Sometimes kids disappoint the parents

She was 17. Her name is Ashley Kathleen Boyd. Like many kids do at that age, she went to the mall. What happened afterwards has been pretty well documented.

While she was there, she called another friend Wayne Anthony Williams, 18 to come and pick her up. At some point they met with two other men, Jamal Rashaad Brothers, 19, and Naquean Montearious Johnson, 19 and worked out a plan to rob her parents. They drove to the neighborhood and waited for them to come home. Boyd went to the door and rang the bell. When her mother Paula Faye Brooks, 50 answered the door, Boyd pulled out a gun her mother struggled with her and was shot hitting her in the foot. Her mother tried to escape, and Boyd shot her in the head. Her father, Joseph Boyd was taking a nap, but went to see what was wrong when he heard the gunshots. Boyd shot at him 3 times and missed. He managed to call 911, as Boyd took off. She was found 3 hours later by police.

She was charged with first degree murder, but pled guilty to 2nd degree murder and one count each of attempted robbery with a dangerous weapon, conspiracy to commit robbery with a dangerous weapon and assault with a deadly weapon with intent to kill. She was sentenced to four consecutive sentences: 185 to 231 months (about 15 to 19 years) for second-degree murder; 61 to 83 months (about five to seven years) for attempted robbery with a dangerous weapon; and two sentences of 23 to 37 months (about two to three years each) for assault with a deadly weapon with intent to kill and conspiracy to commit a robbery. She recieved credit for the 367 days she had already spent in jail.

Her words to the court were “My parents tried to tell me the right thing, and I didn’t listen,” Boyd said in Cabarrus County Superior Court Tuesday. “I regret what happened. … I ruined my mom’s life. I ruined my life, and I ruined my dad’s life.”

Her father is disappointed in such a long sentence for his daughter. “I’m almost 61, and I would like to have seen her get out while I’m still alive,” he said in court. “I would have liked to have seen the other charges run concurrently.”

http://www.charlotte.com/mld/observer/14156244.htm

I feel for this father. He has not only lost his wife, it was at his daughter’s hand. How confusing would that be. Your wife being coldly and brutally murdered, but trying to be protective of the daughter he loved. She not only shot and killed her mother, she tried to kill him.

When a child is born, most parents vow to protect them. To them if to no one else, their children are the bright and shining future. Often parents will defend their child even in spite of any evidence before them. But after a time, children begin doing their own thing, and sadly many times parents are disappointed. Though not usually in such a horrific way.

2 Comments

  1. thpunishrr said,

    March 23, 2006 at 8:25 pm

    WoW! I really like your new layout. I think you are doing a wonderful job with this blog.

  2. March 23, 2006 at 10:27 pm

    Thanks! It’s kinda fun. I’ve been experimenting with some of the different themes they have on here, but I think I am going to settle on this one for a while anyway. I’ve been reading over at your site, and I like they way you are posting the educational info.


