Romey, or all the other half brother and half sisters in court with you? Maybe they dont agree with what you two are doing? I happen to know that some of the grandkids disagree with ya’ll, and what would MIMI say if she knew where doing this? She told me many times she stilled loved my mother and she was always welcome in her home. Please feel free to make all the comments you want. I dont really care. I know remember the truth. Loving Daughter of Wanda Gough, Christy June (aka CJ).

  23. Fred Gough said,

    August 21, 2006 at 10:16 am

    I’ve been hurt for the past 26 years!!! Did the person who birthed you think about what she did would finally end up causing everyone? The person who birthed you should have thought about what she did and what it might do to everyone, not just yal’s side of the family!! I’m the one and only person that has had the person that birthed you, brought in for questiong and has placed her where she is today. She actually has placed herself there. Well, you finally admit not wanting to come to mom’s to get all of the christmas presents, she bought each of you 3 every year, but, they just sat in the corner. I’m sorry, but, first degree premeditated murder is not defined as protection or self-defense. The person that birthed you 3, just can’t and won’t accept her responsibility for what she did. Yes Christy, when a person goes and gets a gun the night before and then shoots my brother in the back the first time while he slept, is considered as a cold-blooded, back-shooting, coward. The same class of person also shoots him twice more to the back. That is not catergorized as protection or self-defense!! We all remember what “it” was like, not just yal, but, there are other avenues to solve any problem and the person that birthed you voluntarily made her choice, the wrong one. Christy, take me to that house and show me the bullet holes that the person who birthed you said that my brother was shooting at you girls and at your doors. There’s none mentioned in any police report. That’s just another lie by the person who birthed you. Yes, you would have more memories if it weren’t for what the person who birthed you did. So, Christy, do you too, consider the person who birthed you as a “hero”? So, that yal’s story, that yal might not probably be here if it weren’t for a cold-blooded murderer? I seriously doubt the jury will go for that one, “probably”! Who’s to say, nobody but God!!!! Christy, it’s up to you only, to call me uncle or not, if you don’t that’s your business. Christy, I beg to differ with you, it’s not the results of my actions, that the person who birthed you is now looking at 5 to 99 years in prison, she has made everyone miserable for the past 26 years!!!!!!!!! I am proud and glad God has blessed you and your husband with good jobs. Yes, you got my status correct, thank you. To the contrary Christy, Mom, Logan, Renee, Romy, my half sister Sherri, and half brother Temple, all hope that the person who birthed you gets what she’s got coming to her. Call and ask them. I could care less, if any of the grandkids disagree with me and what’s going on!!! They can’t stop me! I haven’t heard that from any of them. Mimi would be proud of me!!! If you truly don’t care, then why did you write your comment? Bottom line is, the person that birthed you is going to the pen and there’s not enough lies and tales to keep her from it and nothing you can do about it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  24. Debbie Burroughs said,

    August 21, 2006 at 11:41 am

    Well Christy if I thought it was any of your business why I chose to stand with
    my family i would tell you. Again if I thought It was any of your business I
    would tell you why Rene’e, Logan, and Romy were not at the hearing. If your
    going to so rude as to call my mom anything you can call her Mrs. Gough since appparently you calls are the ones who have been through anything. I don’t beleive I said anything about my side of the story I said ther are always
    two sides to any story and really don’t care what you think. Also I don’t beleive I have been trash talking anyone. Just taking up for my brother as you have your mother. If I were you I would not be putting your words in my mouth.


