Update: Special Alert and additional info

I am afraid it is not looking really good for Destin Perkins.

More info is coming out about why Byron Perkins was in jail. Byron had pled guilty to federal charges of robbery, use of a firearm during the robbery and selling marijauna. He is awaiting sentencing, but is facing life imprisonment. He had been temporarily released on a $10,000 unsecured bond, due to the illness of his son and his need for the transplant. The arrangements were that Perkins was to live with his mother at all times that he was not needed at the hospital for testing and was to be confined to her home. He was barred from possessing any firearms, destructive devices, or dangerous weapons. He was also ordered not to drink alcohol or use any drugs. Violation of any of the orders were to result in an immediate arrest by the U.S. Marshall’s.

So it appears to me, that even if he is caught or turns himself in, he may not be available to donate his kidney to his son.

While I applaud the state and federal government for allowing Perkins the chance to donate his kidney to his son, I wonder why a felon this dangerous wasn’t put on any monitoring devices during his time out of the jail.

Byron Perkins is suspected of traveling with his girlfriend, Lee Ann Howard. Howard is wanted on charges of first degree robbery and a habitual offender. She may spell her name as Leighann and she has used the last name of Spradlin in the past. They may be traveling in a 1994 bluish green Crown Victoria, which belongs to Howard’s mother. License plate number is 784 BHS. Also noted is they are to be considered armed and dangerous.

Additional info at the link:

http://www.cknj.com/articles/2006/01/29/news/03manflees.txt

5 Comments

  1. Joshua Marshall said,

    March 3, 2006 at 12:50 am

    I would just like to say how sad I feel for Destin Perkins. I am a father and would do anything for my children. With that being said, I am offering one of my kidneys to Destin if I am a match. If anyone can direct in the right direction on how to go about doing so, please email me at xxx@xxx.com

    Austin TX

  2. March 3, 2006 at 1:24 am

    Joshua, thanks for dropping in. I don’t know where to send you yet, but I am looking to see if I can find any contact info on the TV station WLKY. If I find it, I will try to hook them up with you. I will also find the contact info for the local sheriff’s office, because I feel sure they are also in contact with his mother. So expect an email from me soon.

  3. J. Tucker said,

    March 3, 2006 at 2:38 am

    Destin is my cousin and I can put you in contact with his grandmother Barbara.

  4. March 3, 2006 at 2:54 am

    J. Tucker, please contact me at sweetkountryl@yahoo.com and I will give you the contact info for him.

  5. April 27, 2007 at 1:11 am

    […] father can be found at Technically this isn’t a domestic related crime and the updates here and […]


