Accident or murder

I don’t claim to know. This is going to be one of those cases when the story given to police about Sat. night will be closely compared to the available evidence, and it will then be up to the courts. Because one of the people can no longer talk, and one of the persons involved, may not have been in any condition to even be sure of what happened.

Kevin Evenrode, 25 was with his girlfriend Rachel M. Kozlusky in an apt. on the 23 rd story of a high rise building. From articles reported, they were both drinking.
Allegedly, during a moment of horseplay Evenrode was holding on to Kozlusky who was dangling out a window. She was wearing only a sweater and some underwear. Allegedly, he lost his grip and Kozluky fell 23 stories, hitting a portico skylight before coming to rest on the pavement below.

When police arrived they interviewed a “distraught and inebriated” Evenrode and he was subsequently arrested for homicide and possession of drug paraphernalia.

Now, I have been inebriated. And while I think dangling out of 23 rd story window while being held by a drunk might be one of the things I would shied away from, I know others who I’m pretty sure might have tried it. (I used to know some pretty crazy people). So I’m not willing to make a judgement here, until more evidence is known. But I will say this: it is a good example of the way alcohol can erode the natural inhibitions we all have, that are there in order to protect us and others.

I am not saying that I think that Evenrode is blameless. He is certainly guilty of participating in a behavior that risked the life of another, and that resulted in the death of another. And the presence or absence of drugs does not in any way mitigate that. I just stop short as to whether or not I am ready to call it murder.

As usual, my observations will differ from many others.

http://www.wistv.com/Global/story.asp?S=4558507&nav=0RaP

http://www.thedenverchannel.com/nationalnews/7498597/detail.html

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Accquitted of the charge of 3 rd degree murder, a jury found Kevin P. Eckenrode guilty of involuntary manslaughter.

signonsandiego.com

9 Comments

  1. Annie said,

    March 4, 2006 at 10:47 pm

    I just want to say, as one of Rachel Kozlusky’s good friends, i know her better than that. I realize we will never really know the whole truth and I am trying to live with that, all be it very hard. My first issue is that he is saying they were together a year…not true…6 WEEKS. Thats right only six weeks. And if it really were an accident, where was he afterword. If i dropped her…not that i could ever let that happen, as soon as it happened i would be calling 911 and running down that stairs faster than any person has ever run. Rachel liked to have fun and drink, we all do, but she would never let this happen and i don’t understand how anyone would think someone would do that. also why did his story change so many times? in my opinion, he killed her. its horrible. if it really happened how he said, i truely feel bad for him but at least he is alive to tell the story. the only person i would believe is Rachel and clearly she won’t be telling me any time soon. she will be missed and she is loved. I know will never be the same without her and i blaim Kevin.

  2. March 5, 2006 at 12:22 am

    Annie, I am so sorry for your loss. It is hard to lose a friend, and even harder when you know it is at someone’s else’s hand.
    I wish there was something I could do, but noone can bring her back. All I can do is say I’m Sorry.
    Words are such pale things in a time of loss.

  3. t said,

    March 13, 2006 at 8:17 pm

    First of all, he hasn’t said they were together for a year. the news has. As being the person she hung out with on a daily basis, i think i would know how their relationship was. they were head over heals in love. no one knows what they would do in that situation. the initial shock may not have set in for him yet. i would never try to defend anyone that i thought might have killed my best friend, but in this case i saw the two of them so many times together and saw the way they drank. all of these nasty comments that he killed her are messed up. take it from someone who actually hung out with her.

  4. t said,

    March 13, 2006 at 8:18 pm

    and did u even know they were dating before this accident?

  5. Alyssa said,

    March 13, 2006 at 10:06 pm

    Annie- please watch what you are posting on the internet… I appreciate all that you have done in rememberence of Rachel, but its not right to post information against Kevin. Rachel was one of my best friends and my roommate and I can tell you right now- I didnt know him well, but I met him and whenever Rachel called me all she did was talk about him… so I can tell you, he was a really good guy. He LOVED her… the 2 of them had this kind of crazy bond that no one else could really understand- wrestling each other, getting matching tattoos together, talking about getting engaged when they hadn’t even been together 2 months yet. That was the kind of relationship they had. And I KNEW Rachel well… this is just the kind of thing she would do when drunk… You know with one of my best friends gone, I wish I could blame him and hate him for it, but the truth is, he is a GOOD guy, and now he is sitting in prison with ALL this on his shoulders, and not only that- but the woman he loved is gone. So before jumping to your conclusions, make sure you know the facts.

  6. t said,

    March 23, 2006 at 6:02 pm

    lyss don’t sweat it because all of a sudden all of these people that “knew” rachel and were her “friends” are coming out of the woodwork, but were never there when she really needed them. keep your mouth shut if you don’t understand.

  7. John said,

    April 5, 2006 at 8:12 am

    Alyssa, T, and Annie I am sorry for your loss. I worked with rachel about 7 weeks prior to her death and it has been bothering me. Approximately 2 weeks prior to her death,as I was leaving for the day, my inutition/empathic feelings picked up on some things she was telling me. I didn’t follow up on that and have been wondering if it would have made and impact. Alyssa, T, and/or Annie if you could email me at johnl1023@wmconnect.com I would deeply appreciate as I want to find out if what my intuition picked up on was true.

  8. January 15, 2007 at 12:39 am

    Post updated.

  9. John said,

    February 28, 2007 at 4:25 am

    While this whole incident is terrible, and yes, a tremendous amount of blame rests on Eckenrode’s shoulders, there was one contributing factor in this terrible accident: alcohol. Coroner reports indicate (please correct me if I am wrong), Rachel had a .35 BAC. I know no one involved in this case, which places me in an unbiased position. None of the evidence indicates Eckenrode forced Rachel out that apartment window that tragic evening.
    I believe Eckenrode deserves every bit of jail time he gets. However, when I read in the paper Rachel’s stepfather make the comment wishing Eckenrode would tell him the real story, I am bewildered. It was a tragic accident, thats all.


