Sometimes it is hard to say whose fault it is

Domestic violence is usually thought to be the fault of one person or the other. But sometimes it is hard to tell which is the guilty party. Sometimes the relationship is or becomes mutually violent.

On Tuesday police were called to a residence for a domestic dispute.

Melissa Fiorillo, 26 told police that she was sleeping and her boyfriend woke her up and asked her for some cash. When she refused, she stated that he then poured vodka on her and elbowed her in the neck and choked her. 

However, her boyfriend stated that they had been having financial troubles and that she had become angry when he came to bed with a beer. He stated that she picked up some tools and began throwing them at him, hitting  him in the hand with one of the tools which had a sharp tip. He stated he grabbed the tool from her, then left the house to call 911.

Fiorillo had small scratches on her hand and her neck was red, but not bruised. The boyfriend had a minor abrasion on his hand.

It should be noted that Fiorillo had recently lifted a restraining order against the boyfriend.

Fiorillo was charged with assault and battery with a dangerous weapon. Her boyfriend will also be summoned to court.

http://www.dailynewstribune.com/localRegional/view.bg?articleid=70796

Boy, am I glad I am not a police officer!

There must be a history of some type of violence in the relationship, and evidently it was serious enough that Fiorillo took out the restraining order against the boyfriend (the boyfriend was not named in this article, probably because he would be considered to be the victim of domestic violence). But, as often happens, she lifted the order. Just because he committed the violence in the past, does not mean that he was the only one to commit violence this time. One of the worst things about domestic violence cases, is that frequently one party will start something, then both will become violent. And sometimes it is hard to tell who started it. After that, either one or both could end up in jail. And that is something that anyone who is considering going back to an abusive partner should consider. It could become a lose-lose situation you might say.

Thanks to Trench at the News of Doom (http://newsofdoom.com/) for this one. And thanks to him for the two Nods of Doom in two days.

 

7 Comments

  1. Melissa Fiorillo said,

    August 11, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    Please take this off the web. It is wrong for you to have my name up on the Internet when I was never convicted of a violent offence. Oh, the poor police, noone attacked, or arrested them. I would have given one of my limbs to be in their situation. All they did was arrest people, why shouldn;t they earn their salary, they were completely safe. I was the one who was put into $30,000.00 worth of debt because I got involved with Michael Reilly a crystal meth addict, who wouldn’t leave me alone. The management company wouldn’t let me out of the lease and technically he still lived in the apartment. I thought I would give him another chance by letting back into the apartment, but all he wanted was revenge.

    He drove me crazy because he spent all his money on drugs, he had a job, but all his money went to his drug habit. I had to nag him constantly to pay his half of the rent and the car payment, that was in my name that I got him, so he would stop beating me and abusing me to get him rental cars all the time.

    He awoke me at 2a.m. because I refused to give him money and beat me and poored his Vodka on me. The liar was not drinking a beer. He drank Kettel One and tonic and poored the whole pint glass on me while I was sleeping. I did what I had to to defend myself. He was dying to get me arrested, he planned it all along. Of course he called the cops, he was getting back at me for having him arrested and then taking out a restraining order.

    I’ve suffered enough through this relationship, I choose to now forget, this happened over two years ago, please get rid of this story.

  2. Melissa Fiorillo said,

    August 11, 2008 at 5:55 pm

    Please take this story off your web site. I can’t take it anymore. I’ll have to seek legal help if I must. I need this taken off immediately.

  3. August 11, 2008 at 7:48 pm

    Please take this story and delete. I hate it, I want it gone asap.

  4. Melissa Fiorillo said,

    August 11, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    TAKE THIS OFF NOW!!!!

  5. Melissa Fiorillo said,

    August 11, 2008 at 10:56 pm

    Remove Remove Remove Remove Remove….This appears on the first page of google. Get rid of it. It’s old.

  6. Michael Reilly said,

    August 12, 2008 at 5:21 pm

    Nice Comments Melissa…. I did some very stupid things… I’m sorry!

    I now live several thousand miles away and am no threat to anyone. I would appreciate it if the Webadmin would desist remove all contents related to this “story”.

  7. Melissa Fiorillo said,

    November 12, 2008 at 8:05 pm

    I will ask one last time for this to be removed. If this hurts my lively hood in anyway, I will be forced to sue for damages. In the event I make a career change and this is seen to be unfavorable and costs me work opportunity, I will be forced to seek damages. Michael you absolutely are not sorry if you want this to remain. You have disgraced me enough. Not sure why you want this, haven’t you done enough? You have a serious problem. I’m done with you, I really want to foget and move on with my life and pretend you no longer exist.

    Webadmin cease “desist remove all contents related to this ‘story’.” Also want this web page gone. I will waste the money to sue Michael Reilly considering I have a text message from him admitting responsibility to this. Maybe I can win back some of the money he extorted from me.

    Also, I have a close friend in the FBI so if you threaten, or harass me again, even from across the country, I can pursue further legal action. If you are as intelligent as you boast to be, then you will not respond to this comment and have this web page removed and all contents concerning me.


