An artist speaks about Domestic Violence

Domestic Violence 

He loves me and I believe him.
Afterall, hitting me is not a sin.
I know I deserve it anyhow
and there’s nothing I can do about it now.

I mean, come on,
What’s another black eye to please this guy?
This man is my love, this man is my life.
As his wife it’s part of my job to fear for my life.
Such a small strife to please him, right?

He only does it when he’s mad
or when I look sad or he thinks i’ve been bad.
Hell, this is my kid’s dad – he’s all I have!

It’s okay that he calls me names.
It’s part of his game.
Slut, whore, stupid bitch, It’s all the same.
I know he doesn’t mean it and I know that sounds lame.

I don’t really need control of my life.
He handles everything alright.
We have a nice house and food on the table.
We want for very little and travel when we’re able.

I’m pretty sure this is how it’s suppose to be.
Man of the house, King of the castle.
Fighting the truth would only be a hassle.

I just can’t go,why can’t you see?
I could never leave.
He’d find me and hurt me.
I’m not naieve.

Love is eternal but bruises fade.
I can minimize the damage if I always obey.
If I step back I’ll be okay.
Follow everything I hear him say.
Take my life day by day,
stay by his side and lower my gaze.

In God I confide when I pray
the punches stay on the inside and
the bruises don’t ever show on my pride.
I believe in my heart that God will provide,
put the Violence aside
and give me a life where I no longer cry.

Poem by Melissa Jordan and taken from her blog, with her permission

http://melissajordan.wordpress.com/2006/02/21/domestic-violence/

 

2 Comments

  1. February 21, 2006 at 6:22 pm

    Thank you for your kind words. Hopefully my voice will touch many people in a very good way. Thank you for your desire to share my work. I am flattered!

  2. February 21, 2006 at 6:37 pm

    Well thanks for stopping by my humble home. I too am flattered.


